We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome beauty!”

Spearfish Canyon Scenic Byway
Ranked #2 of 21 things to do in Spearfish
Certificate of Excellence
Tavares, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome beauty!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

So beautiful! Be sure and travel to all 4 Falls! We just loved the drive with spectacular scenery! Make sure you take time to experience this beauty and be sure to stop in Deadwood!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    481
    106
    19
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SOURIS
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Scenic Drive”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Very picturesque leisurely drive! Be sure to take your camera as there are waterfalls along the way and sites for amazing photo shots.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank WilmaWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very Beautiful”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We drove this on our way to Devil's Tower, from Custer SD. It was actually an accidental discovery for us. The day we visited Deadwood, they were having a parade and the roads were closed. The person at the detour told us the route, and we were very very pleased? Who would have thunk it?

A very scenic and pleasurable drive. The height of the canyon walls were amazing, and the falls themselves pretty. The water was so clear we could see fish swimming.

What was really something was the road followed the river that cut this canyon.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JChtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Mn
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great scenery”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I always enjoy cruising up this canyon. The roads are windy and
scenic and there are a couple of nice stops along the way. Don't
miss the falls.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patrick4375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baker, Montana
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Definately worth the drive. Mother Natures beauty is breathtaking. Many photo ops along the way. The colors, the smells, the sounds, it's all just wonderful.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Averke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spearfish Canyon Scenic Byway also viewed

 

Been to Spearfish Canyon Scenic Byway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing