We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit pricey for the value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Ramkota Hotel
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Good location, great restaurants and stores close by and location is just off the freeway.
Big place so long walk to rooms but ample parking close to rooms too.
$164 for one night I thought was a bit pricey.
Pool was fine for kids, rooms were very clean and large. A/C was quiet in room.
Soft towels which is always a good guide to cleanliness :)
Restaurant on the premises was EXCELLENT.
Front desk staff could use a little "smile" training.
Main complaint is no elevator to upper level which was very difficult for my sister who was in a wheel chair.

Room Tip: Look for a ground floor room close to the front desk (there is no elevator to upper levels)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank beercheese8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for the review, it is nice to hear back from our valued guests. We look forward to seeing you again and hope that your time with us was good. During our peak season rates do tend to spike, however I will tell you we always try to give you the most for your money here at the Ramkota. Once again thank you for the response we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (848)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 848 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is a very large Best Western with lots of amenities for the whole family. The front-end staff is very pleasant and accommodating. The lounge and restaurant offer a good selection and prices are reasonable.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It was our pleasure to have you with us. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Once again thank you so much for the kind remarks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Ramkota. We got an executive suite and it was huge. It worked perfectly for our family of 4. My kids loved the water park so much that my daughter wanted to stay another night.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Shelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your review, by telling us what you liked you make us better. Thank you for staying with us we look forward to seeing you on return trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The second day that we were there, we returned to our room to find that nothing was done that morning. I informed the front desk and she had security bring towels, shampoo, coffee, and take out the garbage. The second day, the old towels were removed but not replaced with new. I informed the front desk on this also. One night you could not get from your room to the front desk because they were pulling up carpet in a main hallway. The toilet was not cleaned and the carpet and tile were not swept until the fourth day. Housekeeping would start knocking on doors about 9:00, so I guess if you were not gone by the time they knocked, you would not get service that day. I believe they never heard of checklists. The air conditioner did not have directional vents so it was cool on the first bed, but very warm elsewhere. For $270 a night, it would have been nice to have a refrigerator in the room. Luckily, we were one the first floor as there is no elevator in the hotel. Breakfast was an additional fee at the attached restaurant. The attached splash park was included in the price, but there should have been some sort of discount for families that do not use that service. The table in our room had a leg that was about to come off. The toilet seat was loose (If housekeeping would have cleaned the toilet, they would have noticed:) ) The hotel did have ample parking which was nice for Sturgis bike week so you could park a truck and a trailer. The only reason we went with this hotel was due to all others being sold out in January. I can now see why. The only reason I would return would be for the ample parking space. Some of the better rated hotels appear to have smaller parking lots. I also prefer not to get a condescending response from the front desk manager. Everything I have stated here has been stated by others and nothing has been addressed.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

I'm sorry your experience at the hotel did not meet your expectations. I hope you are able to find the accommodations that will make you happy on a future visit to the Black Hills area. Thank you for taking the time to review the property and once again thank you for staying with us, I hope the rest of your trip was enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Excellent accomodations, service and amenities. I was in Rapid City for Bike Week and I completely enjoyed my stay at the Best Western. The location is right off of I-90 and very conveniently located close to shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Donald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you so much for the kind words in your review. We loved having you stay with us this year during the Sturgis Rally. We hope to see you in the future and bid you safe travels back home. Have a wonderful fall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The room was ok and the bed was comfortable. The main reason I likely won't stay there again was the lack of a breakfast. I was told I could purchase one in the restaurant. The pool was great if I had a family with me, but this trip I was by myself.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Howard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for taking time to review the property. I hope your stay was good overall. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Room was very clean. Maid service was great. Fitness room was very well equipped & very neat. Lobby was very clean. They offered free bottled water to all guest. Swimming pool was well kept. Had no problem finding a parking spot. Had restaurant & bar at hotel. Also had a water park.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, General Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

I was pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Once again thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#11 of 48 in Rapid City
1,044 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rapid City
2.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#10 of 48 in Rapid City
611 reviews
1.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 48 in Rapid City
1,552 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Ramkota Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ramkota Hotel

Address: 2111 N. LaCrosse Street, Rapid City, SD 57701-7858 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range: £63 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Ramkota Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Western and Native American decor rooms PLUS Western hospitality! Free waterpark passes included with rates; full service Minerva's Restaurant and Bar; free computers/printers and internet access. Fitness Room, huge indoor pool, gift shop and complimentary shuttle. Across the street from the Rushmore Mall (110 stores) and movie theaters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Ramkota Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rapid City
Rapid City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing