We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Trip to SD”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Ramkota Hotel
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Rapid City
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We traveled to SD to visit and experience as much as we could in a 4 day trip. We had 4 people in our standard room including two adults, 11 year old and 10 year old. Check-in was good and the desk staff were very helpful. Our room was larger than expected from the pictures with plenty of room to spread out and make yourself at home. It was great that the hotel had both a pool/hot tub and a small waterpark for kids. We wish that the hotel offered some type of breakfast with the price of the room, but other than that we were impressed. Great location in Rapid City and overall the stay was great.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Amy L,

Thank you for the response. It's great to hear your stay went well and your family enjoyed our hotel's spacious rooms and all it has to offer. We appreciate hearing from you and we are glad to be a part of starting your family's summer off right.

Sincerely,

Front Office Manager
Best Western Ramkota Hotel & Conference Center
tkraft@ramkotarc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (871)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

599 - 605 of 871 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

OK, first off we did not stay there for the water park so I cannot comment on that aspect of the Ramkota. However I can say from first hand experience the rooms are comfortable, the fitness center expansive with two TVs and a variety of equipment all in good working order.
A bonus that exceeded our expectation was the restaurant/bar. It was very good.

Downsides are there are no elevators and our room faced the parking lot on the Interstate side, so it can get a little noisy. Also the AC was not very effective and the water pressure in the shower is little more than a dribble thanks to one of the "conservation" type shower heads.

But overall if you are exploring the Black Hills and want a good place to stay for the money this should suffice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor on north side of the hotel. It will be quieter and easier to get t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FatElvisimpersonator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

FatElvisimpersonator,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed Minervas and the chefs' outstanding flavors and varieties of food. I hope you return for future visits to see our continued hotel improvements. Safe travels.

Sincerely,

Front Office Manager
Best Western Ramkota Hotel & Conference Center
tkraft@ramkotarc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here on vacation with two of my kids, sister-in-law & her two kids. Since we stayed in June the summer rate was higher, but it appears all hotels in that area hike up their prices for the busy tourist season. Hotel breakfast Sunday morning was tasty & a great value for kids under 12. fitness center is very spacious, but wish they had at least one eliptical machine in there. Kids loved the two big water slides, but the water was too cold for me. Hot tub had great temperature but was the smallest I've ever seen at a hotel. We needed extra bed linens for the blow-up mattresses we brought & the front desk was very responsive about bringing them to our room. Hotel is right next to I-90. If you are a light sleeper you may not like the unending sounds of traffic going by. It din't bother me, but just something to keep in mind if you need total silence to sleep well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 208patriciap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

208patriciap,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear about your stay and how your family enjoyed the hotel. It is always good to hear where we can improve our services and we will work on getting that elliptical in our fitness center. I hope to see you back again for another enjoyable stay.

Sincerely,

Front Office Manager
Best Western Ramkota Hotel & Conference Center
tkraft@ramkotarc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Had checked in to a different hotel when we first arrived in Rapid City....only lasted 5 minutes there. Found the Ramkota and had a wonderful family vacation there!!! Kids LOVED the indoor water park. The room was wonderful....very comfortable even with a family of 6. The front desk staff went above and beyond helping us switch to their hotel. Over all we had an amazing stay!!!! Only thing I wish they would have had was the complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Shanna M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Shanna M M,

It is great to hear our Staff made a positive difference with your stay. I will pass your appreciation onto them. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I'm glad your children enjoyed the waterpark, too. We hope to see you back again soon for another amazing stay. Safe travels.

Sincerely,

Front Office Manager
Best Western Ramkota Hotel & Conference Center
tkraft@ramkotarc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

The big draw for us was the "waterpark" and it was a disappointment. 1 pool, 2 or 3 slides and a large children's splash pad doesn't really qualify as a waterpark in my opinion.
The hotel, unlike most other Best Westerns, doesn't offer breakfast.
The biggest problem with this hotel is that there are NO elevators!


The room was clean and the staff was friendly but for my family it wasn't a good fit.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Jessica C,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I'm sad that your family did not enjoy our waterpark. For breakfast we do have Minervas on site, which has awesome food to order from a nice variety menu. We also have bellman or staff that would be glad to help with luggage to reduce the impact of the stairs. I hope you give us a second chance sometime and come back to enjoy the local area and Black Hills.

Sincerely,

Front Office Manager
Best Western Ramkota Hotel & Conference Center
tkraft@ramkotarc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I have always had good luck staying at Best Western Hotels and this one rank right up with rest. Was older hotel but in real good condition. See it is weel being taken care of.Would recomend to anyone about staying at this Hotel..

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Mark S,

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad to see our recent renovations have not been unnoticed. Please stop back again during your future road trips.

Safe travels,

Front Office Manager
Best Western Ramkota Hotel & Conference Center
tkraft@ramkotarc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Our stay was for two nights. The hotel rooms are older, gloomy, and stuffy. Air conditioner was really noisy and we did not have a refrig. One of our lamps did not have a light bulb and our towels were dingy. Our white bedspread was no longer white but dingy and dirty-looking. If Hotels are going to use white linen they need to be cleaned or thrown out. I also did not like the idea that we were given a handicap accessible room. These rooms should be available to those who really need them. I also did not really like that the rooms had patio doors out to the parking lot. This was just odd and didn't seem safe. However, they had a nice bar and good food. If I return, I will not be staying at this Best Western.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aar20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

aar20142014,

It's unfortunate your stay was not enjoyed. I believe we could have helped to make your stay better. If you do choose to stay with us again, please do not hesitate to call on us so that we may serve, repair, etc. and make your stay better. We strive everyday and are continual making changes to improve are services.

Safe travels,

Front Office Manager
Best Western Ramkota Hotel & Conference Center
tkraft@ramkotarc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Rapid City, SD
2.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
2.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Ramkota Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ramkota Hotel

Address: 2111 N Lacrosse St, Rapid City, SD 57701-7858 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range: £54 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Ramkota Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Western and Native American decor rooms PLUS Western hospitality! Free waterpark passes included with rates; full service Minerva's Restaurant and Bar; free computers/printers and internet access. Fitness Room, huge indoor pool, gift shop and complimentary shuttle. Across the street from the Rushmore Mall (110 stores) and movie theaters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Ramkota Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rapid City
Rapid City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing