We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably filthy!”
Review of Motel 6 Rapid City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel 6 Rapid City
Ranked #44 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Checked in late on Sat. night. When we got to room we noticed that everything was dusty and floor was dirty. Pulled back covers on one of the beds and it looked like sheets had not been changed - dirty and crumbs in bed. Asked for new linen. When they brought new linen we stripped off bedding and found a huge - -I mean huge - -blood stain on mattress! Disgusting. We cancelled our stay and left immediately - -slept in our van that night but it was better than Motel 6!
I would never, ever recommend this motel to anyone - it was horrible!

Room Tip: I have nothing good to say and would not recommend it to anyone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Paulette Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

This was the laugh and highlight of our trips in hotels. Sometimes things just so happen and this was the hotel that made life interesting. Understandable that good maids are hard to come by these days...the room floor could of been cleaned along with a few other details in the room. But the front desk staff was great. Kinda expensive for what the hotel was but understandable ...this is new a lot of attractions for travelers.

Room Tip: A great group of hotels right within walking distance of each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marti k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

I had to make a last minute change and oh my how helpful the staff was. I also had a package delivered and it was not only received bit refrigerated too (it contained some personal meds). Comments by other guest had similar praise for motel staff. Room was clean and always cleaned. I stayed here for 3 nights. Definitely stay here if on a budget.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Capnnak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

For two people to stay it was close to $100 for the night. It was very expensive for what you got. They only had smoking rooms available but the front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The comforter was a little dirty but otherwise the room was really clean.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank JJJ54108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The room was clean & comfortable. The floor was dirty the 1st night & they forgot to leave cups the last night. The air in our room worked too good, had to turn it off because we were cold. There was little noise, pool decent. Beds are pushed up against the wall which can make it difficult for the person next to the wall to get out. No alarm, no hairdryer, no shampoo/conditioner. No breakfast but a few dollars more you can get a frige/microwave & bring your own or buy it. Walmart with grocery very close. A bit overpriced for what you get, but it seems all hotels in Rapid City for pricey. One of the few I could find for under $100 a night.

Room Tip: Air works well in room 150.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was an unbelievable experience. 7/6/2014, room 235. First the A/c didn't work so we had to keep the window open all night. (OK, I take blame for not requesting a different room, but checking in at midnight left me with no drive left). Second, due to the room being hot, when I threw the blanket I discovered a used band-aid stuck to the inside of the blanket. Third, we found some sort of hair covered "thing" the size of a mouse on the floor under the desk. Fourth, of the three bath towels, the top one was in the rack dirty. It looked like it was used to wipe up something like dust. or floor dirt, then put into the rack with the other two clean ones. I will say that the guy that checked us in at midnight was very friendly and professional, even though it was nearly midnight and there were people standing in line waiting to be taken care of. I filled put the review card left in the room and personally delivered it to the person at the desk in the morning and discussed it with her. I don't believe in leaving criticism like this with out discussing it personally. The establishment deserves to have their say in the matter. I will admit they were open to hear my comments of the room.

Room Tip: view the room before accepting it at check in time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

I wish this weren't typical for my experience with Motel 6, but it was, which is why i rated this at 3 stars instead of two.

Thankfully, the room was clean and updated, but little effort has clearly been made by their corporate office to offer a real feel of value to the customer experience. The shower head stood 5.5' from the floor so the avg-height man has to duck to get wet. The towels were cheap, paper-thin, and small. And the beds were doubles and not queens, making it difficult to get a comfortable night's sleep with a spouse next to you. Not mention the black-out curtains sat far enough away from the window to allow the parking lot lights to light the room all night long.

The good side was that the front desk person was friendly and otherwise had no issues.

Just a hopeful hint to Motel 6 from one business owner to another; if you want repeat customers, you're going to have to add value to my experience, especially for the price we paid for this stay!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank earlster12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Rapid City
Travelodge Rapid City
#39 of 48 in Rapid City
604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Gateway Hotel
Grand Gateway Hotel
#32 of 48 in Rapid City
612 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#30 of 48 in Rapid City
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 48 in Rapid City
615 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 48 in Rapid City
94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#37 of 48 in Rapid City
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Rapid City

Address: 620 Latrobe Ave, Rapid City, SD 57701-6946
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range: £34 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Rapid City 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Motel 6 Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Rapid City Motel Six
Rapid City Motel 6
Motel Six Rapid City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing