We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern Motel 6!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Rapid City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Motel 6 Rapid City
Ranked #45 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Modern Motel 6!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We were very apprehensive to check in to this hotel after our last dealing with a Motel 6. But, to our surprise the staff was very friendly, the room was basically newly remodeled. Hardwood laminate floors throughout, individual room controlled heat and air, flat screen TV and more.

We were VERY pleased with this hotel and will book this one again. Great price and great room.

On the downside, lack of towels, no coffee pot or hair dryer. The beds were not the most comfortable but who can really complain for a low budget hotel chain.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    36
    45
    27
    41
See reviews for
48
35
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We arrived and there were several guys sitting in vehicles in the parking lot just staring at girls in the pool. When we went to the front desk to check in the employee was arguing with a customer about his credit card. I found hair in the sheets on my bed which led me to believe they had not been washed. We left and went to another hotel because we didnt feel safe here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SheriKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Rapid City, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Dear SheriKay - Thank you for taking the time to write you review. We apologize for your unsatisfactory experience and for the cleanliness and service issues you encountered which led you to decide not to stay with us. We take your feedback seriously and will take it into account as we work to improve our guests’ experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rapid City hotels

Athens, Tennessee
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed here for a long weekend. Just an average motel. Most importantly it was clean. Nice walk in shower. The downside is on free wifi internet service. $2.99 charge for internet. Beds were hard which I don't like. Location was good. Staff were fairly nice. No major complaints.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcford3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bennington, Vermont
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Booked online and asked for 2 rooms, received booking for the correct rooms but in the smoking side. After some computer work it was fixed. Rooms had musky smells to them. Floors were sticky. Sleeping on concrete would have been more comfortable than the beds. WiFi was listed on our booking as free, but they charged us a daily access for it. 2.99 isn't much, but its the principle of it. Pay the extra cash and go elseware

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kbralusaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
548 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

My reservation was for a single and I recieved 2 bed. I was told they didn't have any singles. The floors are dirty and haven't been swept in awhile. I saw dust bunnies on the floor and looked around a little harder and they are everywhere. No bulb in one of the lights. No hair dryer, no microwave, no refer and no coffee pot. No shampoo. When traveling alone I do not bring alot of things and use the items provided. They charge for WiFi. I have been in about 40 rooms this year alone and have never paid for it. There is also no clock. I have an ashtray in a non smoking room. The key card is a pain, you have to put it in a dozen times before it works. Only 1 waste backet. I have used Motel 6 before and probably will again. At $80 this place sucks. I would never stay here again. The only good thing is the location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adak C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beldenville
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

The location is directly off the interstate which was nice and it was an easy drive downtown for dinner too. The only interaction we had with staff was at check in and the gentleman was friendly. The room was small but clean. Definitely nothing fancy but good enough for a one night stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Honeymoon061513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklyn
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

I wouldn't recommend the hotel. No maid service the 2nd day; also they wouldn't recognize a deposit made through Hostelworld, even after repeated entreaties. Lackadaisical staff attitude. The management is not very engaged. There are a lot better deals in Rapid City. Brian from Brooklyn

Room Tip: Go elsewhere. Rapid City has a lot of good deals
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank brian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#34 of 51 in Rapid City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Rapid City
Travelodge Rapid City
#37 of 51 in Rapid City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Avanti Motel
Avanti Motel
#31 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#25 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Rapid City
Ramada Rapid City
#43 of 51 in Rapid City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Rapid City

Property: Motel 6 Rapid City
Address: 620 East Latrobe St, Rapid City, SD 57701
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Rapid City 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel 6 Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Rapid City Motel Six
Rapid City Motel 6
Motel Six Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing