We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Call - Great Deal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dakotah Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dakotah Lodge
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Call - Great Deal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Needed a Hotel at 930 at night in later June. The wife was driving to Sioux falls, used Trip Advisor to find hotels. This was one of the least expensive we found, so we figured what the heck, its just for the night. Check-in was quick and easy. Do not shy away from this well priced hotel for a night or 2. The beds were great,comfortable and sleep well. They have a nice little courtyard and are working on an indoor pool (we were not interested in the pool). 3 days later we did this same trip except we checked in on Monday at 1 am after calling the hotel at 9 pm on our way back from the Black Hills. A different room, same results. Sound sleep. bathroom is a little tight, but the place has been remodeled fairly recently. The night and morning auditors were very nice and personable too. breakfast is also server. good location right off of I29 as well. Thank you Trip Advisor and thank you Staff at Dakotah Lodge

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you so much for your 5 star review. We are so happy we could meet or exceed your expectations. We are constantly trying. It is a challenge to keep the rooms and public areas looking comfortable and clean during the construction and we know we miss things from time to time. We appreciated your kind remarks and hope to see you again soon. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    187
    65
    28
    13
See reviews for
251
151
39
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

OK, the hotel is close to I-90 and Falls Park and is one of the best hotel values I have ever had. The price is probably low because they are redoing the entire front of the hotel with a new water park and slide slated to open maybe in August. When done, this place could be a great family hotel, but probably at a higher price. In the meantime, they did a lot right - there is a nice inside courtyard with a small waterfall and plants. The room was newly painted, clean and the beds were comfortable. It came with a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker. There is free wifi, although strangely intermittent. Self serve breakfast was included. Staff was very friendly.

The major problem was noise emanating from the air duct sounding like an ice machine running all night. I was told it was maybe the boiler? Minor annoyances were a paucity of electric outlets for all the electronics and shampoo, but no conditioner. I think if they fix the problems, this could be a best buy.

Room Tip: If the air duct is noisy, ask for another room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you your review. Nice to hear we are doing some things right. We have been working very hard to completely redo this property and should be finished soon. Glad you had an enjoyable stay. The noise problem we found out today was that the chiller on the roof was low on water and causing that sound, it was something we had not experienced until the last few days and now we will have it resolved. We appreciate hearing from our guests so we can fix the issues. Donna Gratzfeld General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinckney, Michigan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Needed a place to stay in Sioux Falls for a night while passing through. This is amongst the least expensive places to stay, but don't let that be a deterant. This is the best deal in town. Would rate it a 5 if the new indoor pool was complete and construction was done. But the newly rennovated rooms are wonderful with great furnishings. Location is convenient to I-90 and only about 2 miles from downtown. I really like the quiet courtyard with comfortable seating on a large patio area surrounded by greenery and a waterfall. There is a fireplace and some gas grills and even saw that a bean bag game was set up for guests to use. Room comes with breakfast (6-9:30 am). This is an opportunity you should not pass up. The desk staff is also very pleasant and helpful. They really made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BandBsRGr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are glad to have met or exceeded your expectations. We know from talking to many guests that when they pull up they are concerned that they will be disturbed by the construction. It is very gratifying to hear their responses as they check out. Great Stay, clean comfortable room, good breakfast are what I heard again this morning during check out . I had 1 negative this morning and that was they would have liked to have had Silk milk, but they did enjoy their stay. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I don't get all the glowing reviews. This is the first time I was disappointed with a hotel that got seemingly
"glowing" reviews on TripAdvisor. Don't get me wrong. There was nothing "terrible" about this place, but there was also nothing great about it either.

First, as others have noted, it is an old place, currently in the process of being remodeled. No elevator at the moment (at least when we were there), which meant lugging out bags up an old, dirty stairwell. The room wasn't very big, and the bath was tiny, tiny, tiny, made even more so by a lower than standard ceiling. I'm not claustrophobic, but this made me feel that way! On the plus side, it was clean and stocked appropriately.

The beds were comfortable. Breakfast was served in a small room. While the old style refrigerator was a nice "style" feature, it FROZE the milk, which made it impossible to pour, not to mention aesthetically unappealing. It came out in clumps resembling cottage cheese. Other selections were pretty basic...a couple kinds of cereal, some make your own waffles, limited bread options for toasting, and some yogurt. Not the worst breakfast, but I've had much better in other properties.

Overall, if you are looking for "just a room", and want a cheap price, this might do the job for you. There are MANY choices in Sioux Falls, however, and I think you can do better. Just average for me.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mnrose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We know we can't make everyone happy all the time but we sure do try. I have been quite proud of our breakfast. The scrambled eggs are so flavorful and light and fluffy, the sausage gravy has lots of sausage in it. We have 4 kinds of cold of cold cereal and instant oatmeal. I don't know where you would get a better complimentary breakfast paying the room rates we charge. I am so sorry we did not meet your expectations but promise to continue to try our utmost to provide a clean comfortable room at a great price. Donna Gratzfeld, General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

In Sioux Falls for a basketball camp with my 15 year old. Made reservations here based on user reviews on trip advisor and hotels.com. It is so so at best... Maybe a good motel - seem to be in process of adding a large addition and doing some upgrades, but you can put lipstick on a pig...it's still a pig. Tried to check in at the allowed time at 3:00 but room wasn't ready. The front desk checked in w house keeping to confirm it wasn't ready..and it sounded like the cleaner wasn't even currently on site. The hallway carpet was old and in desperate need of cleaning. The rooms looked remodeled, but ours (247) had a smell to it. TV is undersized for current market. Bathroom had been redone, but the door was out of square and you needed to use your shoulder to close it. Bathroom ceiling was a drop ceiling with a big water stain....seeing as we were in the 2nd/top floor, I assume it is a roof leak....in any event, both the drop ceiling, ceiling stain and door that won't close - on top of the smell - makes this a turn off. The breakfast was ok...but get some fresh biscuits that are keep warm for the biscuits and gravy...also, get toasters that take less than 5 minutes to warm (much less toast) a muffin. Pay $10 extra to stay somewhere legitimate. I will not be back...it's a motel with lipstick!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Len M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. we appreciate an honest assessment of our hotel. I am a little surprised about some of your comments . The room 247 you stayed in was just done 2 months ago except we hadn't changed the bathroom door yet. It definitely needs replacing. Maybe the funny smell was the new paint, carpet, drapes, bedding and furniture. I do apologize for that. New 32 inch TV's are in all double rooms and 37 inch are in kings . The ceiling tile did have a waterspot on it , we have had a lot of rain ,14 inches this month ,and all the humidity caused condensation on the water pipes above. I am so sorry we didn't catch that before you checked in. It was repaired today I am truly sorry we didn't meet your expectations but we will continue to try to provide a clean comfortable room at a reasonable price. Thank you , Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Very pleasant stay, courtyard was nice and inviting. Will definitely stay the next time we come through town. Can't wait to see the finished pool! The room was very clean with new fixtures and updates.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you so much for your nice review. We are happy that we were able to meet your expectations. We are also looking for the completion of the project. Each day brings us a little closer. Hoping to have the arcade and guest laundry open the 3rd of July. Hope to see you again soon. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homosassa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

When I arrived at my home location I checked my charge account balance and noticed I had been charged TWICE for my room. One charge over $10 from the other. I called the Lodge and asked for them to review the charge and issue a credit. The female at the desk said an extra $10 was added for a "hide-a-bed". I explained that I was traveling by myself! She said she would remove the $10 charge. When asked about the balance of the second charge, approx. $71.00, she said it had been removed at 9:25AM......the time I checked out!! As I used a bank debit card which shows activity on my account almost instantly...I asked if there was a confirmation number or some other form of information to show that the charge was removed. She said she didn't know if that could be done and she didn't know how to do it! The fellow who checked me out in the morning acted like he didn't know what he was doing as he kept typing something in the computer and looking at the screen. He couldn't even figure-out how to pay for my cab to the airport.....which had been promised at check-in. Would suggest anyone staying here check their charges. With all the other hotels in the area......I won't stay here again. Will have to keep on top of this to get my $89.00 back which I shouldn't have to be bothered with. Just saying........

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MemaMarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your review. I do wish you had spoken with me before you posted it though. After you called me this morning I checked into it. You were charged 70.94. The other transaction was a mistake that was corrected on your account. You had been charged the 10.95 for the taxi to the airport and when you complained about that charge the male clerk you mentioned took the whole amount of 81.89 off your credit card rather than just the taxi fare of 10.95 so that is why you saw those 2 figures than when you talked to the young lady at the hotel she saw you had not been charged anything for your room so she put in just the actual room charge with tax so that was the 70.94. I have called you 3 times today to explain this to you and could not reach you. Sorry that you were so unhappy with us. Donna Gratzfeld, General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sioux Falls hotels
1.3 mi away
Ramada Sioux Falls Airport Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel
#23 of 52 in Sioux Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
2.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Sioux Falls Sanford Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sioux Falls ClubHouse Hotel & Suites
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Empire Towers
BEST WESTERN Empire Towers
#11 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
5.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 52 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakotah Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakotah Lodge

Property: Dakotah Lodge
Address: 3200 West Russell Street, Exit 81 off I-29, Sioux Falls, SD 57107 (Formerly Brimark Inn)
Region: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dakotah Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This totally remodeled property is an all masonry construction which makes our rooms so very quiet.We have interior corridors, a beautiful courtyard with a guest barbeque grill, fireplace, waterfall with a large seating and eating area great for group gatherings. Refrigerators, microwaves,coffee makers, flat screen T.V.S in every room. Rooms have new beds either 2 queen or 1 king.We have a business center and fitness center.Complimentary hot breakfast. Indoor pool, 167 foot waterslide and kids play area. Waterpark is for registered guests only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dakotah Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing