We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nicer rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dakotah Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dakotah Lodge
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nicer rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here overnight before leaving to Badlands and this place was very good for the price. It was better than some of the costlier 3* hotel i have stayed before. The room were clean and comfortable. The had a decent breakfast. Overall its a good value for money. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prem83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for the nice review. We appreciate you taking the time on your vacation to send your views of our property. We are happy to have provided you a comfortable stay at a reasonable price. Hope to see you again on your return. Thank you, Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    187
    64
    28
    12
See reviews for
247
149
39
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mitchell, South Dakota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This place used to be next to a very bad hotel that brought it down; but now the neighboring hotel is gone and this one is being updated. They're doing it right: the rooms are done, nicely, and kept clean, while they work on the common areas/pool. It's a great location - quick access to airport and several event locations. Staff is good. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dukembe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you so much for the nice review and giving us a chance to improve your image of the property. It has been so nice hearing from the guests that have stayed here before we bought the property and are now staying again. They are always amazed at the improvements. We will continue to improve with each passing week. Hopefully the water park will be open by August. Hope you come back and see the finished project. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have stayed in this hotel more than once and are always treated well. The rooms are clean and attractive, the services in very good and pleasant. There is no pool YET BUT they are putting in a water park type pool which should be done this summer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hrwego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review. We appreciate you taking the time to let others know about our property. We promise to continue to give you the best service possible. Hope to see you again soon. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Nice accommodations close to I 90. Clean room and comfortable bed. Rooms have microwave, fridge and wi fi. Breakfast is enough to get you started in the morning, coffee is hot and delicious. Stayed there on our way to and from Mt. Rushmore. Would stay there again, nice accommodations for the price. Close to all major restaurants and shopping. They are currently remodeling but there was no noise that disturbed us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for the nice review. We are happy to have provided you with an excellent stay. Hope to see you again. Wishing you safe travels. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunriver, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Customer service was wonderful and so was the bed. Breakfast was average but it's free so I can't complain too much. I just think the biscuits should be warm like the gravy. Kinda weird. We are excited to see there expansion on our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SillyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you so much for the 5 star review. I totally agree with you about wanting warm biscuits. The problem I have encountered is the amount of time we need to have biscuits out varies greatly. If they are in a warmer to long they get rock hard so we decided to leave them at room temperature and try to keep the gravy very hot. This is not a complete answer so we will keep working on it and hopefully have it resolved when you come back and check on the completed waterplay area. Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate your input. Donna Gratzfeld , General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had a great stay. Newly remodeled room and they are continuing to update and improve the facility. Great little breakfast room with the standard hotel complimentary breakfast. We will stay again on our next visit to Sioux Falls.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Logan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you so much for the very nice 5 star review. We really appreciate you taking the time to write it. We promise to continue to provide you with a excellent stay at a reasonable cost. Our remodel is progressing . Everyone is looking forward to the new elevator and indoor water play area. The name change will be very soon. Thank you for choosing us, Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
133 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

On my last night of a four night stay here. Great rate, clean rooms, very friendly staff. The hotel has renovated the courtyard area and construction is progressing on a water park feature. The courtyard is landscaped and has a water feature, gas fireplace, and patio seating. I sat by the outdoor fireplace tonight, watched the flames dance, and sipped a nice single malt scotch. Note: The hotel doesn't have a bar so bring your own.

Will come back here if I am in Sioux Falls again. Breakfast is provided and includes biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs, juices, yogurt, coffee, pastries, toast and muffins, cereal, and do it yourself waffles. Room comes equipped with coffee maker, microwave and bar size frig.

Room Tip: The king bed room is nice. Rooms surrounding the courtyard provide a better view than the ones looki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fraudsnoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you so much for the nice review. We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed the courtyard. It will be even nicer as the flowers start blooming and spring finally gets here. We are hoping to attract some hummingbirds and butterflies as well. It is really a nice quiet spot to sit and unwind. Wishing you many happy travels and hope you come back soon. Donna Gratzfeld General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sioux Falls hotels
1.3 mi away
Ramada Sioux Falls Airport Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel
#24 of 52 in Sioux Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sioux Falls ClubHouse Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Sioux Falls Sanford Medical Center
2.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls
5.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakotah Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakotah Lodge

Property: Dakotah Lodge
Address: 3200 West Russell Street, Exit 81 off I-29, Sioux Falls, SD 57107 (Formerly Brimark Inn)
Region: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dakotah Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This totally remodeled property is an all masonry construction which makes our rooms so very quiet.We have interior corridors, a beautiful courtyard with a guest barbeque grill, fireplace, waterfall with a large seating and eating area great for group gatherings. Refrigerators, microwaves,coffee makers, flat screen T.V.S in every room. Rooms have new beds either 2 queen or 1 king.We have a business center and fitness center.Complimentary hot breakfast. Indoor pool, 167 foot waterslide and kids play area. Waterpark is for registered guests only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Dakotah Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing