We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price with clean and comfortable rooms”
Review of Days Inn Spearfish

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Days Inn Spearfish
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013

A hunting crew arrived so we were here for the long haul, 6 nights. Great rate of about $50 per night. There is a remodel going on but not too much of an inconvenience to us. Housekeeping is great and when those of us not hunting got out of the room late and missed a cleaning, the front desk was great to help us with new towels and taking out our garbage. Miles is a great member of their front desk team, very helpful and accommodating. Breakfast is the usual, but nice to have waffles, eggs, yogurt and coffee/tea is available all night. The remodel is going well, nice choices on the updates. We will stay here again if we come back to Spearfish.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back of the hotel face the highway so there is more sound, but nothing that isn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
days04293, General Manager at Days Inn Spearfish, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thanks for the great review of our hotel! Updating our hotel is a priority, so we're glad to hear it didn't affect your stay! We've just put in brand new carpets in both hallways and will continue to make renovations to keep our property up to date. Glad to hear you like our breakfast, as we are in the process of updating that, too! You're always welcome at our hotel, and we'd love to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

Nice clean quiet and comfy room. i give it a 4 due to the breakfast, why not just charge less and forget them? Very few have a good breakfast. I would stay again. Staff was friendly and helpful. They do have a grill outside if you care to use it. get a steak and grill it.

Room Tip: in summer go with rooms on east side. our ac unit did work well. it was cool in room but very hot ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
days04293, General Manager at Days Inn Spearfish, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We're glad you liked your room, as well as the grill we have available for use. So sorry to hear you did not like the breakfast - we are in the process of updating the food choices we offer. Please stay with us again, and let us know what you think of the new breakfast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Pulled in Friday night to have the front desk tell us they have given away our handicap requested room. Not only was the handicap room given away but they did not bother to call to notify us. To add insult they did not hold the room close by or adjoining so we were several doors down. Notified the front desk that this was completely unacceptable. Here's where it get's interesting. When I got to talk to the Manager on Check out she told me that it was my fault. I had booked my reservation online and that I was to call the hotel to make sure they had what we needed. So, it looks like the Days Inn in Spearfish does not allow for comments to be passed through on your internet bookings. She also told us that they only have semi handicap rooms so if you book for handicap know that this hotel is not ADA compliant but you wont find that in any marketing material. The semi handicap room we had was not a walk in shower. You'll receive no empathy from this hotel staff and be ready to be blamed for using the internet to book your room. An extremely disappointing experience. Room was reasonably priced its a shame, an apology would have gone a long way. Stephanie the manager could have handled the situation much better.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
5  Thank 78,543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
days04293, General Manager at Days Inn Spearfish, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for your review! I'm sorry that you did not receive the room you thought you had booked at my hotel, but as I told you when we spoke in person, our hotel does not have any handicap accessible rooms. There is no way that you could've booked this room online, as we simply do not have the facilities available. We did not "give your room away" to someone else, we simply did not have what you wanted. We have two semi-handicap rooms (with raised toilet seat, lowered beds, and bars in the shower) and yes, had you called the hotel prior to your stay, we could've let you know this information. Daysinn.com is a useful tool in making reservations but does not know every intricacy of our property, which is why only the room type and amenities are listed in the bookings, as they are for any Days Inn location. Again, I apologize for the confusion and hope this response finds you well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed here 3 nights. We made reservations over the phone and immediately had confirmation via email with detailed breakdown of charges, including tax. Upon arriving, we were greeted by very friendly and efficient staff. Quick check in. Large, clean room and house keeping was excellent. Great continental breakfast in the morning from 6-9 with many choices, waffle maker was the best! Rooms downstairs have interior/exterior access which made unloading/loading a breeze.
We did not realize we were missing an expensive pair of mittens until we got to our next hotel in Custer (which were desperately needed due to the drop in weather). I phoned the hotel to ask if they had been found in our room, to which the reply was positive. I had asked if the hotel could send them to our home address and bill the credit card on file. There was no hesitation in response from the staff. I told her that there was no rush. When we arrived home two days later, the mittens were in the mailbox waiting for us!
Thanks Stephanie for saving the day!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnTheGoex2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
days04293, General Manager at Days Inn Spearfish, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

I'm very happy your mittens found their way back to you! We always try to return guests' forgotten belongings, and I'm glad that this was a happy ending.

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! Please stop by again the next time you're passing through.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
days04293, General Manager at Days Inn Spearfish, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We were totally satisfied with everything involving our stay at the Comfort Inn in Spearfish, SD. The room was clean and comfortable, wifi worked well, TV was good, and we enjoyed the large selection of breakfast items.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank bonnied221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
days04293, General Manager at Days Inn Spearfish, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel! I'm happy that your stay was a positive one, as we do all we can to make sure it is that way. Please stay with us again if you're ever back in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night as we were passing thru town. They only had suites available and had a choice between a two queen suite or a king suite with a whirlpool tub for 10.00 more. I chose the room with the whirlpool since it had been a long day of traveling. The room had both an interior entrance and an exterior entrance and was huge! I have never seen a hotel room this large , even with suites. The place was like an apartment! It had a large living area with a pull out couch, a coffee table, end tables and lamps. The large dresser had a flat screen tv that could be viewed from the living area and the sleeping area. There was a wet bar set up along the back wall that had a sink, microwave, fridge, coffee maker and lots of cupboards and storage room. The bed was a king sized bed with a comfy pillow top mattress and lots of Extra pillows. Outside the bathroom was a vanity with a large mirror, sink, hair dryer and toiletries. There was a large closet between the vanity and the interior entrance door which also housed a safe and iron board and iron. The bathroom itself was huge as well with a commode and a large whirlpool tub/ shower combination with a curved shower rod to prevent the shower curtain attack. The area around the tub and shower were tiled in a very nice ceramic type tile. Outside the bathroom was a full sized mirror on the back of a door.
The rate included a continental breakfast of scrambled egg as, toast, donuts, pastries, cereal, yogurt, boiled eggs, make your own waffles and fruit.
The only problem we encountered was that the jets on the whirlpool did not work. I reported this and requested a discount of the difference between the room rate of the queen suite without a whirlpool and the room with one. The girl will contact the manager and let me know in a few days. This in no way affected my stay. I still think it was a wonderful room and would definitely recommend it, especially If you were staying a few days. It would be like a home away from home.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ginka7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
days04293, General Manager at Days Inn Spearfish, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Glad to hear that your stay at our hotel was a pleasant one! We take pride in our clean, up-to-date rooms and I'm happy that it reflected in your stay. We've double-checked our jacuzzi suite to make sure it is fully functional; we've also trained our staff on how to make sure the jets on the jacuzzi work. Please feel free to stay with us again on your next trip through!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spearfish hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Black Hills Lodge
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Convention Center
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Spearfish
Travelodge Spearfish
#7 of 14 in Spearfish
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Spearfish
Hampton Inn Spearfish
#3 of 14 in Spearfish
319 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 14 in Spearfish
149 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Crow Peak Lodge
The Crow Peak Lodge
#13 of 14 in Spearfish
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Spearfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Spearfish

Address: 240 Ryan Rd, I-90 Exit 10, Spearfish, SD 57783-1211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Price Range: £43 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Spearfish 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Days Inn of Spearfish offers the guest a home away from home atmosphere, near the downtown area of Restaurants, Fast Foods, Bowling Alley, Theater, Water Park and Recreation Center. We offer a complimentary breakfast every morning from 6-9 AM in our bright morning room. A great place to stay and an easy drive from Deadwood, Belle Fourche, Rapid City, Spearfish Canyon, Bear Butte State Park, Mount Rushmore National Memorial, Crazy Horse Memorial, Devils Tower, Custer State Park & Needles Highway, and the Badlands National Park. All ground floor rooms with secure outside and inside entrances. 24 hr coffee station in lobby, Guest Laundry. Fridges in all rooms. Non Smoking Hotel Pet Policy: Pet Friendly designated rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Spearfish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spearfish Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing