We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week in Spearfish”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Crow Peak Lodge
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Globe, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A week in Spearfish”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed a week in Spearfish at The Travel Lodge .The weekly rates are very economical ,the rooms are adequate . There is plenty of hot water . We would like to mention that Jenny at reception was very helpful and a very nice person. Our stay included a $100 deposit which was credited back to our credit card ,Thank You Sunshine. I cannot speak on the breakfasts offered ,as we never had one. Our daughter suggested this Hotel as she had stayed in it previously for 1 month and found it very acceptable ,which it is . Our stay in Spearfish was very good as was our stay in the Travel Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TColeman351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
TColeman351, we appreciate your decision to stay with the Travelodge last year and we are glad to hear your week-long stay was a wonderful one. Now, since we have become The Crow Peak Lodge, we will still continue to offer the weekly and monthly rates after Labor Day until June. This provides an economical and convenient way to explore the Black Hills outside of the busy season. We are happy to hear that the hotel staff went above and beyond to make your stay special. We look forward to welcoming you on your next stay at The Crow Peak Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    47
    24
    11
    18
See reviews for
22
50
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This hotel is an older, well-kept motel that is in a residential area near downtown Spearfish. The price was much better than other properties in the area. Initially it was not easy for us to find, but we found the location to be a convenient base for our explorations in the Black Hills. Check-in was fast and efficient, and the front desk clerk answered our many questions and gave us some tips on the area. Our room (room 124) was large with a sofabed and a 39 inch tv and had nice comfortable (pillow-top?) beds. It had a deck outside overlooking a small garden and a hot tub two doors down. No swimming pool. There was a large patio nearby that had grills for guests to use, although we didn't use them during our stay. We would recommend this motel to others.

Room Tip: Ask for one in the building that has a deck overlooking the garden (I think rooms 121-125).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Robert G, we are happy that you enjoyed the location and the upkeep of our hotel when it was the Travelodge. Now, as The Crow Peak Lodge, we have improved our rooms to offer LED TVs in all rooms and have been continuing with the upgrades to each room. Although we don’t have a swimming pool, we offer a hot tub and a large deck for lounging and BBQ grills for our guests’ use. The room you stayed in has been made even nicer, with new carpet and new bed tops. We are able to do this despite being having lower than average prices for hotels in the area. We hope you will choose to stay with us once again next time you return to the Black Hills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed at this motel for 5 nights whilst visiting the South Dakota attractions. The hotel itself is unusual for a motel but in a nice way.
Unfortunately the first night we stayed in a room below the top room which was very noisy until 2am with young children crying and parents loud. When we complained to the front desk staff we were told it was where the Manager and family lived! Fortunately for us they went on holiday the next day.
The motel was understaffed and our stay was only bearable because of a lady called Jenny who was extremely concientious and sorted out problems as they arose. If it hadn't of been for her we would have left and found somewhere else.
Plenty of bars and restaurants within easy walking distance but reminded us of "Faulty Towers"

Room Tip: Stay away from the managers accommodation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisBStIvesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
ChrisBStivesUK, we appreciate the review you had written on the Travelodge. We are happy to hear you had a good stay and found the area around our hotel convenient. We are also glad our staff were able to address and help fix your concerns, particularly when you encountered some noise from an adjacent room. In any hotel, including some five-star properties, noisy neighbors can affect your stay. We hope that next time you are in town, you will choose to stay with us (now we are The Crow Peak Lodge). Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaumburg, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Stayed here in early March after a long road trip up from Denver. I received a clean room in one of the out buildings. The bed was comfortable. The staff I encountered during my stay were all very friendly and helpful. They have a laundry and hot tub in the same building. Although it was 8:30 PM when I arrived, which was almost closing time for the hot tub, the front desk kept the hot tub open late for me while I did my laundry. This was really nice after a 7 hour drive! I would definitely stay at this motel again when in this area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSB855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
RSB855, we appreciate the review you had written about our property. We are happy to see that The Crow Peak Lodge’s friendly staff and clean rooms impressed you. Our guest laundry is open 24 hours a day for our guests and our hot tub is a great way to relax at the end of a busy day. We hope you will once again choose to stay with The Crow Peak Lodge after your next 7 hour drive up from Denver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthington, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We were looking for a pet-friendly hotel close to restaurants, and this was suggested by a local. The hotel is a bit older in exterior appearance, which initially concerned us. The front desk clerk was friendly and made some great dinner suggestions. The room was pleasantly furnished, had plenty of light and room to maneuver, but was not fancy. Bedding appeared new and was extremely comfortable. The only complaint about the room was that the tub drained slowly, but this was a minor issue. Breakfast was simple, but typical for this level of hotel (waffles, cereal, donuts, coffee). Spearfish is a beautiful town and we hope to return and enjoy it more.

Room Tip: Some rooms are in a single level building while others are in a two-story building. The rooms in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Frank T, we appreciate the comments you have provided about your stay at the Travelodge. Although many of the comments you have mentioned are still true since our transition to The Crow Peak Lodge in June 2014, we have added many other amenities that will make your next stay even better. The breakfast has been improved to offer more items. We agree that Spearfish is a beautiful place and we welcome you back to our hotel next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spearfish hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Black Hills Lodge
2.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Spearfish
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Spearfish
Travelodge Spearfish
#9 of 14 in Spearfish
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Convention Center
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Spearfish
Hampton Inn Spearfish
#3 of 14 in Spearfish
289 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 14 in Spearfish
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crow Peak Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crow Peak Lodge

Property: The Crow Peak Lodge
Address: 346 W Kansas St, Spearfish, SD 57783 (Formerly Travelodge of Spearfish)
Region: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Crow Peak Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crow Peak Lodge is located in the heart of Spearfish seconds form the Spearfish Recreation Trail system. Placing us within walking distance of downtown, Black Hills State University, the DC Booth Fish Hatchery, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Crow Peak Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Spearfish
Travel Lodge Spearfish
Spearfish Travelodge
Spearfish Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing