We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relentless train whistles all night - we woke up in a daze”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Florence, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“Relentless train whistles all night - we woke up in a daze”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We visited Rapid City as part of a tour group and stayed two nights at Adoba Eco Hotel. True, the hotel is ideally located for visiting Rapid City's vintage downtown area, but once that novelty wore off we were faced with the reality of sleepless nights due to the railway running next door. The railroad literally cuts right through the downtown area so I imagine this is an issue for any hotel in the central area. Long loud whistles of the trains moving slowly through town kept us awake all night. They seem to blow their horns at every intersection so it's rather relentless. We woke up in a daze - can't even remember having breakfast there. I would advise finding a hotel on the outskirts of town - and away from the trains.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mascalzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karim M, Owner at The Rushmore Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Planes, trains and automobiles are an integral part of our commerce system here in Rapid City and have brought travelers and freight to our area for decades. In fact, the railroad was built in the 1880s, long before most of the downtown businesses. We have grown accustomed to the sound, but guests who are bothered by the late night train whistles have found some relief by rooming on the opposite side of the hotel and on the higher floors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    273
    118
    41
    20
See reviews for
145
322
52
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Smithtown, New York, United States
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We loved the friendly staff. The hotel is clean, has a nicely appointed bath with Bee Kind soaps and lotions, a big room with two comfortable beds, soft pillows, lots of hangers in the closet, oodles of sockets to charge our techie stuff, and decent towels. However, the walls are paper thin and on our first night our next door neighbor had his TV running all night . Since we couldn't sleep, we spent a lot of time in the wee hours thinking anout our visit to Mt. Rushmore! Also, its location, right on Main St, is convenient to the Presidential Walk and the quaint and delightful Main Street, but the traffic noise can be another cause of insomnia, especially during Sturgis Week when hundreds of motorcyclists take over the town.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We came to the region for a tour of Mount Rushmore / the Badlands and decided to make Rapid City our base (stayed two nights). Because of its location within short walking distance of shops and restaurants we chose the adoba Eco Hotel and stayed in a room on the “President’s Floor” = top floor (supposedly the better rooms in this hotel) but we soon realized that choosing the adoba was a mistake. This hotel seems to be focused on tour groups, quantity over quality appears to be the theme here (or we just had the worst luck and picked a really bad weekend). As a result service overall was poor, staff was overwhelmed, and things fell through the cracks… some examples: a handle of a drawer was hanging loose to one side when we arrived (the screws were left inside the drawer so we fixed this one ourselves); when we tried to call reception we discovered that our phone was dead (we then noticed that it was unplugged and that the cable had fallen down the crack between the desk and the wall, so we moved the desk, managed to retrieve the cable and plugged it back in – phone fixed!); we found hair from the previous guest(s) all across the wall of the bathtub / shower; the loud music from the bar outside (until approx. 2am) made for a sleepless start to the night; we were awoken by an alarm at 4:30am that was left set by the previous guest via the hotel provided alarm clock; breakfast made for a rough start to the day as it resembled a mass feeding (lines, noise, etc.); tour buses were constantly blocking the driveway in front of the hotel so at check-out time we had to drag our bags to our car in the adjacent parking lot; also, the furniture / room décor looks boutique-trendy on the website photos but more cheap and shabby Ikea-style in real life. Overall it felt like a run-down hotel, poorly managed, short on staff and probably money, and if we ever return to this area, we will definitely not be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYC_Hamptons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karim M, Owner at The Rushmore Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
I am disheartened to read such a poor review of our hotel. While it is certainly our goal to welcome business travelers, tour groups and other visitors to our area all year long in order to remain a viable business, it is never our intent to sacrifice quality for quantity. I apologize that you feel you were treated less than special and that we did not better anticipate your needs. It is always our intention to take those extra steps to insure happy guests, and we are eager to correct anything we may have missed when alerted of any deficiencies. We have received rave reviews on the improvements we have made to the hotel the past couple of years, from our newly renovated guest rooms to upgraded banquet and meeting facilities, and additions to our outdoor patio area. I am sorry you did not appreciate our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinesville, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel is a great place to be in Rapid City. Right in the center of the city and the staff is helpful and knowledgeable about the local sites.There are lots of great shops and resteraunts in the immediate area.

Green Features: Nice, but not my primary concern on this trip. I am not primarily oncern with this when I make my choice on where to stay on vacation.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cannonman_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karim M, Owner at The Rushmore Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for allowing us to be your host during your recent vacation. We certainly feel fortunate to be so close to the hub of activities, and our staff loves telling our guests about all there is to see and do here. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Unique looking rooms, comfy beds, also yummy free breakfast. If you leave the privacy sign hanging on the door they leave you a cute little bag with towels and toiletries and a note saying "Sorry we missed you". I've never had a hotel do this before, and it was amazing.

Room Tip: We had a room by the road and it was a little noisy, but it did not keep me awake at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karim M, Owner at The Rushmore Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for the kind review. We love adding personal touches to make our guests feel special! The beds are an especially personal touch, custom made for weary travelers. So glad you noticed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle Butte, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

When I first saw this hotel while driving through Rapid months ago, I knew I wanted to stay there. I am very eco-conscious, and the location to downtown was a huge draw. So my last trip to Rapid included a stay. Unfortunately, it was not exactally what I was expecting. First off, the entire main lobby was under consctuction. Obviously that was just bad timing on my part, but it certainly ruined any kind of first impression. My overall feeling of the hotel was dark and gloomy. It didn't help that it was a dark and gloomy day outside as well. The hotel just kind of made me feel sad! Service was fine, don't remember anything really great or really bad. The room itself was pretty hip, but felt impresonal and cold. Maybe I just don't get that style. I was also slightly lost about the "eco" part of it. The shower had re-usable soap pumps, which was cool, and they encouraged you to re-use your towels, but that is seriously all I can remember about the eco part...that was the whole reason I wanted to stay there! Oh well. Maybe they do more eco things than I picked up on, but they should really emphasize that, considering that is the name of the hotel. The breakfast was not great-the restaurant looked old and service poor. This would not have been a great problem, but I suppose, overall, I was just expecting more from this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skichick605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karim M, Owner at The Rushmore Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
We are happy to hear you share the same passion for being "eco-conscious"! In addition to the refillable soap and shampoo pumps in the showers, we also implemented shower heads in our newly renovated rooms designed for the water to push out via centrifugal force to give you an amazing shower while saving water. We incorporated recycled and environmentally friendly materials whenever possible, from the old barn wood in our Dakota rooms to the custom-made beds using all organic materials. Even the bottles of complimentary water are made from 30 percent recycled plastic!

While we understand construction can be frustrating and uninviting, we are committed to our ongoing investment of modernizing every aspect of our hotel. We will be renovating the lobby, bar and gift shop areas this fall and hope you'll stop by to see the progress!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnie, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We were very pleased with our 3 night stay at this hotel - the decor is so unique! We had the weather report & candy left on our bed each night. The bathroom is furnished with great smelling shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and soaps! There is also a small fridge in the room and bottled water! Great lighting, very comfortable beds and a very large tv in the room. They also have free wifi in the rooms! A complimentary breakfast is also offered in the restaurant each morning from 6-10. This hotel is close to the downtown area which means you can walk to several restaurants and shops. All of the staff members were very friendly and helpful! Would recommend this hotel for sure!!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bretmcbunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karim M, Owner at The Rushmore Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Receiving endorsements such as yours makes what we do worthwhile! We hope you'll be our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
3.8 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
4.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City
#3 of 48 in Rapid City
1,472 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
4.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rushmore Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rushmore Hotel & Suites

Property: The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
Address: 445 Mount Rushmore Rd, Rapid City, SD 57701-2754 (Formerly Adoba Eco Hotel Rapid City/Mt. Rushmore)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Rapid City
#5 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#12 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rushmore Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites is ideally located in the city's historic downtown district, just steps away from popular entertainment options, boutiques, the President walk, and the new Main Street Square. The hotel features the 3-diamond Enigma Restaurant. All rates include a complimentary breakfast buffet. At The Rushmore Hotel & Suites, we've struck an elegant balance between Earth-friendly and Big City Chic with our sustainable efforts, practices and newly renovated Floor. Additional upgrades include a new eco-luxury bedding package in all guestrooms, complimentary shuttle to and from the airport and local businesses and 15 Megs of High Speed Internet wired and wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Rushmore Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Rapid City
Mt Rushmore South Dakota
Radisson Rapid City
Rapid City Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing