We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An OK Stopover...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Crow Peak Lodge
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My wife and I use this site as a negotiating tool for our room rates. Travelodge quoted us $54 for the night but, using the TA partner's rate, we got a room for $45.
This Travelodge is 'motel' style with some rooms being in a separate block from the main building, doors opening straight onto the sidewalk. Not really a problem as the door was very well sealed so as not to allow the cold wind of 34f weather to enter. The hotel is on a very quiet side street and so noise was not an issue either. While very clean and with the usual coffee maker, hairdryer, iron, cable tv etc.... the room was very dated and with some repair needed to the decor. Heating was from a quiet electric and thermostat system but we had to turn it right up to 80f to keep the room warm enough overnight. The bed was comfortable and we were not at all cold.
Breakfast was a basic 'continental' but being able to make your own fresh waffles at least allowed for something warm.
It might not be the best hotel in Spearfish but at the right price you will get a clean, well serviced place to sleep.

Room Tip: Negotiate your price using Tripadvisors rates. Room 123 was centrally placed in the block and so pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItsMeJustG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

ItsMeJustG, we appreciate your review here on TripAdvisor. As we have become a new property, we are improving the décor in the rooms as well as making the heating/air conditioning more responsive to our guests' requirements. For example, the room you have commented on, Room 123, has been recarpeted and repainted since your review. We are also upgrading our breakfast, with more offerings throughout the year and especially during the summer months. Our objective is to provide clean, comfortable, friendly and affordable accommodation. We hope you will once again choose to stay with us next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed a week in Spearfish at The Travel Lodge .The weekly rates are very economical ,the rooms are adequate . There is plenty of hot water . We would like to mention that Jenny at reception was very helpful and a very nice person. Our stay included a $100 deposit which was credited back to our credit card ,Thank You Sunshine. I cannot speak on the breakfasts offered ,as we never had one. Our daughter suggested this Hotel as she had stayed in it previously for 1 month and found it very acceptable ,which it is . Our stay in Spearfish was very good as was our stay in the Travel Lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TColeman351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

TColeman351, we appreciate your decision to stay with the Travelodge last year and we are glad to hear your week-long stay was a wonderful one. Now, since we have become The Crow Peak Lodge, we will still continue to offer the weekly and monthly rates after Labor Day until June. This provides an economical and convenient way to explore the Black Hills outside of the busy season. We are happy to hear that the hotel staff went above and beyond to make your stay special. We look forward to welcoming you on your next stay at The Crow Peak Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This hotel is an older, well-kept motel that is in a residential area near downtown Spearfish. The price was much better than other properties in the area. Initially it was not easy for us to find, but we found the location to be a convenient base for our explorations in the Black Hills. Check-in was fast and efficient, and the front desk clerk answered our many questions and gave us some tips on the area. Our room (room 124) was large with a sofabed and a 39 inch tv and had nice comfortable (pillow-top?) beds. It had a deck outside overlooking a small garden and a hot tub two doors down. No swimming pool. There was a large patio nearby that had grills for guests to use, although we didn't use them during our stay. We would recommend this motel to others.

Room Tip: Ask for one in the building that has a deck overlooking the garden (I think rooms 121-125).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Robert G, we are happy that you enjoyed the location and the upkeep of our hotel when it was the Travelodge. Now, as The Crow Peak Lodge, we have improved our rooms to offer LED TVs in all rooms and have been continuing with the upgrades to each room. Although we don’t have a swimming pool, we offer a hot tub and a large deck for lounging and BBQ grills for our guests’ use. The room you stayed in has been made even nicer, with new carpet and new bed tops. We are able to do this despite being having lower than average prices for hotels in the area. We hope you will choose to stay with us once again next time you return to the Black Hills.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed at this motel for 5 nights whilst visiting the South Dakota attractions. The hotel itself is unusual for a motel but in a nice way.
Unfortunately the first night we stayed in a room below the top room which was very noisy until 2am with young children crying and parents loud. When we complained to the front desk staff we were told it was where the Manager and family lived! Fortunately for us they went on holiday the next day.
The motel was understaffed and our stay was only bearable because of a lady called Jenny who was extremely concientious and sorted out problems as they arose. If it hadn't of been for her we would have left and found somewhere else.
Plenty of bars and restaurants within easy walking distance but reminded us of "Faulty Towers"

Room Tip: Stay away from the managers accommodation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisBStIvesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

ChrisBStivesUK, we appreciate the review you had written on the Travelodge. We are happy to hear you had a good stay and found the area around our hotel convenient. We are also glad our staff were able to address and help fix your concerns, particularly when you encountered some noise from an adjacent room. In any hotel, including some five-star properties, noisy neighbors can affect your stay. We hope that next time you are in town, you will choose to stay with us (now we are The Crow Peak Lodge). Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Stayed here in early March after a long road trip up from Denver. I received a clean room in one of the out buildings. The bed was comfortable. The staff I encountered during my stay were all very friendly and helpful. They have a laundry and hot tub in the same building. Although it was 8:30 PM when I arrived, which was almost closing time for the hot tub, the front desk kept the hot tub open late for me while I did my laundry. This was really nice after a 7 hour drive! I would definitely stay at this motel again when in this area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSB855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

RSB855, we appreciate the review you had written about our property. We are happy to see that The Crow Peak Lodge’s friendly staff and clean rooms impressed you. Our guest laundry is open 24 hours a day for our guests and our hot tub is a great way to relax at the end of a busy day. We hope you will once again choose to stay with The Crow Peak Lodge after your next 7 hour drive up from Denver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spearfish hotels
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Spearfish
Travelodge Spearfish
#7 of 14 in Spearfish
152 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 14 in Spearfish
149 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Black Hills Lodge
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Spearfish
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Spearfish
Hampton Inn Spearfish
#4 of 14 in Spearfish
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crow Peak Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crow Peak Lodge

Address: 346 W Kansas St, Spearfish, SD 57783 (Formerly Travelodge of Spearfish)
Region: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Price Range: £33 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Crow Peak Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crow Peak Lodge is located in the heart of Spearfish seconds form the Spearfish Recreation Trail system. Placing us within walking distance of downtown, Black Hills State University, the DC Booth Fish Hatchery, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Crow Peak Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Spearfish
Travel Lodge Spearfish
Spearfish Travelodge
Spearfish Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing