We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hiking and Skiing”

Great Bear Recreation Park
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
137 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good Hiking and Skiing”
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

If it wasn't in this area my review would be 3 stars but for South Dakota the park is very good. I hike the trails often and sometimes ski here. Both are enjoyable experiences. The staff is pretty good. I would recommend this to anyone from the area looking for a short trip.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    7
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tubing and boarding”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

If you have kids the best tubing within 100 miles is just outside of town. There are three slopes from intermediate to the thrill seeker. This is fun for us adults too by the way. This is a great place to learn how to snow board and ski too and the prices are reasonable .

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank GrangerDouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookings, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awful staff and management”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The girls at the front desk are so rude and very unhelpful. If you ask for assistance, they look at you like you are the biggest idiot....um service please. The management is just as bad. The place is ran poorly, and I would NOT go back due to the poor service by the front desk. The staff in the other areas on the other hand were very nice and helpful.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank MichelleS_263933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookings, South Dakota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Revamp Your Staff and Management”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

The girls selling tickets were rude, snotty teenagers who didn't seem to care about anything to do with their job. They were rude to my two boys and serveral adults asking about pricing. I saw one manager present-she seemed as aloof and rude as the employees selling tickets. GM or whoever runs the place should invest in retraining, or rehiring.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
14 Thank Zoey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Better slopes within 500 miles.”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Terrible service from lift/rentals to food, very much a take-it-or-leave-it attitude from a young staff. Helmet rentals are not available, only purchase, which gives you an idea on the legal advice they are getting for liability from personal injury.There was little is any grooming at lift entry and exit, very icy at the exit. A singles line which merges into multiples would make the lift line move faster. Discourteous skiers in the line, especially early teens who cut in - worst I have experienced with midwestern ski slopes. Speaking from experience, everything was overpriced for what you get. Facility needs professional help for ski and food service management. Expansion is a must for this slope to survive. Recommend skiing there as a last resort in lieu of driving and staying somewhere else for the weekend.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Bryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Great Bear Recreation Park also viewed

 

Been to Great Bear Recreation Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing