We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cost to much for what you get.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Motel 6 Rapid City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Rapid City
Ranked #45 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Galva, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cost to much for what you get.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stayed here for one night on our way to another town. I thought this place would be the same as the last place, but I was wrong. I had booked ahead of time and had asked for a fridge and did not receive one. They I guess didn't have any extras. Room was clean. Bed was worn out and hard as a rock. Room was small but bathroom large. To much noise outside, kids running around. Hard to get to. Felt like was at a apartment building. Didn't like the fact that had to pay for Wi-Fi. Not worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    36
    45
    27
    41
See reviews for
48
35
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moab, Utah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Staff very friendly and accommodating. Room smaller than we usually get with Motel 6, which was OK, but definitely tight for 4 women with our suitcases. Outlets in awkward spots so it was hard to plug in all our chargers, would be nice if they added some lamps with the USB outlets. Shower needed a scrub brush to get around all the screw heads and into the corners.
Sounds like they plan on remodeling so some of these issues will be fixed then.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daphne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rapid City hotels

Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Another very good Motel 6 experience here. This Motel 6 must have recently gotten the big makeover, because my experience was definitely NOT like those of the other reviewers. The Motel 6s that have been given the makeover are really worth a stop. The made-over rooms are a bit spare, true, but they are so much easier to keep clean, and they look so fresh and cheerful. The bathroom at this place was rather large - no seeming reason for it, but we appreciated the extra space. The sink was outside the bathroom, the floors were that wood veneer stuff, the desk had only one chair and there is no mini-fridge/microwave (though I think you can pay extra for that). The location is slightly east of town in a complex of motels right off the highway. It was really easy to get to and despite the nearby highway, the night was quiet. There was one item in this room that I think every motel room should have: an entryway mat. No other motel we stayed at on this trip had one, and man! does it make a difference in keeping the floors cleaner. Without it, every piece of sand and gravel from your boots ends up on the bathroom floor. Yuk! The all-weather material entry mat caught everything off our shoes and the floors in the room remained clean and comfortable to walk on.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alborealis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

I stayed in this Motel for 1 night due to my visiting Mount Rushmore with a tour company. It was rather costly compared to other places I had stayed but I thought it was worth it.

The room was spacious and clean, though I didn't like that you had to pay seperately for WiFi.

It was a comfortable stay and had no problems with the staff. Clean and quiet and a good night sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keira J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romania
Level Contributor
336 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

The property is located just off the Interstate, which makes it noisy. Rooms look old and the whole place seems worn out. As we were just passing through, it was decent, otherwise I would not recommend it to other travelers.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ggabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altoona, Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We went in July and we received a discount for not booking ahead, but the room was on the 2nd floor and had cracks in the cement and kids were running back and forth. The microwave and mini refrigerator and air conditioner was not plugged in, the towels were sticky. The room had that closed in smell. You could also hear people late into the morning hrs.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Average Motel 6. Booked a non smoking room and got a smoking room infested with flies. Bed was uncomfortable and the noise from outside was very loud. The service was very superficial and they seemed very happy to see me on my way with no regards to the unpleasantness I had experienced.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Rapid City, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Steve T, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We sincerely apologize for your unpleasant stay. Please kindly contact our Guest Relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you and our other guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Rapid City
Travelodge Rapid City
#38 of 51 in Rapid City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#34 of 51 in Rapid City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Rapid City
Ramada Rapid City
#43 of 51 in Rapid City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Avanti Motel
Avanti Motel
#31 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City
0.2 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#24 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Rapid City

Property: Motel 6 Rapid City
Address: 620 East Latrobe St, Rapid City, SD 57701
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Rapid City 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Rapid City Motel Six
Rapid City Motel 6
Motel Six Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing