We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Spearfish
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I had a long day, and was surprised when the front desk attendant (long black hair) offered to drop the rates to something I could afford to fill rooms (it was late in the day). The bed was perhaps the most comfortable bed I have ever spent a night on, even in luxury hotels. There was an indoor hot tub and pool, coffee whenever, and a decent little breakfast. It was just the break I needed for a night, and the staff was very friendly. For the price, I would definitely go here again instead of some of the same old competitors.

Thank you!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amberenergy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry W, Owner at Travelodge Spearfish, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

It is great to read reviews like yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

We were warmly welcomed at check-in & were told of all the amenities of the hotel. The room was nice & well-maintained. The pillow-top beds were so comfortable!! We stay at a lot of hotels & these beds were terrific. Breakfast was good, with Otis Spunkmeyer muffins & hard boiled eggs as well as other hot items. We will definitely come back to the Rodeway the next time we're in Spearfish.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor with a fridge & microwave. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cherijeaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry W, Owner at Travelodge Spearfish, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

We are glad your stay was excellent with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

The upside. The hotel was clean and not out-of-repair. The location was convenient. The staff did their job.
The downside. The rate was way too high for what you get, but that's how it goes when you're staying near peak season. The noise level from the freeway is high, but if you keep your window shut it is fine. The hotel, inside and out is ugly. The breakfast was underpar. The staff needs a bit more sparkle.

Room Tip: Get a room facing away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustinTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry W, Owner at Travelodge Spearfish, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

When in Spearfish again come stay with us so we can strive to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This is very nice property. Like many mid-priced hotels (Super 8, etc.) some of them are great, some of them are dives. This one is great!

Our room (225) seemed a bit cramped for our family of 4, but we're used to that. The beds were super soft and comfy. It was very clean, the shower was hot and the water pressure was very good. We also had a fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. Please note, however, we requested those things in our reservation. The TV isn't flat screen or anything, but it's fine. 32 inches and has plenty of channels. I think they must have spent a good deal of money on the mattresses, rather than new TVs. To me, that's worth it!

The pool was clean and bright and the hot tub worked well. Our 12 year old thought it was fantastic!

The front desk staff was friendly and helpful.

My only complaint is that our neighbors kept slamming their door and it was loud and shook the walls. This isn't exactly a problem with the hotel, because the doors don't shut on their own - you have to pull them shut yourself. We just had noisy neighbors. It leads me to believe though, that it may not be the most soundproof hotel if there were a lot of rowdy guests.

For the price, I would certainly stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljbeethoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry W, Owner at Travelodge Spearfish, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

It was great that you liked our hotel and we now have flat screen T.V's, next time here in Spearfish stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

When we first pulled up and walked inside I felt like I was back in the nineties. The decor, pool, TVs and rooms are all generally outdated. The beds are very comfy, and the rooms very clean. Although the first room we stayed in had a smell so we had to switch rooms. My room lacked a fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. In the end I would say this is very clean, but I wouldn't go again until they get the rooms and decor into the 21st century.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickolasq12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We had a great experience staying at this Rodeway Inn. I would normally not book at a Rodeway, but this property is exceptional. The room was clean and the staff was very kind. I had a small problem with the first room and they promptly remedied the problem. I talked with Larry the owner the next day and he was very pleasant. He takes great pride in his property and has won several awards from Choice hotels. Do not miss dinner at the ROMA Restaurant next door. This combination of eat and sleep represents Spearfish well!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Biggydsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

To be honest, when we pulled in, we weren't sure what to think but we were pleasantly surprised! The staff was patient, helpful and accommodating! The room was clean, the bed comfortable and it was quiet. Also there was a nice little continental breakfast. The only complaints would be outdated TV and sink was a little clogged but neither would discourage us from staying again!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honeymoon061513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spearfish hotels
1.9 mi away
Best Western Black Hills Lodge
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Convention Center
2.3 mi away
The Crow Peak Lodge
The Crow Peak Lodge
#12 of 14 in Spearfish
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 14 in Spearfish
149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Spearfish
Hampton Inn Spearfish
#3 of 14 in Spearfish
329 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Spearfish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Spearfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Spearfish

Address: 2275 E Colorado Blvd, Spearfish, SD 57783-3200 (Formerly Rodeway Inn & Suites Spearfish)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Price Range: £40 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Spearfish 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Spearfish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Spearfish
Spearfish Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing