We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand Gateway Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Gateway Hotel
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
kenm75232
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Grand Gateway Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I booked two rooms through Expedia. The hotel vastly exceeded my expectations. The rooms were great and the staff was wonderful. The rooms were very Victorian, comfortable and relaxing. I had never been to Rapid City before and was amazed to luck into such a fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kenm75232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    163
    97
    44
    47
See reviews for
208
158
27
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Decorah, Iowa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We booked through Booking.com and had an unbelievable rate for room we expected to only sleep in, therefore, not expecting much else. What a surprise! Clean large lobby. Separate pool area with long slide for the kids (I don't have any). Separate exercise room but I didn't look in. Large clean room with very comfortable beds with pillowtop mattresses. Though no breakfast with the room, Perkins was attached to the hotel. Wi-Fi wasn't working while we were there, our only complaint

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Just stayed at the Grand Gateaway, The front desk employees were very accommodating. They Did a walk through with me before I book and matched the price I found on line. The hotel has a Victorian feel. It is beautiful and the bed is the most comfortable I have ever experienced. The only down side is the house keeping left a little to be desired never the less I enjoyed my stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MelissaBBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre, South Dakota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Anytime we travel to Rapid City, Grand Gateway is our choice. Ok, it may not be the Ritz Carlton, but dollar for dollar, they get it right. Rooms are nice sized, well appointed, and clean. We especially enjoy the king and presidential suites and having Perkins room service! You can't go wrong with the Grand Gateway!

Room Tip: If you can get a good rate, grab the presidential suite or one of the two room suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre, South Dakota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Huge, surprisingly elegant and clean guest rooms. No free breakfast, but that's a good thing in my opinion; I don't eat it at other hotels, so why should I pay for it? For $35 I had a spacious room with a very European feel, glasses instead of disposable cups, a free lending library, and a very comfortable mattress with soft, clean linens. The walls were not sound-proof... I could hear the TV in the room next to me but for the price I'm willing to accept that. I did not try out the water slide or pool but they looked very inviting for families. There are several cozy public sitting areas throughout the hotel, and the on-site lounge and restaurant are very convenient.

Room Tip: If the hotel is not full, ask them to put you in a room with no one in the adjacent room... the wall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Will go back to this hotel! The staff was amazingly accommodating, room was clean with a fire place and a jacuzzi tub on the 4th floor with amazing views of the sunrise. A shout out to the staff, they went above and beyond their duties to make our anniversary special.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mdlarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casper, Wyoming
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel was a great value. We got a room for $50. First the pros: The location is ideal. The beds are comfortable. The room are well sized. Perkins is attached and delivers to your room until 9. The bar also delivers wine to your room. The pool is also a great asset for families.

The cons: no breakfast. The gym equipment is out dated and the elliptical was broke.

We would stay again

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sir_grouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City
0.1 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#25 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Rapid City
2.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
0.1 mi away
Ramada Rapid City
Ramada Rapid City
#43 of 51 in Rapid City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Gateway Hotel

Property: Grand Gateway Hotel
Address: 1721 N Lacrosse St, Rapid City, SD 57701-0705
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rapid City
#15 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Gateway Rapid City
Hotel Grand Gateway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing