We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Speak up and you get results”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Gateway Hotel
Ranked #31 of 51 Hotels in Rapid City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Speak up and you get results”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

After a 13 hour car ride, the last thing we needed was issues with our hotel room. Upon checking in, the front desk worker who had started just a few weeks prior, realized that the room that had originally been assigned to us had been given to someone else. He Obviously needed more training. He was unaware of what to do, so luckily one of the porters stepped in and finished out check in. We went to out room and found dirty comforters and no roll away bed as promised. After calling to the front desk and having a confrontational discussion with Scott, he said he would find us a bed. Michelle brought up the bed, which ended up needing a new mattress and bedding! She and Shane brought new bedding for that bed, new comforters for both queen beds, and extra towels for the 5 of us since there were only 4 in the room. If it wouldn't have been for Michelle and Shane I would've checked my family out that night!!! The hotel is very lucky to have 2 very wonderful young people who care about the guests that stay there. The night staff at the front desk needs some serious retraining!!! The 2nd night our keys didn't work and had to be reprogrammed so they would work for the remainder of our stay....frustrating!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    166
    99
    45
    47
See reviews for
218
160
28
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Superior, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is ok. The rooms are typical hotel rooms with televisions on loan from the Smithsonian, seriously upgrade the TV's... The energy savings alone would pay for them. My kids loved the pool and waterslide, and there are plenty of areas for relaxing. My other issue is that there is no free breakfast, they try and make you use the attached Perkins, thumbs down... For the price of my stay I was satisfied, but make some simple changes/updates and this place could be great.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Icensnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Goto Hampton for quality service at a better rate. This hotel I would not recommend to anybody. Place is dark and feels like it has not been updated since the disco ages of 1977. My advice, run from this place.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ofozandtroy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sulphur, Louisiana
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights this month and had a great stay. The hotel is on the older side but very clean and quiet. There is a big indoor pool with a waterslide as well as a lounge that had nightly entertainment. There is a perkins restaurant attached to the hotel that has great food and is opened 24 hours.Free wifi worked fine.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snewfie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Az
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Bus Stop is right on the property, so easy to get downtown during daylight hours while bus route runs. Nice indoor pool/slide, but didn't get a chance to try it. They have a shuttle onsite, but no driver right now. That would have been helpful. Arrived pretty early, but the hotel was not able to accomodate an early checkin that day.
I was worried about having a room near the interstate, but the sound proofing in my room was good at drowning out external building noise. However, hallway conversations outside my door were very audible.
Several hotels/restaurants nearby. Mall is within walking distance. Walmart/Target also within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Dominic A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dillon, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Not a lot to say, but the hotel definitely needs an updated.
The hotel was clean and pretty comfortable, However the rooms are dark and the furnishings dated. Tube TV's and not really set up for business. (few outlets etc....) The internet was down, but my phone did make up for that.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank orlink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The room was OK--very dark and we made a fast trip to Walmart to buy light bulbs since we were staying 6 nights. Everything was just a little dark and tired looking. Centrally located to food and shopping, and all our planned day trips, we were pleased with this. Maids did a good job and overall it was quiet on the 4th floor. We did have a fridge and microwave. Free Wi-Fi but it is NOT secure!
Main lobby offered a computer and printer for the guests. This we planned to use to check in and print boarding passes for trip home with our airlines, but the front desk staff did not have or know the password needed to use--they did finally let us use the one in main office.
Front desk staff lacked a lot to be desired---was told at check in $20 extra charge in case of incidentals--found out on check out it was a $20 charge per day. Never stayed at hotel that could not give you your final statement upon checking out???First was told night staff had not printed reports and then was told they were having internet problems after my sister came in to complain. Upset with clerk but I did receive a statement 4 hours later by my email. No bills showed up on TV like most hotels.

Room Tip: We asked for the 4th floor and back side of hotel away from the main street area. Hotel was centrall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJD638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.1 mi away
Foothills Inn
Foothills Inn
#24 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country Inn Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
#8 of 51 in Rapid City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
2.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
2.2 mi away
MainStay Suites Rapid City
MainStay Suites Rapid City
#15 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Gateway Hotel

Property: Grand Gateway Hotel
Address: 1721 N Lacrosse St, Rapid City, SD 57701-0705
Region: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rapid City
#15 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Gateway Rapid City
Hotel Grand Gateway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing