We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Creekside room! How cool!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spearfish
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spearfish Creek Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Spearfish B&B and Inns
Arkansas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Creekside room! How cool!”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We read good reviews about this place, and were not disappointed. It is not fancy, but was very clean and everything worked well. The price was good also, and Rachelle, the manager, was nice and helpful.
The best part was that it is located right on Spearfish Creek, which flows through town. There is a paved bikeway that runs between the Inn and the Creek, but nothing else between you and the water. You can open your window and listen to the burbling water all night. We went out and walked the bikeway that evening, and it follows the Creek. Very nice.
Be sure to drive Spearfish Canyon, and don't miss the waterfalls on the road. Roughnock Falls and Spearfish Falls are the best, and they are both right near the Spearfish Lodge, which is several miles from the city of Spearfish.

Room Tip: Ask for a room along the creek. 120 is the very best, being the closest to the Creek!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eet2live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    10
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kenmore, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We were a bit disappointed with the Spearfish Creek Inn after reading the positive reviews on trip advisor. There is no breakfast provided so don’t think this is a B & B. The room cleanliness was average but the rug was filthy with stains and ground-in dirt – we wore our shoes in the room. We were given a conventional key which is certainly quaint but not very secure and unusual in today’s motel industry. Privacy is a bit compromised due to the configuration of the room and the location of windows on both sides of the bed. The creek was very nice but we felt uncomfortable leaving the window open to take advantage of the great sound of the creek because there is a public walkway located between the rooms and the creek. The television set was tiny for the room size and was an older standard definition set. This is a basically a place to sleep when traveling from place to place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mustangkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Happened upon this place looking for reasonable lodging in the Black Hills area off I90 on way Montana- what a great find! Clean, refrig, microwave, allows pet, near creek for nature walk and close to restaurants, also has all pool. Spearfish clean nice city too. Stay here. Not a B&B, so not sure why it is in this category. No Internet but for the price we paid ($50 and $5 for our small dog) for a queen bed, we were very happy.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tfehlhaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I love this motel, service is wonderful, creek is beautiful, its affordable, and close! Clean rooms, and quiet... Wish we would of found this place ealier!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junfanjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

In April 2011, I was making an emergency trip to ND to help out a family member who was dealing with serious health issues. I called Spearfish Creek Inn because I had stayed there previously on a group motorcycle trip in June 2010 and was really pleased with the entire experience. I couldn't drive the entire way to ND because of weather conditions and I called Manuela, the motel manager, at the last minute looking for a place to wait out the storm raging to the north. I was given a room overlooking Spearfish Creek and the riverwalk. The room was spotless and very roomy. A great restaurant, Sanford's, is only two blocks away easy walking distance. In the morning, I headed north under blue skies and a totally white landscape. On my return trip, I again stayed at the Spearfish Creek Inn. I have stayed there a total of seven times over the years and it has always been quiet, clean and the location is wonderful.

Room Tip: A single or a couple should ask for the rooms overlooking Spearfish Creek. Two men or women should a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mac_on_the_Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

This was the best deal I found for the money on a recent trip to the Black Hills. It's run by very nice people. They actually undercharged me and wouldn't allow me to pay the difference. Even at full price it's a bargain! If you like the sound of water then request a creekside room in the summer, when you can open the window and plainly hear the Spearfish River. The room has everything someone would want, and it's away from the noise of the traffic too. There's a path by the river that's fun to walk. Great place!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enduro338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We just spent two nights at the Spearfish Creek Inn. Had one of the rooms that look out onto Spearfish Creek and it's paved trail. Room was clean and a good value. No pool, free breakfast or wifi, but at this price point, you don't expect that. Room had a fridge. There is a microwave in the office you can use.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Extradish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spearfish
0.6 mi away
Best Western Black Hills Lodge
0.0 mi away
The Crow Peak Lodge
The Crow Peak Lodge
#13 of 14 in Spearfish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Spearfish
Hampton Inn Spearfish
#3 of 14 in Spearfish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Convention Center
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 14 in Spearfish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spearfish Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spearfish Creek Inn

Property: Spearfish Creek Inn
Address: 450 West Kansas, Spearfish, SD 57783-1929
Region: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Spearfish
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come relax by the creek! We are a small motel right off the main roads, but still within walking distance of the Spearfish's main streets. Tucked away in a quiet location, and the Spearfish Creek runs right behind the motel! Our staff is friendly and willing to help with whatever we can! If you're looking for a not-so-pricey and quaint place to stay, then call us and book a room! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spearfish Creek Hotel Spearfish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing