We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Spearfish
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Crystal Lake, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to stay”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Clean, Friendly and helpful staff, and the pool even has a slide for the kids. Not only were we greeted by a friendly and helpful staff but they even checked back with us later to see if there was anything else they could do. Directing us to the best pizza in town was a plus. Couldn't ask for a better place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    84
    35
    22
    22
See reviews for
106
120
13
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We were traveling through on our road trip and were tired of driving and sightseeing and this hotel was in a good spot for us to pick up on our sightseeing the next day. I am a Hilton Honors member so this was a good choice to get me more points. The price was a little higher than I wanted to pay at the time, yet I was tired so we stayed anyway. The room was okay and seemed clean on a first glance, then I realized it could have been better. It wasn't anything major but I didn't like that I found a wad of gum on the floor and in the corner of the bathroom there was a hairball. I have been in some really disgusting hotel rooms so this stuff wasn't that bad.
I did walk down to the pool area and the pool was ice cold, I stuck my feet in for awhile and it felt refreshing for a bit but then my feet froze. Even the two kids that came in while I was there commented on how cold it was. There was a water slide but it looked like it was just for little kids. The hot tub was broken. The breakfast in the morning was decent and standard to a Hampton Inn. I did enjoy the beautiful peony flowers out in front of the hotel, they are my favorite flower and they looked and smelled lovely.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajrwdwgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macks Creek, MO
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Conveniently located, clean rooms, quiet, but very expensive. We would have given it a higher rating if the price had been more reasonable. We found out later that the Days Inn across town has very nice rooms for about $60 less than what we paid here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalispell, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
589 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 951 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The Hampton Inns are usually very nice and clean. The plus for this one is that even though it is a little farther from Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park, Deadwood and Sturgis, It is also quieter and more restful. It is also an easy, beautiful drive to any of the above sights. It is an ideal hotel and town for doing cloverleaf trips to those places and very near to Devil's Tower as well. The backroad trips out of Spearfish offer beautiful scenery. The staff at this Hampton Inn are very helpful and the rooms immaculate. The rates here are better than those right in the heart of the tourist crush.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryEllenM27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee's Summit, MO
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel during a road trip to Mt Rushmore and Devils Tower. The five of us, two adults and three children, stayed in a two queen deluxe room with a sofa sleeper. Although a little crowded, it worked for us.

The good - The hotel appeared to be fairly new. All rooms were smoke free and ours smelled cleaned, even with the A/C running. The kids loved the pool with the spiral slide. Our room was quiet at night, each of the three nights we stayed. The staff, when present, were friendly and professional. Not top notch like some of the Hamptons that I've stayed in, but good. The fitness room included both aerobic machines and a full set of dumbells.

The bad - The hotel was noticeably understaffed as the front desk clerk also worked the breakfast room and did other chores around the hotel. As such, the breakfast room was not always stocked with the good stuff. On the outside, the rooms were clean. But looking under the bed for items that we may have missed during checkout, we found a couple of pieces of dried bread.

The wife and I were still happy with the stay and will stay here again in the future should the Tripadvisor reviews remain ok.

Room Tip: Exterior lights are located right above some of the windows on the 3rd floor. If you want a complet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robb P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Room was not clean. Upon check in found room with dead bug on bed, carpet with obvious pet urine and fecal stains, bathroom toilet had material remaining in the toliet that was not flushed, furnishings were so dirty I did not wish to sit on them. Complaints to management went without any comment from manager for four days (only an apology four days later after more complaints to main Hilton guest services). Manager did not meet with me despite my two attempts or honor 100% satisfaction guarantee.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
3 Thank Aaron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 July 2013

No one at front desk, rooms very small, price to high , front desk personnel folding laundry, always running out of food at warming container and /or same each day. Spare blanket missing, hot tub only two jets working, business center not working, window would open, complained but still not fixed prior to checking out, no bill upon leaving , staff if you could find them were doing several jobs at once. I would never used this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spearfish hotels
2.1 mi away
Best Western Black Hills Lodge
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Spearfish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Spearfish
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 14 in Spearfish
146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Spearfish
Travelodge Spearfish
#9 of 14 in Spearfish
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Spearfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Spearfish

Property: Hampton Inn Spearfish
Address: 240 N 27th St, I-90 and 1st Ave (NE side), Spearfish, SD 57783-3273 (Formerly Comfort Suites Spearfish)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Spearfish 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Spearfish is ideally set in the scenic Black Hills and surrounded by nature's beauty. Guests enjoy spacious accommodations and convenient amenities you're sure to love such as free hot breakfast and high-speed Wifi. Take advantage of our indoor swimming pool, fitness center, business center and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Spearfish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Spearfish Hotel Spearfish
Spearfish Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing