We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typically Good Stay At BW”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Black Hills Lodge
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Typically Good Stay At BW”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Comfortable, clean, and welcome stay at this BW inn after a drive thru Wyoming and SE Montana. Well appointed and maintained and VERY reasonably priced even at peak summer hours. would easily stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank riajamw1469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    140
    63
    15
    5
See reviews for
127
119
20
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, IL, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I love the community, the area, and specifically this motel. Special was: It was next to an excellent family diner which made meal selection easy. There was an intimate bar at the hotel which provided several hours of good company and conversation.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Donald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, Owner at Best Western Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review, 2 December 2014
Dear Donald P, thank you for your great review. You mentioned my two favorite things - the restaurant next door and our hotel bar (Lookout Lounge). When I travel that is what I look for after a clean hotel. Thanks again. Please stop again if you are ever in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rahway, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Our first time at this BW but definitely not the last. Great Staff, clean rooms, awesome pool, nice lounge ,ample parking. A little expensive but well worth the money. Spearfish is a nice little town with a lot a great places to eat & of course Spearfish Canyon to ride thru.. t was only a 15 minute ride to Sturgis, 20 minutes to Deadwood and we even went into Wyoming in less than a 1/2 hour.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Pat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, Owner at Best Western Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review, 2 December 2014
Dear Pat T, Thank you so much for writing an awesome review of our hotel. Sounds like you will probably be back for the Sturgis Rally again! :) Please stay with us if you do. What a week the 75th will be!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Petersberg, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My third year in arow at this hotel and it gets better everytime. The staff is helpfull and the property itself is located in a perfect area blocks from downtown Spearfish. The pool is clean the parking lot has room for trailers and cars and of course motorcycles and is well lit at night for security reasons.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Allen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, Owner at Best Western Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review, 2 December 2014
Thanks for your kinds words and great review. We are always excited for Sturgis Rally week! Best time of the year and our best guests are here that week. Look forward to seeing you in 2015 for the 75th!! -hope you plan to come. .... ask for me if you do, would like to meet you. Thanks again. Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for one night in late July as a stopover from our Black Hills trip. Our family of four (2 adults and 2 teenagers) found the hotel okay- guess we weren't expecting the Hilton in Spearfish. The hotel is decent, the bar is cozy, and the plus is the first floor rooms allow the cars to park right up to the door (great for unloading). My wife liked the close proximity of the hotel to a running trail. The pool is small, but outside and nice. The hotel bar is a bit small, but clean and our bartender was local and friendly (if pressed for conversation). Overall I'd recommend- the price was fair for what we received.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank PackAttack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, Owner at Best Western Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review, 2 December 2014
Thank you PackAttack (I hope that's the Packers - I'm a fan!) You provided numerous comments here that we like - especially the proximity to some recreation trails. There's the trail up Lookout Mountain just a couple blocks away, and the other direction (west 6-7 blocks) is Spearfish Creek with miles of running/bike path, so not sure which she did, but yeah those are great. Thanks for all your mentions of the other things you enjoyed here. Please stop again if you are coming through. PS - we're right at halfway between Devils Tower and Mt. Rushmore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

the people were great and very accommodating. we got there one night earlier and they were able to get us in a room. the next morning we got into our right room and it was pleasant. the ac was hard to shut off.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, Owner at Best Western Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review, 2 December 2014
People are the difference. It is always our top priority to serve you as our guest and so we try to find the best people to work for us, that know what excellent is and how to make our guests want to come back. Thanks for your comments. Please stop again when in Spearfish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raton
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Rooms were clean, food was good and the staff was FANTASTIC!! The late check in went off without any problems and the checkout was even easier. Close to Interstate, but no noise and the pool was awesome.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank NMDAVID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, Owner at Best Western Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review, 2 December 2014
Thank you so much for writing a review. I'm glad to hear you and your group enjoyed the hotel and amenities, and of course had great service from our staff. But I'm especially happy to hear this from you since it was your wedding weekend. Congratulations to you and BEST WISHES!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spearfish hotels
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Spearfish
Hampton Inn Spearfish
#4 of 14 in Spearfish
295 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Convention Center
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 14 in Spearfish
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Spearfish
2.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Spearfish
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Spearfish
Travelodge Spearfish
#9 of 14 in Spearfish
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Black Hills Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Black Hills Lodge

Property: Best Western Black Hills Lodge
Address: 540 E Jackson Blvd, Spearfish, SD 57783-2204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Black Hills Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Black Hills of South Dakota, about halfway between Mount Rushmore National Memorial and Devils Tower National Monument, the Best Western Black Hills Lodge in Spearfish, South Dakota is near Interstate 90 at Exit 12. Highly ranked on TripAdvisor in Spearfish the past couple years, you'll love the clean rooms with up to date amenities, the nice outdoor pool area and our Lookout Lounge and patio. Find shopping at our quaint downtown stores and a host of great restaurants nearby, including a 24-hour Millstone next door. With most Black Hills attractions 7-70 minutes away in several directions, we make a great stop along the way or as a week-long vacation headquarters. You will be most pleased with our hospitality and service - they are second to none in the area. We wish you safe travels always! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Black Hills Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Spearfish
Spearfish Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing