We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Black Hills Lodge
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stay here if you get the chance, you'll love it! Friendly staff, fabulous décor, I can't say enough good things about this place! The wine and beer bar was great and we met really nice people during our stay. The rooms were spotless and the beds were very comfortable. Location was easy to find and the rates were very reasonable. There was plenty of information available regarding activities in and around Spearfish, and the staff was extremely helpful and very friendly. We were wishing that we could spend more time there but we were moving from Washington state to Wisconsin and were on a tight schedule. It was a great place to unwind and relax for awhile. The lodge reminded us of the house we had just sold in the Cascade foothills of Washington state. They also have fleece jackets and sweatshirts for sale that are a great value and high quality. I would also recommend that you pick up some of the seasoning salt (Rick's Salt) which is great on just about anything, and also reasonably priced! There are gas stations and grocery stores close to the lodge and it is worth paying a visit to this hotel!.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, Owner at Best Western Black Hills Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Wow that's quite a compliment! Thank you so much for the review and telling us about how much you enjoyed it. I have relayed the comments and compliments to those that were working when you stayed with us. It's important they know what you thought. we always work hard at those two very important things - cleanliness and friendliness. and we just added the lounge last summer and new pillowtop beds about a year ago....it sounds like they are a hit! :)
Seeing that you have written so many reviews and think highly of us, this means even more.
Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

We traveled for a wrestling tournament- stayed in the family room due to our large group. Returning after the first tournament- the toilet handle broke and we were immediately moved into the suite. Breakfast was good. Beds comfortable. Staff is amazing. As a business professional and busy family that travels frequently- we highly recommend this lodge. We look forward to booking with them again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Janessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, Owner at Best Western Black Hills Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and recommendation for our hotel...it sounds like even though something went wrong in your room, that you enjoyed your stay. I don't know if you'll be returning to Spearfish for the upcoming Black Hills Nationals wrestling, but if you do, we'll be here.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

While my stay was focused on a Hospital stay for my wife's surgery, the Hotel was close to the Hospital, the lounge was very nice and I could walk right next door to a very nice restaurant which made it even nicer. It was quiet and comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel especially if you are traveling with a small pet. Staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, Owner at Best Western Black Hills Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you Kenneth. I'm glad your stay at our hotel was enjoyable. Most people mention our location next to things they need - i.e.restaurant and convenience store - but always glad to be here for those of you coming to medical facilities in Spearfish. Please know (if you don't yet) that we also have a newer dog park a few blocks away too if you come back with your dog again. Thanks again.
Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Booked 2 nights here very recently. Thought it would be very typical, and for the most part is was, except a few exceptional extras. Room was nice, clean, presentable. Staff was exceptionally friendly, helpful. and bent over backwards to make sure EVERYTHING was good. Breakfast was when the extras started popping. The usual waffle machine, but they had strawberries (OK, probably frozen/thawed, but still . . .) and whipped cream (yes, from a spray can, but it was cream). Real newspapers to read, etc. etc., but then the price! about half what I paid on the other side of town about 2 months before, and they were not as nice, good, clean, or helpful. If you have a choice at this price point (+/- $25), this is were you want to be. Also close to restaurant, liquor store, grocery store, and downtown is close.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spearchuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, Owner at Best Western Black Hills Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Thank you for your review - AND for staying with us recently. We know you have a choice of hotels, that's why we "bend over backwards" as you said. Plus it's just fun to be helpful :) You mentioned the grocery store a few blocks away - I had forgotten about how much that can mean when traveling! Thanks. Have a Wonderful Holiday Season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

While traveling recently, we stayed at the Best Western - Black Hills Lodge. The facility was easy to locate coming off the freeway, and was clean and welcoming. The room was spacious and provided both internal and external access. With several food choices within walking distance, this made for an excellent overnight option for travelers in the Northern Black Hills.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, Owner at Best Western Black Hills Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Thank you Goodmedicine. It seems like you enjoyed some of the conveniences that many of our guests mention. I appreciate you taking the time. Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

While on business, I stayed at the Best Western Black Hills Lodge in Spearfish, South Dakota. Our room was exceptionally clean and very comfortable. The bed was super comfy and I sleep very well. Staff was very helpful and made a number of excellent suggestions for entertainment and food. Checkout was smooth. Breakfast was hot and super good. I would stay here anytime!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank happygardener1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, Owner at Best Western Black Hills Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear happygardener1988, thank you for the great review! Your kind words and details about your stay will be conveyed to the staff tomorrow by me personally. This is what we strive for - glad you enjoyed it. ...and we would love to have you back any time too!
Bill C, Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This was easy to find off Interstate 90. When we checked in the desk clerk was on the phone with a customer, but acknowledged us several times. He was very customer friendly, which both my husband and I appreciate very much. Our room was very roomy and comfortable. The breakfast the next morning was just fine. The desk clerk in the morning was very friendly and enjoyable. She also was in charge of the breakfast. I would recommend this this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jettyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, Owner at Best Western Black Hills Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Jettyann, thank you for such a nice review. We appreciate you taking the time, as well as the compliments. As I mentioned to another guest with a recent review, I will take these comments and pass on directly to the hotel staff in person. They like reading or hearing about the good stuff like this - it's what we hope to hear.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spearfish
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Convention Center
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Spearfish
Hampton Inn Spearfish
#3 of 14 in Spearfish
319 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 14 in Spearfish
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Spearfish
9.6 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 25 in Deadwood
576 reviews
11.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Belle Fourche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Black Hills Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Black Hills Lodge

Address: 540 E Jackson Blvd, Spearfish, SD 57783-2204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Price Range: £51 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Black Hills Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Black Hills Lodge offers all the comforts for business or family travel. This Black Hills hotel with freshly renovated rooms (2017) includes a seasonal and privately located outdoor heated pool, free high-speed Internet access, is 100% non-smoking, and a winner of the Best of the Best in Customer Care. In addition to this award-winning property is the Lookout Lounge, offering guests a taste of local craft beer and fine wine, casual conversation, and TV sports all in a relaxing environment after a long day of traveling. A complimentary breakfast is provided each morning with additional options for dairy and gluten free diets. The Black Hills Lodge is conveniently located directly off Interstate 90, within walking distance of downtown Spearfish, and closely accesses local shopping/grocery stores. It is also just over a mile from beautiful Spearfish Canyon Scenic Byway and only minutes from many hiking, biking, skiing, snowshoeing, and snowmobiling trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Black Hills Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Spearfish
Spearfish Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing