We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't complain at all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Spearfish
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Reviewed 16 September 2008

This is a nice newer motel. The lobby area is nice, the continental breakfast was good also.

I really like the room and the way it was arranged. The beds were comfortable. Love the big TV. We didn't have any toilet issues thank goodness.

The only thing that comes to mind is the smell in the hallways. Kinda smelled like a hospital or something. But, nothing real serious.

I would say this is one of the best places to stay in Spearfish.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HideawaysSouthDakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luckyone109, Manager at Hampton Inn Spearfish, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your business and hope to see you on your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2008

Very nice motel with friendly staff. Only problem was pool had wrong chemical mix and turned black swim trunks brown. Rooms were spacious and clean. beds were very comftorable. would recommend this place to anyone wanting a comftorable nights rest.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank battlehollow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luckyone109, Manager at Hampton Inn Spearfish, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your business and hoep to see you on your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2008

I was a little scared after reading the previous reviews, but I ended up really enjoying this place. I thought we got a good deal for what we paid ($120-ish). The suite was quite large, with a separate sitting area. They have tried to address the door gap issue by adding some additional weather-strip stuff. I agree it'd be nice if the door just filled in the space better, but we didn't have any problems with bugs, rodents, or noise. As for the toilets, they are pretty standard low-flow ones that save water. The difference seems to be that they lack the power-assist that most places have now. Still, as long as you're not going crazy in there, you won't have any problems. The room was very clean, with the exception of a lone Dorito under the bed. The rest of the room, though, seemed impeccable. My overall impression of the place was that it was quiet, peaceful, serene, and clean. I'd love to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TravelingPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luckyone109, Manager at Hampton Inn Spearfish, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2012

Thank you for writing a review. We appreciate your business and hope to see you on your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2008

We experienced none of the negatives I've read about here. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was nothing fancy, but adequate.

It was a bit noisy as people made their way to the lobby in the AM for breakfast. A large fan, the ice maker or something in the laundry area also made a lot of noise.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TravelerTX_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luckyone109, Manager at Hampton Inn Spearfish, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your business and hope to see you on your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2008

Supposely this is a new hotel in the area. From the outside it is. But if you plan on staying please make sure that you purchase a plunger and toilet paper at the local Wal-Mart across the street prior to checking in. The sewage situation in this hotel is terrible, and the management and staff are just as bad. The hotel staff seemed to have an issue when we called down to explain the toilet situation. Then later that day they were really upset when we asked for another roll of paper. The management actually had enough gull to say that I was costing him money using so much paper.
Please spare yourself the agoney and stay across the street at the Quality Inn for you choice members.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lbhookingatyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luckyone109, Manager at Hampton Inn Spearfish, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your experience. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We have reviewed the issues you had and made the appropriate changes to make sure it doesn't happen again. I am again truly sorry that we failed to provide you with the very best. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you on your next visit to out area. I assure you that we will provide you with our very best on your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2008

This hotel is fairly new, and my stay here was fine. The room was large, but it really isn't a suite, just a large bedroom with a workdesk and sitting area.

On this trip I had also stayed a Springhill Suites hotel and an Embassy Suites hotel, and this hotel is nowhere near their class in furnishings, decor, or breakfast - but then this hotel is also cheaper, so I guess you get what you pay for. It was completely adequate.

One reviewer mentioned that there is a large gap at the bottom of the doors for the rooms. That's certainly true, and what that means is that you can hear everyone talking in the hallway or, in my case, the lobby since I was given a room adjacent to the lobby. Fortunately I wasn't planning on sleeping in, because after about 6:30 AM that would have been impossible. That's the time when people started coming down for breakfast in the lobby, and I could hear everything they said. In addition, the TV in the lobby was also on at full volume after 6:30 AM. If you are a light sleeper, I'd suggest getting a room on the second floor.

This hotel is right next to three other chain hotels, so you can shop around if you want to before you decide where to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank geo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luckyone109, Manager at Hampton Inn Spearfish, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your business and hope to see you on your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2008

A simple weekend trip to the beautiful black hills for a surprise birthday party for a family friend and a day of skiing @ Terry Peak was the plan. The unexpected blessing was the phenomenal accommodations we encountered when we arrived on Friday evening. With over 20 people involved in the surprise birthday celebration, the hotel owners and staff were extremely generous in turning over their lobby and buffet area for two nights of food, fun and fellowship.
Having read the previous travelers tales of bad service and less than quality amenities, I have to strongly emphasize the opposite reaction. No plugged toliets, nice sized pillows, no rude desk clerks, no rodent issues - just great beds, a fun pool area for the kids to play, ample breakfast items, internet that actually worked, and a great environment to relax and enjoy the beautiful black hills. I will highly recommend this property to all my ski club friends as well as the 300 employees that work for me and are looking for a great vacation get-away. Wow. Keep up the good work and save me a spot - I might just be out to the black hills again real soon.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PrairiePilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luckyone109, Manager at Hampton Inn Spearfish, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your business and hope to serve you again on your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spearfish
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Convention Center
2.1 mi away
Best Western Black Hills Lodge
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Spearfish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
7.6 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#2 of 25 in Deadwood
594 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Spearfish
Travelodge Spearfish
#7 of 14 in Spearfish
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Spearfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Spearfish

Address: 240 N 27th St, I-90 and 1st Ave, Spearfish, SD 57783-3273 (Formerly Comfort Suites Spearfish)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Price Range: £69 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Spearfish 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Spearfish is ideally set in the scenic Black Hills and surrounded by nature's beauty. Guests enjoy spacious accommodations and convenient amenities you're sure to love such as free hot breakfast and high-speed Wifi. Take advantage of our indoor swimming pool, fitness center, business center and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn Spearfish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Spearfish Hotel Spearfish
Spearfish Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing