We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, quiet, comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Gateway Hotel
Ranked #31 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Mandan, North Dakota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice, quiet, comfortable hotel”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Husband and I stayed here for 3 nights while in Rapid City. Location was great - easy to get to all the sights. Gas station next door was very convenient as well as the attached Perkins that you could have delivered to your room.

The room was very spacious, we made sure our room had a fridge and microwave when booking. The bed was very comfortable and we slept great all 3 nights. We never had a problem with noise. Our room (336) was on the 3rd floor and it was the 1st room by the elevators and we thought this would be noisy but we didn't have any issues.

I docked it 1 point because i felt it could have been a little cleaner - the carpet didn't look like it had been vacuumed in a while, but the sheets/bedding were clean and i'd stay here again if back in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ND_Couple20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    166
    99
    45
    47
See reviews for
217
160
28
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
stacy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed at GrandStay for our Back Hills Trip
The cons first
The room we were in had garage and wrappers left behind the couch and curtains
They forgot to clean our room the first day
The fan in the Bathroom was not working
Pool very small

Pros
Lots of space
Beds were comfortable
The breakfast was average

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tacoma, washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

moving across country from the pacific northwest to the Midwest- this was a great place to stop for a night when you want to include a side trip to Mt. Rushmore. Right off the freeway, gas station next door. The place was clean. There's a kid's indoor pool area. No continental breakfast but the Perkins attached to the hotel worked fine. The place was packed so had a difficult time turning my 24-foot moving van around.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank revreggae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I was really surprised that it did NOT include free breakfast ... there was a line of people waiting for a beautiful breakfast buffet with amazing food, but it turned out it was only for tour groups (there were three busloads of seniors there each night of our stay). There is a Perkins attached, but I've come to rely on those free breakfasts when traveling with kids. No refridgerator in the room either. Great for seniors looking for a quieter stay, but I won't stay there with my kids again. Wished there was a hot tub. The workout room needed a separate key from the desk, which was a little inconvenient. Elegant older-style hotel decor, not generic, which was nice.

Room Tip: We were facing the parking lot and there was some road noise and bright lights through the crack in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrienneW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I really liked this place! Everything was clean, the bed was comfortable and the location worked well for me. Across the parking lot was a convenience store and connected to a Perkins. The only bad mark is that I left a do not disturb sign on the door, yet when I returned they had come into my room and left a notice on the desk that I had missed maid service. Now in all fairness this probably was a maid that I hope knew I was gone, but what if I had been there doing who knows what or what if it wasn't the maid? The notice is supposed to be slipped under the door. With that being the only exception I would definitely stay here again! They have safes that will hold a laptop and only one key to the safe feature I really like.

Room Tip: Both ends have their own benefits. Travelers with kids will want a room on the west end close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaberRules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

I almost passed on this hotel and I'm glad I didn't. It's an older hotel so a few stains on the carpet didn't make me want to leave. The kids loved the pool but they do need someone in there to supervise kids and teens who can't read the rules or to tell the idiot parents of those idiot kids to follow the rules. Room was great and even though I didn't know the area I felt safe.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Recordhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, South Dakota, United States
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I made a reservation for my hubby and 8 yr old at the Grand Getaway ( on Expedia.com) the hotel is great but I will NEVER use Expedia again due to horrible service. I called the hotel and spoke with Brandy to explain a change I was trying I make for their stay ( Expedia refused to help and kept me on hold for over 20 minutes and then hung up on my ) I explained all of this to Brandy and she said she cold help and offered to just call me back since I'd already spent so much time on the phone. She was personable, customer-focused and I could hear over the phone that she remained cheerful. I appreciated the above and beyond service. Great service is NOT a thing of the past! Thanks Brandy, you represented South Dakota well!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.1 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#24 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#9 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
2.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
2.2 mi away
MainStay Suites Rapid City
MainStay Suites Rapid City
#15 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Gateway Hotel

Property: Grand Gateway Hotel
Address: 1721 N Lacrosse St, Rapid City, SD 57701-0705
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rapid City
#15 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Gateway Rapid City
Hotel Grand Gateway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing