We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great cheese dip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barbacoa's

Barbacoa's
Ranked #12 of 58 Restaurants in Spearfish
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
72 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great cheese dip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

I haven't tried their burritos but they seem to be a HUGE hit since the few times I went, they had a pretty long line of people..speedy service too...I'm just stuck on that fabulous cheese dip.. ^_^

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank chulaboriqua79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    16
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spearfish, South Dakota, USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not Fast Food, But Fast Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Order own mix of ingredients in either a burrito or as a rice bowl. Pick from chicken, beef, pork, chili with many choices of beans, cheeses, salsas, veggies. Comfortable dining area to enjoy some of the best tex-mex you design yourself. Have fun.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank spearfishpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spearfish, South Dakota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everybody and My Dog Likes This Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Pup and I eat here at least once or twice a month. He knows where we are as soon as we drive up. I've never had a bad burrito, rice bowl or salad. They have tons of veggies, and all ingredients are fresh and tasty. Pup does have to wait in the car, but most of the long term staff know me, and only have to ask whether he wants steak or chicken. His little nose starts going as soon as I open the car door, and he can hardly wait until we disembark and are settled in front of our respective repasts. I always have to make two meals from my burrito, I swear they are almost as big as footballs.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Dakota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food for a great price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

You pick the ingredients, they build you the biggest burrito ever! I thought that for my family of 4 it was very reasonably priced!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank smith11952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Our gamble paid off”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

My wife and I prefer going the tried-and-true route, but after a morning in Spearfish Canyon on the 16th we were feeling adventurous and decided to try this place based on the name (and my craving for something burrito-esque). We were not at all disappointed! The place has a pleasant vibe with lots of colorful chalkboards. It was clean and modern. The best part was the scope of the menu -- burritos, wraps, thai food and more. So much to choose from. You could go every day for many weeks and not have the same thing twice. I had a chicken burrito and it was so big I couldn't finish it. (I consider this a good thing -- large portions!) My wife had a taco and chips with guacamole. We enjoyed everything and would definitely come here often if we lived locally. As it is, we recommend it to tourists and locals alike. Tasty food, pleasant and helpful staff, good vibe and good to support a local business.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jdowner76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barbacoa's also viewed

 

Been to Barbacoa's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing