We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place some issues”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spearfish
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Elkhorn Ridge RV Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

On the website it says everyone has firepits and WiFi. When actually just a few firepits scattered out. As for the WiFi good luck if you do get connected it loses service every few minutes. With bad cell service here the WiFi I was expecting didn't happen. On a positive note very clean, kid friendly and very modern with an outstanding general store. Great pool and BB court and tennis court with nice walking path. They do show family movies on Thursdays. Staff was outstanding!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank RTH59105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

On the website it says everyone has firepits and WiFi. When actually just a few firepits scattered out. As for the WiFi good luck if you do get connected it loses service every few minutes. With bad cell service here the WiFi I was expecting didn't happen.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank joepatt79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I and our 3 children rented one of the large cabins here for a night. Darling little place fully furnished with kitchen, loft, 2 bedrooms, bathroom and tiny living room. Great pool, cute little playground, dog park, tennis courts, basketball court, quiet, clean, safe. Staff was very friendly and helpful, even patiently waiting for my boys to finish showering after the pool closed. We loved it here and I highly recommend it!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank hikethat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

One of the nicest resort we have been in. The park was clean and big, the shower house was nice and private and spacious. The staff was helpful and friendly. Hope to stay there again soon. They have most everything that a traveler would need. So if your in the black hills of South Dakota give Elkhorn Ridge a look.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Rod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Have been to South Dakota several times and stayed in other parks but this park was unbelievable. Management and Staff went out of their way to accommodate us like we were family. The park was beautiful, grass mowed, clean level concrete pads, nice laundry room big washers and hot dryers, the restrooms and showers were immaculate, there is also a dog park for small dogs and large dogs that is separated by a fence but it is a great outlet for the pets to get exercise as we travel with two yorkies and they even enjoyed it, this campground should be rated with a 12, it is that nice, it is probably one of the nicest I have ever stayed in and my husband and I stayed there for a week. There is a pool and hot tubs that are there if you choose to use the facilities. There is everything you need in the office as far a groceries if you were to get in a storm as they do have storms there and some of them are unexpected. They have a mini restaurant as well that has awesome breakfast burritos and biscuts and gravy, and the best coffee in the world. We definitely will be going back in the future. We just came back from there and I certainly hope people that read trip advisor don't always read the bad reviews as they aren't always true and these come from one bad experience, people that camp usually are prepared for most anything but there is nothing I can say that is bad about this place check it out its great and if you have a larger RVs they can accommodate you, and I'm ready to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank janice w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Professionally laid out park with concrete pads, multiple dump points on each site to suit any length rig, good internet, cable, spotless restrooms and space between each lot. This is how and RV park should be laid out. The best I have seen in 3 continents. Well done

Room Tip: See the modern world of RV camping
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This is in no way a "Resort", the staff is so disconnected from the "corporate management" it's sad. As myself and fellow "resort" guests are still trapped with no food, water, or electricity after 3 days of a snow storm - we see the roads open in the distance and everyone else back traveling. Worried "resort guests" made numerous calls for the past several days to reach out for help and were transferred to "corporate" but received no response. In desperation the police department and fire department were reached out to. Fellow guests did a wellness check themselves on the campers to be sure everyone was at least still surviving. Calls were made to the maintenance staff, and were told to "let THEM know" if anything changes... Don't waste your time, or money. The worst experience EVER! Still to be determined if they will hire someone to help us out of here....

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank YesItsTrueTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spearfish hotels
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Convention Center
6.4 mi away
Days Inn Spearfish
Days Inn Spearfish
#2 of 14 in Spearfish
423 reviews
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Spearfish
Travelodge Spearfish
#7 of 14 in Spearfish
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Best Western Black Hills Lodge
3.6 mi away
Super 8 Spearfish
Super 8 Spearfish
#4 of 14 in Spearfish
458 reviews
6.1 mi away
Bell's Motor Lodge Motel
Bell's Motor Lodge Motel
#5 of 14 in Spearfish
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elkhorn Ridge RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elkhorn Ridge RV Resort

Address: 20189 US Highway 85, Spearfish, SD 57783-3312
Region: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Spearfish
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elkhorn Ridge RV Resort is located in the beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota. It is the perfect place for your family vacation as well as reunions, wedding receptions & other gatherings! Amenities: 186 Full Hookup RV Sites & 36 Fully Furnished Cabin sites, outdoor heated pool, kiddy pool, 2 hot tubs, lighted tennis, volleyball & basketball courts, horseshoe pits, free internet, cable TV, fire pits, 20/30/50 Amp at each site, 2 shower houses, full laundry facilities, fenced Dog park with separate areas for small & large dogs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing