We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks most of the boxes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bell's Motor Lodge Motel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Firstly I would like to give thanks to Scott for being so welcoming and helpful on our arrival - he gave us great recommendations for what to do and where to eat in the time we were there. Proprietors such as Scott are an asset to their businesses and we were grateful to find such a kind host in an unfamiliar town.

The room was clean and the bed very comfy. Yes the furniture was possibly a little dated but it was all serviceable and well looked after. The shower whilst a little short (I'm 5'4" and had to bend slightly) was powerful and easy enough to fathom. For the price we were happy enough.

I couldn't comment on the coffee/breakfast facilities or the pool as we had an early start and only stayed one night therefore didn't take advantage of them. Minor downside for us is the wifi signal was very weak but at about $47 a night to stay here it wasn't a deal breaker by any means. We would definitely stay here again if visiting Spearfish.

The motel is within an easy walk to the Main Street and shops/restaurants and we had a quiet nights sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loungefly_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott S, Owner at Bell's Motor Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

We have installed four wi fi signal sources in an effort to make the signal strong in each room. If your signal is weak, please do not hesitate to contact the attendant so we can reset that particular router. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

We tend to stay in motels when road tripping since they cost half of what a chain hotel costs. The rooms were clean, and we had no problems other than the owner telling us we had to go back to our rooms at 10:30 rather than sitting outside on a beautiful night talking to some new friends. The next day we heard one of the couples had to move to another room because they people in the room next to them were loud enough they kept them awake. So much for taking the party back to the room! Other than that, no problems.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott S, Owner at Bell's Motor Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

On warm summer evenings it is pleasant to sit outside the rooms and visit. My only concern is for guests in the next room wishing to sleep. An option is for guests to visit outside at a location away from sleeping neighbors. I am happy to have guests use the chairs around the pool for late night visiting. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We expected to have to pay top dollar for a motel in the week leading up to Sturgis but luckily for us Scott is a decent bloke. There was no premium rate. The rooms are cosy, but clean. The desk girl was really nice and we felt like we were part of the family. There's no frills here, no breakfast and patchy wi fi, but still a bargain given the time of year. great little café across the road on Elgin, Green Bean, was good breakfast and dinner place.

Room Tip: Don't pick a room near the road it can get quite noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott S, Owner at Bell's Motor Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

One of our buildings has two guest rooms bordering Main Street. Those rooms are exposed to the most traffic noise. We use these rooms last; but some days in the summer we occupy every room. When I personally check a guest into one of these two rooms, I first take the guest to the room so we can listen to the traffic together. We have an air conditioner in each room that provides background noise. But for light sleepers it may be best to find a different room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

My husband had an appointment at the nearby VA hospital so I decided to come along with our 2 kids and very large dog.
Found the motel on trip advisor and it was all and more
Because my husband wasn't feeling well, the kids and I had a ball. First going to the local water park ($6 to get in :)) there was a huge arts festival in the park and finally swimming in the motels small but crystal outdoor pool.
The owner was so polite and gave us several recommendations for dinner. Also good.
We have traveled several times to the black hills during tourist season and paid well over $200 for a room. Going to make this retro little place our resting place from now on. Note to other travelers there is no hair dryer or coffee pot. But so well worth it

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goodfoodgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott S, Owner at Bell's Motor Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

We have several coffee pots, hair dryers, curling irons, alarm clocks, and clothes irons availble in the office for guests who can use such items. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Stayed at the beginning of the tourist season for several nights and were even given a free night by Scott, the owner. Very clean rooms just a bit on the small side. No road noise. Very good dining close by. There is parking for large trailers available in the back lot. We all felt very welcome. Yes, the walls are just a tad bit thin.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott S, Owner at Bell's Motor Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Our rooms are on the small side. But we have four sizes to choose from. One full bed. One queen bed. Two full beds. Two queen beds or kitchenette. Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This was a nice surprise. Clean, well equipped kitchen, good central location. Owner? or the nice man who checked us in was very pleasant. Gave great places to have breakfast close by. Walls were a bit thin but for the price it was a good stay. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alaska0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

The rooms are clean and comfortable. Nothing fancy, but the rooms do have a small refrigerator and a microwave. Can't beat the price and Scott, the owner, is very friendly and helpful. The walls are thin, so don't be surprised when you hear your neighbors.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spearfish hotels
0.5 mi away
The Crow Peak Lodge
The Crow Peak Lodge
#12 of 14 in Spearfish
125 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Black Hills Lodge
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Spearfish
Travelodge Spearfish
#8 of 14 in Spearfish
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Convention Center
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Spearfish
Hampton Inn Spearfish
#3 of 14 in Spearfish
322 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 14 in Spearfish
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell's Motor Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell's Motor Lodge Motel

Address: 230 N Main St, Spearfish, SD 57783-2718
Region: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Price Range: £32 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bell's Motor Lodge Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family owned motel on one level with parking in front of your room. We pride ourselves in providing a clean and comfortable room at an affordable price. We have a small outdoor pool, AC, and free internet access. Some pet friendly rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Bell's Motor Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing