We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Gateway Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Foothills Inn(Rapid City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Rapid City(Rapid City)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Rapid City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (620)
Filter reviews
620 results
Traveller rating
223
182
108
51
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
182
108
51
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperkins restaurantperkins attachedindoor poolhot tubwould stay againblack hillscoffee makerroom was largesouth dakotabeds were comfortablestaff was friendlymt rushmoreinterstatewalmartsdmicrowavesturgis
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
368 - 373 of 620 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This hotel offered our family a good clean room at a fair price. Staff was friendly and helpful. We would stay again. The kids had a blast at the pool the slide was amazing. Coffee was provided in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coloradogirl531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

When you enter the hotel it smells like a dirty bar. They have a bar off of the main entrance with a fan at the doorway in a poor attempt to blow the dirty air back into the bar. Not so great if you have a child with asthma.
After checking in we found that the room we had reserved with two queen sized beds actually had two full sized beds. The beds were smaller than the queen sized headboards attached to the walls. The beds themselves are terrible! We have been home for two days and our backs still ache from the beds we slept on- it felt like sleeping on a blow up mattress or bounce house floor.
The ceilings are the old popcorn ceilings which concerned me as they typically are made with asbestos.
Also, the pool area appeared to be clean but upon entering the pool I could see the dirty bottom of the pool and areas of the pool floor feel like you are walking on wet toilet paper where the sealer is bubbled up.

I guess if you don't come to this hotel with high standards you would think it is great, however I have stayed in much nicer hotels for the same price and expected better from this establishment.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, there are better options in the area.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashpiesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

This is a pretty good hotel located in a really great area full of restaurants and shopping. Service was a little slow checking in but nothing horrible. The hotel overall seems a bit dated mostly done in dark wood and brown carpets, however it was very clean. If you have kids it has quite a nice indoor pool and big water slide that they would probably love. The wi-fi did work well. Overall I would stay here again, but they do need to consider refreshing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsguyrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We are traveling w kids from Mo to Seattle, portland, glacier mt then s dakota. Booked on fly then read trip advisor. CRITICS ARE WRONG! Summary: rate below 100 so got two rooms, dated property but clean, pool great slide, pool floor had perling pt due to bad sealing job but not hard on ft sure will be fixed. Staff great-door accidently between units got closed and ft desk at midnight came up to help to resolve. We come from a hospitality driven area and these people are trying their hardest to accomodate just could use a little modernization. Would stay again. Close as We wanted to be to Rushmore.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timandkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The people at the front desk were a little short while others were extremely friendly. The rooms where a good size but dark and the same with the hallways. So some things were bad such as they say they have free breakfest but they don't becuase they are connected to Perkins. The pool area was nice when there weren't 20 kids in there. The pool was a little unappealing because the bottom is peeling and is extremly gross to walk on. The water slide is also only open for certain hours. The hot tub was nice when there weren't babies with diapers in there. The staff also did not care if the rules where followed. One positive was that you were right by the mall. Over all it was an okay stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aeyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews