We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the Effort to Get There!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peregrine Pointe Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rapid City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Peregrine Pointe Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 25 Rapid City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Worth the Effort to Get There!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

This B&B is off the beaten path and somewhat hard to find, but worth the effort. The accommodation is splendid and the surroundings are quiet and beautiful. Very comfortable bed and bath with both spa tub and walk-in shower. Wild turkeys nibble at leavings under the bird feeders, and we saw four deer on our return from dinner. The owners were very accommodating and the breakfast was fabulous. My only complaint is a very loud furnace/compressor.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCswampmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
77
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We greatly enjoyed our stay at Peregrine Point - a large, well-appointed B&B in a pine forest, on a ridge with a wonderful view across the valley. Gracious hosts and delicious breakfasts added to our enjoyment of local attractions such as Custer State Park, Mount Rushmore, Rapid City and the Badlands.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JuneSS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

An excellent B&B few miles far from Rapid City and located in the middle of a wood, with wild turkeys that welcome you. Warm hospitality, well maintained, clean rooms (with jacuzzi) and a good breakfast that is a perfect start for the day.
Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial, Custer State Park and even the Badlands are easy accessible from the B&B.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simpa2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

After researching all my options on TripAdvisor, I decided, based on the reviews and the proximity to all the major attractions, to book Peregrine Pointe for two nights in September. I'm so glad I did. It was one of the highlights of our two-week loop to visit our last five states.

Coming from the south, we arrived by way of Sheridan Lake Rd off of Hwy 385. It was a little hard to find the turnoff, but once there, we noted that the drive is directly across from green Mile Marker 7. Once on the gravel road, keep to the right at the fork and follow the road to the end. Watch for an abundance of wild turkeys (some not-so-wild) and deer. We arrived and were warmly greeted as soon as we exited the car by Warren (Elaine was out of town during our visit) and the dogs ( both rescued keeshonds). He showed us the house and gave us maps and info on the area. You can tell he thoroughly enjoys hosting and meeting new people.

The house is set up so all of the guest rooms (5) are on the lower level and have private entrances off the lower deck with easy access to the parking area. While our room was one of the smaller ones, it was well-appointed, clean, and comfortable. The bathroom had a shower and a garden tub. Linens were high-quality and the towels changed daily. Best of all, it was very quiet and bright (floor to ceiling windows). The common area (central to guest rooms) was huge with a well-stocked kitchenette, family room with fireplace, tv, shelves of books (in alpha order, no less), game table, and a computer station. All of the guests seemed to intuitively gather in the family room late afternoon/early evening to share stories and advice on their daily excursions. Even though Warren was holding down a full-house solo while we were there, he managed to provide us with excellent breakfasts that included an egg dish, meat, pastries and breads, and a choice of four or five juices--all served promptly at 8 am.

The location is perfect for visiting Mt. Rushmore (more impressive than expected), Custer State Park (fabulous scenery, wildlife, and drives--they were having the annual buffalo roundup when we were there), Crazy Horse, Wind Cave, and Jewel Cave. Rapid City is only a short drive away, and we enjoyed two great dinners (thanks to Warren's recommendations). Rapid City was bustling with activity in the evening and had lots of great shops and restaurants (a nice surprise). Deadwood, Spearfish Canyon, Devil's Tower (less impressive than expected), or Badlands NP would also be easy day excursions from Peregrine Pointe.

If we are in the area again, we will definitely book a return visit to Peregrine Pointe.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

When I imagine a Bed and Breakfast, this is exactly what comes to mind. A quiet house in the middle of the woods. A big, comfortable bed. A room that looks out on a porch. Delicious breakfast. Wonderful, friendly hosts, complete with dogs and cats. It doesn't get any better.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castro Valley, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

This was the first stop on our honeymoon. Great pick!
The host are extremely welcoming as was their home. The entire downstairs has been built with the guest in mind. Comfortable great room which includes TV, computer, printer and WiFi. Extensive library is there for your use. Well appointed kitchen area in the lower level. The rooms are very clean, private and quiet. We stayed in the Osprey room. Queen size bed with bathroom w/shower, additional room has a Jacuzzi tub for two! Outside our room was a deck where you can sit and watch the various wildlife that visits on a nightly basis.
In the morning breakfast is served at 8 AM. If you have food allergies the host are happy to comply. Breakfast was always a treat.
Warren has a great knowledge of the local activities and outings. Warren also has various maps and pamphlets that are available for the local sites. I would highly recommend coming here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Khimbawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

4 of us were traveling doing Yosemite and then the Blackhills area. This was undoubtedly the best set up B and B any of us had been to. The rooms are all in the basement with a large common area that includes a TV, a BOOK library that i used all four days we were there, a refrigerator with bottled water(!!) for our use free, all dishes, flatware and a microwave. We always sat out on the deck and enjoyed the birds at the many feeders and the turkey's antics. Elaine and Warren were
excellent hosts. We enjoyed the fact that they had lived and traveled abroad and did notice the invite to Warren to attend Ferdinand Marcos' inauguration in the Phillipines when he worked there for Georgia-Pacific-cool! Eileen's breakfast were excellent as she had fruit, an egg based dish and then wonderful crepes or muffins- I could not eat all of my portion. One evening she came over to talk with us and told us she was making a fresh batch of cookies and brownies, which we took when we left on the last morning- tho all partook prior to that,of course. No time to enjoy the jacuzzi tub but did not matter. Surroundings are peaceful woods, sky was blue and clear and we brought home her rhubarb jam. What more can one ask for??!!!!

Room Tip: We had the Kestrel and Harrier as next to each other, but I am sure all were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toggletail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
11.2 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
11.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
8.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
#9 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sweetgrass Inn Bed & Breakfast
8.4 mi away
Summer Creek Inn
Summer Creek Inn
#1 of 25 in Rapid City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peregrine Pointe Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peregrine Pointe Bed and Breakfast

Property: Peregrine Pointe Bed and Breakfast
Address: 23451 Peregrine Pointe Place, Rapid City, SD 57702
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Rapid City
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our contemporary lodge is set up in the forests of the Black Hills, yet convenient to all attractions, restaurants, shopping and visitor venues. Enjoy the quiet and the great views as well as an abundance of wildlife. A great place to relax. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing