We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient older hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Crow Peak Lodge
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This hotel is an older, well-kept motel that is in a residential area near downtown Spearfish. The price was much better than other properties in the area. Initially it was not easy for us to find, but we found the location to be a convenient base for our explorations in the Black Hills. Check-in was fast and efficient, and the front desk clerk answered our many questions and gave us some tips on the area. Our room (room 124) was large with a sofabed and a 39 inch tv and had nice comfortable (pillow-top?) beds. It had a deck outside overlooking a small garden and a hot tub two doors down. No swimming pool. There was a large patio nearby that had grills for guests to use, although we didn't use them during our stay. We would recommend this motel to others.

Room Tip: Ask for one in the building that has a deck overlooking the garden (I think rooms 121-125).
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Robert G, we are happy that you enjoyed the location and the upkeep of our hotel when it was the Travelodge. Now, as The Crow Peak Lodge, we have improved our rooms to offer LED TVs in all rooms and have been continuing with the upgrades to each room. Although we don’t have a swimming pool, we offer a hot tub and a large deck for lounging and BBQ grills for our guests’ use. The room you stayed in has been made even nicer, with new carpet and new bed tops. We are able to do this despite being having lower than average prices for hotels in the area. We hope you will choose to stay with us once again next time you return to the Black Hills.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
There are newer reviews for The Crow Peak Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed at this motel for 5 nights whilst visiting the South Dakota attractions. The hotel itself is unusual for a motel but in a nice way.
Unfortunately the first night we stayed in a room below the top room which was very noisy until 2am with young children crying and parents loud. When we complained to the front desk staff we were told it was where the Manager and family lived! Fortunately for us they went on holiday the next day.
The motel was understaffed and our stay was only bearable because of a lady called Jenny who was extremely concientious and sorted out problems as they arose. If it hadn't of been for her we would have left and found somewhere else.
Plenty of bars and restaurants within easy walking distance but reminded us of "Faulty Towers"

Room Tip: Stay away from the managers accommodation!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisBStIvesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

ChrisBStivesUK, we appreciate the review you had written on the Travelodge. We are happy to hear you had a good stay and found the area around our hotel convenient. We are also glad our staff were able to address and help fix your concerns, particularly when you encountered some noise from an adjacent room. In any hotel, including some five-star properties, noisy neighbors can affect your stay. We hope that next time you are in town, you will choose to stay with us (now we are The Crow Peak Lodge). Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Stayed here in early March after a long road trip up from Denver. I received a clean room in one of the out buildings. The bed was comfortable. The staff I encountered during my stay were all very friendly and helpful. They have a laundry and hot tub in the same building. Although it was 8:30 PM when I arrived, which was almost closing time for the hot tub, the front desk kept the hot tub open late for me while I did my laundry. This was really nice after a 7 hour drive! I would definitely stay at this motel again when in this area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSB855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

RSB855, we appreciate the review you had written about our property. We are happy to see that The Crow Peak Lodge’s friendly staff and clean rooms impressed you. Our guest laundry is open 24 hours a day for our guests and our hot tub is a great way to relax at the end of a busy day. We hope you will once again choose to stay with The Crow Peak Lodge after your next 7 hour drive up from Denver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We were looking for a pet-friendly hotel close to restaurants, and this was suggested by a local. The hotel is a bit older in exterior appearance, which initially concerned us. The front desk clerk was friendly and made some great dinner suggestions. The room was pleasantly furnished, had plenty of light and room to maneuver, but was not fancy. Bedding appeared new and was extremely comfortable. The only complaint about the room was that the tub drained slowly, but this was a minor issue. Breakfast was simple, but typical for this level of hotel (waffles, cereal, donuts, coffee). Spearfish is a beautiful town and we hope to return and enjoy it more.

Room Tip: Some rooms are in a single level building while others are in a two-story building. The rooms in th...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Frank T, we appreciate the comments you have provided about your stay at the Travelodge. Although many of the comments you have mentioned are still true since our transition to The Crow Peak Lodge in June 2014, we have added many other amenities that will make your next stay even better. The breakfast has been improved to offer more items. We agree that Spearfish is a beautiful place and we welcome you back to our hotel next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

My sister and I (in our late 50s) spent two nights at the Travelodge in late December. Each of us has stayed at this motel previously on several occasions while visiting family a few blocks away.

Our room was clean, and the bathroom was spotless. The furnishings were comfortable but slightly slightly dated, but the beds felt cozy and new. My sister and I slept very well in the two queen beds in our room. The room and bath both were cleaned to very high standards both days we were there.

The breakfast (included in the cost) consisted of a waffle-maker for making waffles, two choices of dry cereal, donuts, breads, tea and coffee, and two kinds of juice. Others here have mentioned it was not great, but my sister and I thought it was typical for the price we paid for the room. A basic breakfast is a basic breakfast.

What I really came to appreciate about the Travelodge was the staff, especially Jeni. Her friendly nature left me with the feeling of staying with a friend rather than being alone in a faceless place far from home. My sister enjoyed the Travelodge just as much as I did. This is one of the biggest reasons I rated this motel, which although very typical for this price range, as it had everything I needed to be comfortable, as "very good" instead of "average." Some may prefer to spend nearly twice as much and stay at the places up at Exit 14 like the Holiday Inn, which has a pool and are much more expensive, but I will continue to return to the Travelodge whenever I return to Spearfish.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Samantha S, we appreciate the time you took to write a review on the Travelodge. We are delighted to read the words you have written about your stay. Although we are now The Crow Peak Lodge, many of the positive comments you had written about are still true. During the summer months, we offer an extended continental breakfast, with fruit, yogurt, several choices of breads and pastries, hot and cold cereals, hot waffles, and juices, coffee and tea. We hope that when you return to Spearfish, once again you choose to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We stayed here in October, 2012. Arrived without reservations and was checked in by Jenni, who was pleasant and did a good job getting us checked in quickly. This Travelodge is spread out in many buildings in an unusual configuration with a courtyard and large patio area. Our room was clean and large for a motel room, with new bedding according to the sign out front, and our room had a deck out front. Fortunately for us, the weather was unusually balmy for South Dakota in mid-October, so we were able to sit outside and enjoy it. Breakfast was slightly better than most hotels at this budget level. The internet worked well. There was laundry and a hot tub available to us, but we didn't use it. Overall, we were happy with the $52 rate we were charged and will stay again when back in town.

Room Tip: the rooms on the south side (rooms 122-125) have a deck out front, but are along Kansas Street. Noi...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TL_Spearfish, General Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor, Trevor S. We are delighted your stay with us was a pleasant one. We will continue to work hard to ensure your future stays with us are as nice as the one you described in your review.

Our hotel is made up of several buildings. This allows most guests to have a room with fewer neighbors and more privacy as well as the ability to park close to their rooms. During our warmer months, many of our guests find the exterior deck on rooms 121-125 you described as a quiet and pleasant place to hang out and watch the world go by. The eight person hot tub and large deck we have is good for larger functions and activities.

I have passed along the the comments you have made about your check-in to Jeni, as well as our other front-desk staff.

Trevor S, we hope the next time you are in Spearfish you will stay with us again. We look forward to your return and if you book directly with our property, please ask for me - I will make sure you get the nicest room available.

Thank you and happy travels,
Christopher Harris
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spearfish hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Black Hills Lodge
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Spearfish
Travelodge Spearfish
#8 of 14 in Spearfish
143 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 14 in Spearfish
148 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Spearfish
Hampton Inn Spearfish
#3 of 14 in Spearfish
315 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Spearfish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crow Peak Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crow Peak Lodge

Address: 346 W Kansas St, Spearfish, SD 57783 (Formerly Travelodge of Spearfish)
Region: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Price Range: £41 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Crow Peak Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crow Peak Lodge is located in the heart of Spearfish seconds form the Spearfish Recreation Trail system. Placing us within walking distance of downtown, Black Hills State University, the DC Booth Fish Hatchery, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Crow Peak Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Spearfish
Travel Lodge Spearfish
Spearfish Travelodge
Spearfish Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing