We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive with a lack of reason.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Motel 6 Rapid City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Rapid City
Ranked #45 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Rockbridge, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Expensive with a lack of reason.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Ok, I understand you are near Mount Rushmore, but what makes you think that entitles you to charge considerably more than most other Motel 6 locations? you aren't exactly the top of the top in terms of places to stay.

The "security lighting" that is on all night in the breeze ways between rooms is bright and "leaks" in to the rooms past the curtains on top and bottom making it difficult to get to sleep quickly. The carpet at the entrance to the room was wet....? Explain that one to me. All lenolium flooring in the room and there was no tub in the bathroom, shower only.

Room was small considering how much we paid to spend the night in this location. Again, as has been my experience with Motel 6's, we had to request a room with a fridge and microwave. And why do you charge $2.99 for WiFi that is slower than dial up? Like seriously? $80+ for the night AND THEN an additional charge for WiFi? No thank you.

Close to I-90 for ease of access. Two turns gets you on or off the interstate.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel/motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TacMedic_E68W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    36
    45
    27
    41
See reviews for
48
35
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
106 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Booked this the same morning because it was one of the few hotels available. Dirty room with linen that had not been changed. Dirty and with hair and stuff in beds. Husband talked to the receptionist and a cleaning lady came with him to the room with new linen. She said they change linen every third day (which I had already red on a note by the bed). But they don't seem to change them when guests leave! Husband went back with the dirty ones and asked for free wifi as a compensation. Worth about 3 dollar. Too bad it is not included. Back in room nice receptionist called and said they refund us the room fee. That was a really nice and appreciated gesture. However, floor was dirty and room smelled from smoke. Would not stay again and cannot recommend it, because this seems not like a mistake. Feels like they try to get away with such behaviour.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RunningAround42195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rapid City hotels

Bellevue, Nebraska
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

As soon as we walked in the smell of old urine knocked us over and a light in the bathroom was out. I called it in and someone came to our room with a bulb and bottle of room freshener. After an hour of being in the room with the air on high, it was still 90 degrees in there! We called that in and though they considered switching our rooms, they ended up just bring a fan. The fan rattled and didn't help with the super hot room! It never cooled off all night long! We awoke to 3 towels for 4 people (again Motel 6?), a filthy shower, no blow dryers left, and no hot water at the bathroom sink. Sure this place has been remodelled, but it's STILL a crappy Motel 6! Why do they charge so much for crap?? Won't ever stay at another one!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galva, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stayed here for one night on our way to another town. I thought this place would be the same as the last place, but I was wrong. I had booked ahead of time and had asked for a fridge and did not receive one. They I guess didn't have any extras. Room was clean. Bed was worn out and hard as a rock. Room was small but bathroom large. To much noise outside, kids running around. Hard to get to. Felt like was at a apartment building. Didn't like the fact that had to pay for Wi-Fi. Not worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moab, Utah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Staff very friendly and accommodating. Room smaller than we usually get with Motel 6, which was OK, but definitely tight for 4 women with our suitcases. Outlets in awkward spots so it was hard to plug in all our chargers, would be nice if they added some lamps with the USB outlets. Shower needed a scrub brush to get around all the screw heads and into the corners.
Sounds like they plan on remodeling so some of these issues will be fixed then.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daphne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Another very good Motel 6 experience here. This Motel 6 must have recently gotten the big makeover, because my experience was definitely NOT like those of the other reviewers. The Motel 6s that have been given the makeover are really worth a stop. The made-over rooms are a bit spare, true, but they are so much easier to keep clean, and they look so fresh and cheerful. The bathroom at this place was rather large - no seeming reason for it, but we appreciated the extra space. The sink was outside the bathroom, the floors were that wood veneer stuff, the desk had only one chair and there is no mini-fridge/microwave (though I think you can pay extra for that). The location is slightly east of town in a complex of motels right off the highway. It was really easy to get to and despite the nearby highway, the night was quiet. There was one item in this room that I think every motel room should have: an entryway mat. No other motel we stayed at on this trip had one, and man! does it make a difference in keeping the floors cleaner. Without it, every piece of sand and gravel from your boots ends up on the bathroom floor. Yuk! The all-weather material entry mat caught everything off our shoes and the floors in the room remained clean and comfortable to walk on.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alborealis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

I stayed in this Motel for 1 night due to my visiting Mount Rushmore with a tour company. It was rather costly compared to other places I had stayed but I thought it was worth it.

The room was spacious and clean, though I didn't like that you had to pay seperately for WiFi.

It was a comfortable stay and had no problems with the staff. Clean and quiet and a good night sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keira J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Rapid City
Travelodge Rapid City
#38 of 51 in Rapid City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#34 of 51 in Rapid City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Rapid City
Ramada Rapid City
#43 of 51 in Rapid City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Avanti Motel
Avanti Motel
#32 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City
0.2 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#24 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Rapid City

Property: Motel 6 Rapid City
Address: 620 East Latrobe St, Rapid City, SD 57701
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Rapid City 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Rapid City Motel Six
Rapid City Motel 6
Motel Six Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing