We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Wow! Everything about our stay was perfect! We traveled in one day from northern MN to Rapid City with three children. After that day, we knew we wanted to stop midway on the way home. I am so glad we ended up at this hotel - again! We had stayed here in April 2005. My review then was just as good as this one. We rented two, adjoining rooms this time. Both were very nice, and the room with the king bed was HUGE! It was right next to the elevators, but we couldn't hear them. The best part of the week long trip for our 5 year old granddaughter was swimming at the pool at this hotel. In the morning, all six of our had delicious meals in the restaurant before starting on the journey north. The front desk and restaurant staff were both friendly and very competent. I recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zippingallaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    261
    114
    50
    13
See reviews for
167
131
39
330
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

At regular posted rates, I wouldn't have stayed here. I was just passing through and needed a bed. I got a deal for less than half of the posted rate, so I couldn't care less that there was no complimentary breakfast. I was on the ninth floor, and there was a strong thunderstorm outside, but I wouldn't have known that had I not looked out of the window. I checked in around 10pm on a Saturday night, and it was buzzing with activity downstairs at a bar/restaurant and some kind of formal party, but I slept peacefully all night. The only person I dealt with was the front desk person, and she was nice and professional. Unfortunately, its not near the interstate and you have to wind through the downtown area, but for the price I paid I didn't mind.

Room Tip: Bypass the outside parking and park in the parking deck, its convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EvaW145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Isle, Minnesota
Level Contributor
102 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We needed a room for the night and decided to use hotwire. This was the hotel we were given. I was skeptical because we've had some issues in the past with another Holiday Inn. This turned out to be one of the most comfortable and nicest rooms we've stayed in. The staff was so nice. They didn't look down on us at all because we had used Hotwire to book our room. The woman who did the check in placed us in a King room with a micro and fridge and a huge flat screen TV. It was on the 9th floor, concierge level. Very quiet, very peaceful and they even had a cold continental breakfast in the concierge lounge the next morning.

The bed was heavenly!! One of the best beds we've slept in at any hotel chain. We asked for and received a late check out. We were able to sleep in because the blackout curtains do what they are supposed to...and the floor was so quiet it was impossible to stay awake. Internet was fast and strong. Really nice selection of TV channels, including three different HBO channels and pay per view movies (we didn't try those).

We enjoyed this room so much, we reserved another night a couple days later, for the last night of our trip. They gave us the exact same room again, and the staff (several new faces), once again, went out of their way to make us feel welcome and very special. I highly recommend this Holiday Inn in Sioux Falls. If you stay here, you won't be sorry and will probably walk away with a smile on your face, just like we did.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to ask for the type room you need (we requested and received a king bed). The sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flowerladytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cottonwood, mn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

At 6:30 a.m. We were awaken by a dumpster being unloaded ...then a semi unloading freight...then, another dumpster being unloaded. The hotel was not full and didn't request or need a handicapped room, but we were put on second floor in a handicapped room overlooking the garbage area. We could have touched the trucks from our balcony. We complained about the noise to the front desk, and they said 'Sorry, guys.'

Room Tip: Stay away from the garbage and freight area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevenandhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
We certainly apologize for the refuse company coming so early in the morning. The normal pickup times are after 10 a.m. to minimize any noise issues. We have reiterated the importance of this for those rooms located in close proximity to that area. Please reach out to me during your next visit to Sioux Falls as I would be pleased to take care of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boardman, Ohio
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We were driving through and I "price lined" this hotel at a very good rate. We got a nicely appointed king room with a balcony on the 8th floor. The room was clean and well kept. There was a little dampness in front of the balcony on the carpet. It didn't smell.

The pool area is very nice. It's open until 12 but until 10 for children. There is also a nice spa area.

There is also a restaurant. It wasn't nearly as expensive as many hotel restaurants. Check in was easy -- the staff very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoelsCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I really liked this place - it's a classic downtown hotel at a good price. Rooms are clean and modern, some have balconies. Had a good time in the bar on several occasions - the crowd is lively during the week and the staff is helpful if not overly friendly (much different part of the country, so I didn't take it as rude). It's walking distance from all the downtown stuff - one evening walked to JL Beers for dinner, and usually walked up and down downtown afer work each day. There are things to do in this town if you look for them, and the good stuff seemed to be downtown which is why I stayed here. Good times.

Room Tip: THe balconies are really narrow, so if you have a problem wtih heights like I do, I wouldn't sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coolihoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Downtown Sioux Falls is an active place full of shops and restaurant options. We are pleased you enjoyed your time at our property and look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We were in Sioux Falls for a medical procedure that my wife was having done. What was going to be a short stay turned into several days due to complications. What made this bearable was the kindness expressed by the front desk at the Holiday Inn downtown. We received a handwritten get well card from the staff. Audra was especially kind and worked with us on a late check out. Thank you for being super nice to us during this difficult time. We will only stay with you anytime we visit Sioux Falls.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sioux Falls hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls Downtown
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls
1.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Sioux Falls Sanford Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sioux Falls ClubHouse Hotel & Suites
2.6 mi away
Dakotah Lodge
Dakotah Lodge
#13 of 52 in Sioux Falls
584 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sioux Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center

Property: Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center
Address: 100 W 8th St, Sioux Falls, SD 57104-6701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
#15 Family Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of vibrant & historice downtown Sioux Falls. We are a full service hotel with 290 comfortable guestrooms, complimentary airport shuttle service, a business center and fitness center. Right outside our front door you will find many unique shops and restaurants. Our convenient location offers easy access to the airport, I-90 & I-29. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sioux Falls-City Hotel Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing