We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good if you're a stickler for the details”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #35 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not good if you're a stickler for the details”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel was fairly close to several stops on our list and had most of the amenities that one would both need and enjoy. Our room was decent; however, the carpet was visibly dirty, the paint on the walls was chipped, there were holes in the curtains, and some of the towels were stained. The breakfast was meh. The water slide looked neat, but the pool looked a little sketchy, as did the elevator. It worked well for one night, but I'm not certain I would stay here again unless I could find a cheaper room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Logan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    74
    38
    26
    22
See reviews for
97
48
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed two nights here and enjoyed the location. Much to do in Rapid City and the Black Hills. Nothing notable about this hotel, just exactly as advertised. Clean, pretty quiet, good service. Woudl stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gribbleson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrensburg
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Room was clean and the beds were comfortable. Only Problem I had was I had a hand towel and wash cloth that were stained. Thankfully there were extras in the room. I can not say anything about the breakfast as we did not eat there.

Room Tip: First floor has designated parking space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boziggy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spearfish
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The motel itself was nice and updated, but our first room we went to go up to it and in the system the housekeeping put that it was clean, BUT they were just entering our room literally so we had to leave. They gave us another room, so maybe employees need a little more attention. The elevator was not working properly, and smelt of burnt rubber. We had a handicap person with us and at times it took 10 minutes to get down. Front desk didn't seemed to bothered by this. The breakfast was the biggest joke in my opinion. It's basic of waffles, cereal, and eggs. It wasn't kept full and you better paln on waiting at least 20 minutes in line. It's worth spending extra and going to a restaurant. Also we didn't even try the pool or hot tub because it was so tiny that it wouldn't be comfortable. If you don't mind a few inconveniences this place might not be too terrible.

Room Tip: choose the top floor away from the elevator to avoid noise, but beware of the broken elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pookie08Spearfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caronport, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had a pleasant stay at the Econo Lodge in Rapid City. The room was large, the AC was very nice, and the TV was nice and big. We had some issues with getting enough towels in our room (they kept giving us too few) but other than that the stay went well. The beds are on the firm side, but the bedding and pillows were soft and I didn't wake up sore or stiff.

Our 6 year old enjoyed the pool and water slide and gave him a place to release his energy. The pool area was a bit small for the number of guests as it can be busy but was clean and fun for the family.

The breakfast was pretty weak, some muffins and the "make a waffle" stations with some juice. Other pastries, fruit, or yogurt would have been nice, and there wasn't much seating available in the mornings, but it wasn't a deal breaker. The breakfast room was also very hot and stuffy, so we usually got our food and ate in our room or the lobby.

We originally had planned to stay for 3 nights, but due to vehicle trouble we had to cancel our first night. We weren't charged any fees for canceling and we ended up modifying our vacation plans and staying an extra few nights. Bree was very helpful in helping us extend our stay and we were even given the same nightly rate despite it being the July 4th weekend. Props to Bree and he good service, she answered all our questions and relayed information well.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor that was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian_Isaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

It was a trip from our school and we were really satisfied. Rooms were airy, clean, bright and super roomy. They had free breakfast, complimentary breakfast, a nice pool and what not. Parking is free as well and the atmosphere was nice. Service was excellent and we have absolutely nothing to complaint.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MoorheadHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This was a big disappointment. Again I did not listen to previous reviews. My mistake. We did get a first floor room as requested but we were not happy with the room. It was dark and dingy with paint chipped and the back of the door had only been half painted. We did have two entries and felt compelled to lock the outer door from the inside before leaving as the outer entry door looked quite battered as if someone had tried to break it down. We were supposed to stay 4 nights but only stayed one. Someone called from the front desk at 11:00 pm to ask about our change of plans and we were already asleep. The bathroom had mold in it. Both Motel 6 and Econolodge are off our travel plans in the future. Listen to me even though I did not listen to previous reviews. Don't Stay Here. We got what we paid for. Cheap and dirty

Room Tip: Go to econolodge only if you are desparate for a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wvcoalgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rapid City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.3 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#24 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Rapid City
Travelodge Rapid City
#39 of 51 in Rapid City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Days Inn West Rapid City
Days Inn West Rapid City
#25 of 51 in Rapid City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#8 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 625 E Disk Dr, Rapid City, SD 57701-7880
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Rapid City
Econolodge Rapid City
Econo Lodge Rapid City
Rapid City Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing