We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Ramkota Hotel
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Rapid City
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I would not recommend staying in this hotel, it had a weird smell, the beds are not very comfortable and the sheets are really ruff. For the price, this hotel is not worth it. There were dinner plates left in the hall all night long. I could hear everything in the hall.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Richard S,

I'm sad to hear your stay did not meet your expectations. We strive our best to make improvements based on guest feedback and your comments are appreciated. We hope you give us another try and see that we can make your stay better.

Sincerely,

Front Office Manager
Best Western Ramkota Hotel & Conference Center
tkraft@ramkotarc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (872)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

579 - 585 of 872 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

While I was using my app to find a hotel for my family of six I came upon this Hotel. An indoor water park was the selling point. We checked in at 10:05 pm so the water areas had just closed for the night. My three children were there at 8 am when it was opened for the day. What a great amenity to have in your hotel. Beds were comfy and the room was clean. Be prepared this is a huge hotel. We had a room 1/4 mile from the office.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Heidi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Heidi G,

It sounds like the waterpark was a great hit with your family. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We hope to see you back again.

Sincerely,

Front Office Manager
Best Western Ramkota Hotel & Conference Center
tkraft@ramkotarc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Made reservations the morning before leaving so we would have a quaranteed room for the night.
Very easy to find off the interstate. It was very clean, modern room with a great shower with lots of hot water and quiet room. The only drawback was there are no elevators here and we were on the 2nd floor with all our luggage and cooler to bring in! They had a nice waterpark at this hotel but we didn't take advantage of this- we were worried with the waterpark that it would be noisy but that was not the case- no free continental breakfast here- has attached restaurant but kinda expensive. We walked down the street and ate at TGI Fridays for supper and Denny's for breakfast the next morning and gas station very close also

Room Tip: If you have lots of luggage ask for a first floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gtfrosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

gtfrosch,

Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that your stay went well and our location accommodated your travel needs. Please feel free to stop back and visit again.

Sincerely,

Front Office Manager
Best Western Ramkota Hotel & Conference Center
tkraft@ramkotarc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I was overly impressed with the customer service of this place. Since we were staying 4 nights, we asked if there was any way to get a fridge and microwave in our room and within 10 minutes they were in our room. The hotel is right off the interstate and close to many eating places and attractions. The kids had a blast with the water park and the other full size pool. We wanted to stay a little longer since we had such a nice time with everything.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickyW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

RickyW3,

Thank you so much for your feedback. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay and that our services were appreciated. We hope to have you stay with us again and visit more of what the Black Hills area has to offer. Safe travels.

Sincerely,

Front Office Manager
Best Western Ramkota Hotel & Conference Center
tkraft@ramkotarc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Checked in today for a 2 night stay. Here's what you'll get if you stay here-
Filthy rooms
Hair on bathroom counter and floor
Urine behind toilet
Dog poop on balcony
Freezing cold pool
No fridge
No microwave
Roll away matress that's worn to the springs
Rudest hotel staff in Rapid City

The list goes on. If it weren't such a hassle to pack up the kids and switch hotels, we'd be out of here. Worst experience ever.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amer5b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Amer5b,

It definitely sounds like your stay could have gone better. I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. I hope your future travels go better for you and your family.

Sincerely,

Front Office Manager
Best Western Ramkota Hotel & Conference Center
tkraft@ramkotarc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I can see that this hotel is great if you are taking small children on a vacation. However, of the 9 hotels I stayed in on a recent trip through Montana, South Dakota, Iowa, Nebraska, and Wyoming this was the worst. I was travelling with my mother and daughter who both have some issues with walking. When we checked in at 5 p.m. I was told I had a second floor room and there is no elevator. When I explained that it would be difficult for my mother and daughter I was told they were sold out and couldn't make any change to our room. I doubt that every room on the first floor that was reserved already had people in them at 5 p.m. In addition, we were about as far away from the restaurant and the pool as it was possible. After carrying all our luggage up the stairs and helping both my mom and my daughter make it up the stairs I found a garbage bag with garbage in the middle of the floor of the room. Finally, I wanted to get some ice and there was only one ice machine in the entire floor of the very large hotel. In addition, to the poor quality of the hotel, hotel beds, cleanliness, and service of this hotel it was the most expensive of the hotels we stayed at during a 10 day trip. Even a $60 hotel in Montana had ice, breakfast, and was cleaner than the $160.00 we paid for this hotel. I definitely would not stay at this hotel unless I really wanted the pool for my children.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Jean N,

I'm sorry to hear that we were unable to accommodate you and your family members. Unfortunately, we do not have an elevator to our second floor. Along with this a majority of guest do reserve first floor for this reason, putting us between a rock and a hard place, as to accommodating those such as yourself. If possible, I hope to have you back again perhaps during the off season of tourism so to help you with value spent and less demand on the hotel.
I apologize for any perception that you felt slighted during your stay.

Sincerely,

Front Office Manager
Best Western Ramkota Hotel & Conference Center
tkraft@ramkotarc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Overall this was a decent hotel. It is very centralized and easy to get around the city with lots of options for restaurants and shopping. The area of the hotel we stayed in was older but the rooms were updated and very clean. The shower was great - great water pressure which you don't always find. The restaurant was very convenient and had great food. My only complaint about the room we stayed in was there was no mini fridge or microwave which made it a bit challenging when staying for multiple nights with small kids. The water park water was very cold and caters to young children ages 2-5 and older children ages 9+. My 6 year old found it a bit boring. It does not have an area for adults such as a lazy river. The pool was not connected to the waterpark and was across the hall in a completely different area. It was difficult for one adult to watch 2 children of differnt ages and swimming abilities. Thre are no life gaurds which surprised me. Overall I would stay there again but would make sure to ask for a room with a fridge.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Stacy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Stacey B,

Thank you for your review and your constructive feedback. I'm glad your family enjoyed your time in the Black Hills area and we hope to see you back again for another stay.

Sincerely,

Front Office Manager
Best Western Ramkota Hotel & Conference Center
tkraft@ramkotarc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Rapid City, SD
2.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
2.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Ramkota Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ramkota Hotel

Address: 2111 N Lacrosse St, Rapid City, SD 57701-7858 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range: £54 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Ramkota Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Western and Native American decor rooms PLUS Western hospitality! Free waterpark passes included with rates; full service Minerva's Restaurant and Bar; free computers/printers and internet access. Fitness Room, huge indoor pool, gift shop and complimentary shuttle. Across the street from the Rushmore Mall (110 stores) and movie theaters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Ramkota Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rapid City
Rapid City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing