We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spearfish Delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Barbacoa's

Barbacoa's
Ranked #12 of 57 Restaurants in Spearfish
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Absarokee, Montana
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Spearfish Delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

There are similar burrito / bowl type of joints in many towns, but this one really stands out. The menu is nice, the place smells great. Service if very friendly. We had two burritos and a bowl. Everything was good. Pork with Green Chile sauce was excellent. The Coriander shrimp were great. Blackened salmon was not blackened, but was otherwise great.
One real treat: the honey habanero brownies. They were cooked to perfection and were outstanding.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MontanaCyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    16
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
359 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Freebirds of South Dakota”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Really good make-your-own burrito bar. Really quality ingredients and friendly staff. Great homemade ice cream too!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BevoBurn96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spearfish, South Dakota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Incredibly awesome burritos!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

One of our favorite places in town. Think Chipotle and bring it to a Mom & Pop restaurant. The barbacoa beef burrito is my personal fave. Yum!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jangerkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great lunch in Spearfish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Quality of food was great and my grilled salmon rice bowl was delicious. The employees helping us were very nice. Portion sizes could be a little bigger- we had the chips and queso and didn't have enough chips to finish our little cup of queso.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ANGELA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrytown, NE
Level Contributor
67 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worth Stopping In”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

In Spearfish for an indoor soccer tournament for the weekend, we were growing tired of fast food burgers. We decided to give this little place a try before the drive back to Nebraska. I'm glad we did. I'm a huge fan of Qdoba and I used to like Chipolte before they got all political with boy scouts, and this place is in the same vein. Huge burritos/wraps featuring tons of rice with beans, meat and veggies. I found the rice a touch bland (the only reason I didn't give 5 stars), but overall a very positive big burrito experience. I like the decor and feel of the place. Didn't feel to me like I was walking into a strip mall shop. And they had a bottle of sriracha by the pop machine... and you could use as much as you want... which was a definite bonus :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdventurerRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barbacoa's also viewed

 

Been to Barbacoa's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing