We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bed and Breakfast ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sweetgrass Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 25 Rapid City B&B and Inns
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Bed and Breakfast ever”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Wonderful in all respects!! Highly recommended. Beautiful rooms, delicious breakfasts, great location, and lovely innkeepers. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return. Close to all major attractions and a fun bar and grill right next door.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindicecilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    22
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
75
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Escondido, California
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Inn. Our rooms were clean and spacious. We looked forward to our wonderful breakfasts every day at which time Shari would answer any questions we had about directions or sights to see. We stayed 5 nights and have no complaints only thank yous.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This is a great B&B in quiet area, plenty of parking places and an easy drive into town. We stayed 4 nights and found plenty to do in the area. The room was spacious and clean. We unlike the previous review appreciated the few notes left around the room as it proved to us that the owners are keen to maintain a nice place for future visitors. The breakfast was great with plenty of choice. It is also south of the town making visits to Rushmore area easy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thisisus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Contrary to some of glowing reviews here, I found Sweetgrass to be just ok. On the plus side, the location is quite good and the rooms are clean. The rooms are decorated by a host of a laminated instructions from the proprietors concerning many room operation instructions, which was the most memorable part of the decor. Big faux pas by the proprietors: On a 90+ degree day, while I was out, someone turned the air conditioning off entirely in my second floor room. Upon my return at 9PM, the room was over 90 degrees, and did not cool down enough to be comfortable until 3 AM. The owners saved $2-4 by turning off the A/C, but lost a customer and earned this poor review.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JECEsq.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shari R, Owner at Sweetgrass Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Your review took us by surprise. During the time you were here, my housekeeper said no requests, either notes or verbal, were made of her and as the innkeeper, I saw you only once and that was when you checked in. The only request you made was at check in when you requested a room change, it was a much larger room and we didn’t charge the extra rate for it. This is in response to your poor service rating?!? Please contact us if there was some other service issue we are unaware of, we would like to resolve it as we take this very seriously.

It is true that when the housekeeper completes the room, she automatically turns off everything, lights, TV, heat/AC units, vent fans, etc. But you are right, our temps were unseasonably high for several days that week. Since she finished the rooms before noon, she didn’t think about how hot that particular room (faces the sun) could get later in the day and we absolutely do apologize for that. By the way, we do keep a notebook in the room that talks about Sweetgrass and the immediate and surrounding area, and it starts off with a greeting that says “please let us know if we can do anything to make your stay more comfortable.” Honestly, had you said something to either of us, I do want you to know, we would have resolved your issues as quickly as when you requested the room change.

There are only 3 laminated (easy to wipe off) notes but we would like to explain their importance. Note #1 tells people that since we are on a septic system, non-septic friendly items will clog and overflow the toilet. When toilets overflowed due to feminine products, our guests were embarrassed and we took responsibility for not warning guests about our country property being on a septic system instead of city plumbing. Once those notes went up, it never happened again. Note #2 is sitting in a cute basket full of soft washcloths telling the ladies they can use them all for makeup removal or anything else they want. Wanting several daily soft cloths was such a common request, we decided to make it a permanent amenity several years ago. We also added to the note that there are lots of rags, etc., in the common area for those who want to shine up their bikes, cars, etc (we get a lot of Harley riders and car club enthusiasts here in the Black Hills who want their “rides” to sparkle). Our 3rd note merely asks people to not put luggage, etc., on the bedspread – this avoids grease from luggage wheels, but more importantly, is how bedbugs travel and that issue is of the utmost importance to me. We still feel these notes are of a positive nature.

However, we do appreciate you noticing our “glowing” reviews and wish to encourage vacationers who visit the Black Hills, to experience one of the many wonderful B&Bs this area has to offer. I guarantee you will find many innkeepers who love the hospitality business and enjoy people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Our stay at this fantastic b&b felt more like visiting an old friend. The owner works so hard to make such a wonderful breakfast that Sweetgrass Inn is more a Breakfast & Bed than a Bed & Breakfast. The rooms are charming with their unique decor. Our room was full of interesting little touches that enriched our trip to the Black Hills. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Such a pleasant stay! Shari and Lee are excellent hosts. The rooms--ours was the SageMeadow room--are spacious, quiet, immaculate, tastefully furnished and decorated. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well, awakening early to sit outside and enjoy the peaceful rural view. The bathroom was roomy--so much nicer than most tiny inn bathrooms--and the jacuzzi was wonderful after a long day in the car. There is a common room with a comfortable sitting/TV area, a kitchenette and table and chairs. Guests may borrow picnic goods, umbrellas, a rain parka, maps, a flashlight and other goods they might need for a day or two. The common room has lots of books, games and information. Shari and Lee are fun, personable and knowledgeable about the region and its sites. Their dinner recommendations and directions were excellent. The breakfasts were made to order and the choices always included a tasty 'breakfast casserole' as well as fruit, breads/muffins, eggs, breakfast meats, oatmeal and cereals. Lee's restaurant next door was a great place for a drink and a relaxing, delicious meal. The location is just outside Rapid City with easy driving access to the Black Hills, Mt. Rushmore, Deadwood, Sturgis and Spearfish.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsburg, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This place is unbelievable! Its more homey than home! Shari and Lee are two of the nicest people you will ever meet. Our room was decorated beautifully and are the cleanest we have ever stayed in. Shari is an excellent cook who offers multiple choices every morning for breakfast, with plenty of coffee and other things like toast, fresh fruit, yogurt, etc. We were also there for the Sturgis Bike Rally and there were clean rags available every day to clean and polish the motorcycle with. My wife and I can not think of one thing we could possibly add to have made our stay better.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapid City
9.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
10.4 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
9.6 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 14 in Keystone
883 reviews
11.8 mi away
Summer Creek Inn
Summer Creek Inn
#2 of 25 in Rapid City
275 reviews
12.0 mi away
Black Forest Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweetgrass Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweetgrass Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sweetgrass Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 9356 Neck Yoke Rd, Rapid City, SD 57702-7309 (Formerly Hayloft Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sweetgrass Inn Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's so much to do and see and Sweetgrass' location is very convenient - within 1-49 miles of all the Black Hills attractions. Sweetgrass offers you beautifully appointed rooms, many amenities, several breakfast choices every day (served over the course of several hours) and much more. We're 6 miles south of Rapid City in a little valley as you head into the Black Hills towards Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse. Each room has a private bath (some have a jetted spa tub), flat screen TV/DVD combo, coffee/tea tray, loveseat and a table with chairs and/or a desk. Your memories start when you check in to the Sweetgrass. When you leave, take with you pleasant memories of your visit to Sweetgrass and the remarkable Black Hills of South Dakota. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sweetgrass Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing