We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Trilled.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My husband and I stayed one night at this hotel. When checking in we met some incredibly unfriendly front desk staff. Once we arrive on our floor, we find out we were checked into a room that haven't been cleaned yet. As we met housekeeping entering our room they told us it would only be 5 minutes and had us wait outside our room in the hallway, as they blasted through our room. Makes me question the cleanliness of the hotel. After we were able to get into our room, we decided to go to dinner and leave our belongings strung out around the room. When we came back to dinner we were surprised to find that the hotel staff had entered our room, while we were gone, without warning, 3 hours after we had checked in to give us a welcome card and candies. Also, I understand the hotel can't be soundproof and the trains blowing horns all hours of the night is something completely out of your control, the extremely loud air conditioner in the room that rattles and kicks on and off is in your control. When paying $200+ for a single king room for one night, I expected more.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M_J_K_41014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karim M, Owner at The Rushmore Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2014

We appreciate the time you took to write a review our property. Please accept my personal apology for your less than perfect experience. It is our commitment to welcome our guests with the highest standards of hospitality, from the moment you walk through the front doors until your departure. While I do not know the circumstances regarding your arrival, I can assure you our housekeeping staff is top notch and they would never cut corners or sacrifice cleanliness to save time.

The welcome card and candies are part of our turndown services -- just one more way of thanking you for being our guest -- so I apologize that it was an unwelcome surprise for you.

You are correct about the train being out of our control, but our staff is available 24 hours a day to assist with things that are within our control. We are more than happy to correct things when we are made aware of any issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (897)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 897 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

In a handy place for the shops and bars, decoration of rooms was quite a shock on entering the room, very brash but comfortable. Not much else to remember really apart from the thunder and lightning storm.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank catherine p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The first impression of this hotel is that it was renovated recently and they should have spent a little more money on the renovation. However, given its location in a small town in a small state, they seem to have done a reasonably good job. It was formerly a Raddison. The room was clean overlooking the Main Street and conveniently located to the center of downtown. Parking available on site. Staff were polite, accessible and attentive. The breakfast served the following day was a buffet which was varied and tasteful. There was a gift shop on site along with a fitness center. Restaurant and retail shopping available in downtown. A US Presidential statute was on every street corner as an attraction.

Room Tip: No suggestion...It was just an overnight staff?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karim M, Owner at The Rushmore Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, as we rely on guest feedback to continually improve our hotel and services. I am so glad you noticed our recent renovations! Guests are certainly enjoying the improvements we have made, from a complete makeover of our guest rooms, the transformation of our banquet and meeting facilities and the completion of our outdoor patio and interactive fire pits. We are excited for everyone to see what our designers have planned for the lobby, 445 Martini Lounge and Enigma restaurant!

We hope our commitment to protecting the environment with our many eco-friendly features is contagious. We do encourage recycling by placing collection receptacles for paper, glass and plastic around the property, installed showers and faucets with water-saving features and utilized recycled materials whenever possible during the renovation. In addition, we offer "green" Bee Kind products for our guests and serve organic products in our Enigma restaurant whenever possible. We welcome the opportunity to take you on a tour to show you more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Nothing special. Looks like they tried to modernize the rooms. Beds are comfortable. Blinds on windows let you know when it's sunrise. Not a good feature. Very, very slow internet. Nice area. Be sure to see the president statues on every corner in town. Staff was friendly, but not overly.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We visited Rapid City as part of a tour group and stayed two nights at Adoba Eco Hotel. True, the hotel is ideally located for visiting Rapid City's vintage downtown area, but once that novelty wore off we were faced with the reality of sleepless nights due to the railway running next door. The railroad literally cuts right through the downtown area so I imagine this is an issue for any hotel in the central area. Long loud whistles of the trains moving slowly through town kept us awake all night. They seem to blow their horns at every intersection so it's rather relentless. We woke up in a daze - can't even remember having breakfast there. I would advise finding a hotel on the outskirts of town - and away from the trains.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mascalzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karim M, Owner at The Rushmore Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

Planes, trains and automobiles are an integral part of our commerce system here in Rapid City and have brought travelers and freight to our area for decades. In fact, the railroad was built in the 1880s, long before most of the downtown businesses. We have grown accustomed to the sound, but guests who are bothered by the late night train whistles have found some relief by rooming on the opposite side of the hotel and on the higher floors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We loved the friendly staff. The hotel is clean, has a nicely appointed bath with Bee Kind soaps and lotions, a big room with two comfortable beds, soft pillows, lots of hangers in the closet, oodles of sockets to charge our techie stuff, and decent towels. However, the walls are paper thin and on our first night our next door neighbor had his TV running all night . Since we couldn't sleep, we spent a lot of time in the wee hours thinking anout our visit to Mt. Rushmore! Also, its location, right on Main St, is convenient to the Presidential Walk and the quaint and delightful Main Street, but the traffic noise can be another cause of insomnia, especially during Sturgis Week when hundreds of motorcyclists take over the town.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We came to the region for a tour of Mount Rushmore / the Badlands and decided to make Rapid City our base (stayed two nights). Because of its location within short walking distance of shops and restaurants we chose the adoba Eco Hotel and stayed in a room on the “President’s Floor” = top floor (supposedly the better rooms in this hotel) but we soon realized that choosing the adoba was a mistake. This hotel seems to be focused on tour groups, quantity over quality appears to be the theme here (or we just had the worst luck and picked a really bad weekend). As a result service overall was poor, staff was overwhelmed, and things fell through the cracks… some examples: a handle of a drawer was hanging loose to one side when we arrived (the screws were left inside the drawer so we fixed this one ourselves); when we tried to call reception we discovered that our phone was dead (we then noticed that it was unplugged and that the cable had fallen down the crack between the desk and the wall, so we moved the desk, managed to retrieve the cable and plugged it back in – phone fixed!); we found hair from the previous guest(s) all across the wall of the bathtub / shower; the loud music from the bar outside (until approx. 2am) made for a sleepless start to the night; we were awoken by an alarm at 4:30am that was left set by the previous guest via the hotel provided alarm clock; breakfast made for a rough start to the day as it resembled a mass feeding (lines, noise, etc.); tour buses were constantly blocking the driveway in front of the hotel so at check-out time we had to drag our bags to our car in the adjacent parking lot; also, the furniture / room décor looks boutique-trendy on the website photos but more cheap and shabby Ikea-style in real life. Overall it felt like a run-down hotel, poorly managed, short on staff and probably money, and if we ever return to this area, we will definitely not be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank NYC_Hamptons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karim M, Owner at The Rushmore Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

I am disheartened to read such a poor review of our hotel. While it is certainly our goal to welcome business travelers, tour groups and other visitors to our area all year long in order to remain a viable business, it is never our intent to sacrifice quality for quantity. I apologize that you feel you were treated less than special and that we did not better anticipate your needs. It is always our intention to take those extra steps to insure happy guests, and we are eager to correct anything we may have missed when alerted of any deficiencies. We have received rave reviews on the improvements we have made to the hotel the past couple of years, from our newly renovated guest rooms to upgraded banquet and meeting facilities, and additions to our outdoor patio area. I am sorry you did not appreciate our efforts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
3.8 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
1.8 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City
4 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rushmore Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rushmore Hotel & Suites

Address: 445 Mount Rushmore Rd, Rapid City, SD 57701-2754
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Rapid City
#5 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#12 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range: £49 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rushmore Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rushmore Hotel & Suites is ideally located in the city's historic downtown district, just steps away from popular entertainment options, boutiques, the President walk, and the new Main Street Square. The hotel features the 3-diamond Enigma Restaurant, the 445 Martini Lounge and the Privé. All rates include a business continental breakfast. At The Rushmore Hotel & Suites, we've struck an elegant balance between Earth-friendly and Big City Chic with our sustainable efforts, practices and newly renovated spaces. Additional upgrades include a new eco-luxury bedding package in all guestrooms, high speed WiFi, and shuttle service to and from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Rushmore Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Rapid City
Mt Rushmore South Dakota
Radisson Rapid City
Rapid City Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing