We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Run, do not walk, away from this property.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge North

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Econo Lodge North
Ranked #45 of 52 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Run, do not walk, away from this property.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Very cheap. Didn't expect fancy, and figured building/furnishings would be dated and simple, but did hope for clean. Hair on sheets and towels. Filthy under bed. Nightstands not wiped down. Very old, uncomfortable, springy bed. Halls wreak of smoke. Evening front desk person not very nice. I expected slim choices for continental breakfast, and that's ok, but they didn't even keep that stocked or clean. "Pool" is size of large hot tub. Had reservation to stay 2 nites. Lost out on $ and just left (no way I could stay another night - contemplated sleeping in car 1st night).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    10
    17
    21
    31
See reviews for
31
26
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Staff waited to tell me that the pool and hot tub were out of service until AFTER I had registered. Non-smoking room had pillows which smelled of smoke.Staff provided fresh replacements. Bed was reasonably comfortable and room was clean but noisy for various reasons. Back entrance is not secured, as mentioned by other reviewers. Continental breakfast was basic but a waffle maker was available. Those wishing a more substantial breakfast will find fast food and a family restaurant within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: One of the homes behind the hotel keeps peacocks/peahens. These birds can be very loud, even in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

We stayed here after driving 12 plus hours hoping to avoid a storm.
The counter woman was very helpful and friendly
I told the counter woman that all i wanted was a hot bath and a good bed. That is what we got.
The breakfast was good, the room clean. Nothing fancy, but it worked fine for our purposes.
The price was good.
good location
I did not like the unlocked back entry, and the lounge area there.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mahinegammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

The room was ok, the shower head was detachable which I do not like. When i was walking down the hall to breakfast there was someone sleeping on a couch on the hallway, it was kinda freaky, I let the front desk know and they got rid of him. I did like the outside entry next to our room. Makes it easy when you are travelling with pets. I would stay again. Its very convenient to the highway.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LM11022012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

We have been on the road for several days and have stayed in many rooms and this the best! its not the Weston or a w but it was by far the best for the money. At sd prices they could have charged double the price. don't believe the negative reviews.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank batkitty5580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandville, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

My husband and I were on a road trip going through Sioux Falls, SD in June, 2012, and needed a place to stay for overnight. We were both tired and exhausted. The front desk personnel were very kind and accomodating and we LOVED our room and also the free breakfast the next morning. We were so impressed, that on the way back we stayed there again overnite. Same kindness was shown to us again. Wouldn't hesitate to tell our friends to stay there when they travel. I asked for a business card so I could spread the word about a decent hotel to stay in! Site#SD011.

Room Tip: Be kind to the staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tabor, SD
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

This motel is on the north side of town far away from everything but since it is right on Interstate 90, it really is easy to get to anywhere. There are a few other motels at this interchange as well as fast food, a Perkins, gas stations/convenience stores and a truckstop with cafe.
We took a smoking room with one queen and my smoking husband said it smelled funny. It did smell a little mildewy or smoky when we opened the door, but we must've gotten used to it right away because it didn't drive us out. The furniture wasn't the best and the side chair with ottoman had very worn out upholstery. We only had two pillows and ordinary bedding.
The counter top to the sink was too close to the stool so that if you leaned back a little you got a corner jabbed in the back of your arm. The shower was great-good temp and nice spray.
This motel has a small indoor pool with an average sized hot tub. Did not use either so don't know the temp or quality.
The free continental breakfast wasn't very good but they did have waffles. The people at Burger King next door were super friendly when we went for breakfast sandwiches.
Noticed that the inroom coffee pot wasn't cleaned out-had dried coffee in the bottom, but maybe that was just a small oversight by the cleaning crew.
The staff was very nice upon check in.

Room Tip: Smoking rooms available. QQ or Q or King. Also have accessible rooms and rooms with 1 person whirlpo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kikiSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sioux Falls hotels
3.8 mi away
Guesthouse Inn & Suites Sioux Falls
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Inn And Suites
#25 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
5.6 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Sioux Falls
WoodSpring Suites Sioux Falls
#42 of 52 in Sioux Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Super 8 Sioux Falls
Super 8 Sioux Falls
#16 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#38 of 52 in Sioux Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
2.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sioux Falls Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge North

Property: Econo Lodge North
Address: 5100 N Cliff Ave, Sioux Falls, SD 57104-0596 (Formerly Comfort Inn North)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 52 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge North 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Econo Lodge North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing