We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Crow Peak Lodge
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I arrived at the end of the motorcycle rally and stayed here for five nights, riding the back roads of the Black Hills after the crowds had disappeared. The location of the hotel is fantastic- near downtown Spearfish and with plenty of space for parking. Spearfish Canyon, Devil's Tower, Crazy Horse and Mt. Rushmore are an easy ride from the location. The staff were amazing - working hard to make improvements to the hotel, but never too busy to help answer a question or to assist guests. The hotel looked a bit old on the outside, primarily because it is very rustic (there is a lot of wood decking), but the rooms were clean and comfortable. The hot tub was also very convenient after a long ride, as was the 24-hour laundry room, with prices about half of the commercial laundrette two blocks away.

Some people here commented about breakfast, but I never went to try. However, others I spoke with said it was fine.

Pros:
Staff, quietness, location, parking, room interior, hot tub, laundry available around the clock

Cons:
Hotel exterior looks a bit old due to the use of lots of wood, no swimming pool (for those who need one)

Room Tip: The week after the Sturgis rally is quiet all throughout the Black Hills. The weather is great, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Craig W, thank you for your review describing your stay. We are glad you had a nice time at our property during your five-nights in the Black Hills.

As you mentioned, our location is good for people who want to stay in a convenient location yet want to enjoy a quiet night's sleep in a clean comfortable room. The laundry and hot tub are convenient and we offer plenty of parking at our property for guests.

We do have lots of space for people to sit and relax on our decking, but as you had pointed out, we do not have a pool. For people who want an excellent pool experience, the city recreation center offers an excellent one during the summer, with three great water slides, a lazy river, dumping buckets and even a rock climbing wall. That rec center is only a few blocks from our property. It is one of the better public or private pools in the Black Hills.

We hope that next time you come to the Black Hills, you will choose to stay with us once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Paid good money to stay in a remodeled closet. The room was obviously added
on as a way to create one more space to rent. It was small, laid out poorly and
really overpriced. The bed was pushed against the corner to make room to walk
around it and the AC was in the bathroom right next to the toilet. You'd have to
turn it off to use the bathroom or shower. Just a very substandard room.
To be fair I talked to other people there and they said their room was very nice.
It was the last room so I didn't have much choice. The people were nice and it did
look like they were doing remodeling.

Room Tip: just pick a different room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick4375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Patrick4375, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We understand that room 211 was a bit small for your liking. To be honest, we usually leave it as our last Junior Single Queen room to rent, and as you had indicated, it was the last room available at the time you booked.

I agree with you - room 211 is the smallest room of our smallest room category (Junior Single Queen). It is the least expensive option available but has the same amenities, such as LED TVs, fridges, and microwaves, as our other rooms. We offer a number of different room types to cater to all tastes and preferences; for people looking for an inexpensive, simple, clean place for the the night, the room works perfectly fine. For others who would like more space, our other room types are far more spacious as you learned from your conversations with other guests. Our Standard Single Queen rooms, for example, are a few dollars more but offer more space and a ground floor entrance with no room located above or below yours. Some even offer vaulted ceilings with ceiling fans.

We do hope you will book early for next year's rally and will once again choose to stay with us. We can assure you that you can get a room of your liking and enjoy far more space.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Booked a room back on March for Sturgis Rally, we are a little early to check-in room was not ready that's okay we are able to walk around Spearfish little town. when we come back our room is ready and it's up- stair of old house, one queen bed, the room is very small one little tiny window i don't like it at all. I ask the front desk also an owner she is very friendly if she can give different room, i need to upgrade my room so I have to pay extra, she took me and show me the room it's nice room clean and new carpet, bed and sheet very comfortable, breakfast just okay, a lot of sweets. Things we don't like on this hotel, we felt not safe the window has no lock it's easy to slide from outside and the door need to be fix on bottom part has crack open and we can smell the smoke from people smoking outside and carpet is wet right by the bed . Also I woke i found small cockroach on the bathroom floor. We suggest if you are planning to go for Sturgis Rally book early as you can may a year before or you will pay the price.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dogiedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dogiedog, thanks for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We understand that the first room you received (Room 211) was a bit small. Indeed, it is the smallest of our Junior Queen rooms and is perfect for someone who is looking for an inexpensive room for a night. It is good for one or two people only. Those looking for a bit more space would be better off with one of our Standard Queen rooms, which are a few dollars more but offer more space and a ground floor entrance.

The room you moved to had two queen beds with brand new carpet, and we are glad you found it comfortable and clean. I believe the bug you found was a box elder bug, which are are plentiful around box elder trees this time of year - sometimes they fly into rooms. They are about the size of a cockroach, but they are harmless. Our pest control has found no evidence of cockroaches in our hotel, and none of the employees I have spoke with have ever seen one here. The window in your room can be secured - the front desk would be happy to show you how to properly lock it if you had any concerns. However, we appreciate you bringing this to our attention.

We completely agree with your recommendation about Sturgis, and suggest booking in advance for the best pricing. We hope next year, the 75th anniversary of the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally, will bring you back to stay with us once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My Dad and I found this place while on an Epic roadtrip... our day started out in Montana, we had visited the site of Custer's Last Stand, and on Devil's Tower. After leaving the tower we were bound for Mount Rushmore, when we decided to bunk down in Spearfish for the night.

The rooms are a bit older, but very well maintained, everything was clean, and in good working order. There is free wifi that is secured with a password, our room had a flat screen TV, Mini Fridge, microwave, hair dryer, and in-room safe.

The staff here is AWESOME. They are very friendly, knowledgeable and eager to help. Having been on the road for a while now, my Dad and I really appreciated their service.

Just the night before we stayed at a "name brand" hotel, paid more money for a smaller room, and rude/unhelpful staff. Coming here was just a breath of fresh air from what we have been experiencing so far. We suspect the people who work here, own the place, they care about their property and it shows.

The hotel is a little hard to find, we only knew about it by using an app, and even when we entered the address into our GPS we weren't sure if we were heading the right way, as the street seemed very residential, and we passed the local chamber of commerce and a church... but the location just adds to the charm, the nice thing about it being near homes it the neighborhood is quiet, but yet it's walking distance to a few nearby restaurants.

We really enjoyed our stay here, and strongly recommend it

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Aaron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Aaron R, it was great to meet you and your dad on your epic road trip! We understand there is so much to see in this part of the country. We appreciate you staying with us, and also taking some time from your trip to provide a review of your stay.

Since we were a Travelodge until June of this year, we understand how running an independent hotel is different from running a branded one. Decisions don't come from a boardroom in Parsippany, New Jersey, but directly from our customers. We believe that, as you say, the passion we put into this place makes it better. We are glad you recognize this.

Our property is less than a mile from I-90, bordering on a residential neighborhood close to the scenic Spearfish Creek and the local university, and we are close to many of the conveniences of downtown. We are working on the issue with the GPS companies, but we are so glad you were able to find us and enjoy your stay with us.

Aaron R, we hope your epic road trip continues to be one to remember. And once again, if you are in the area, we hope you will stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We were in the area and was unable to find a room so another hotel suggested this place to us. It was very spacious and had recently been updated. The price was very reasonable, I would recommend this hotel if you are in the Spearfish area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrinallynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Katrinallynn, we appreciate the time you have taken to review our property, and were delighted to read your review of your stay. We have been working hard to update our property, yet keep prices reasonable. We hope you will once again choose to stay with us next time you visit the beautiful Black Hills!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stopped late in the day after visiting Devils Tower. The clerk was friendly despite the late hour. Our room was in a building toward the rear of the property. It was spacious and clean.

Only negative was a "late" breakfast starting at 7. Not even coffee available. The morning person wasn't a happy person.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhisperDowntheLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

We sincerely appreciate you staying with us and providing a welcome review of our property, WhisperDowntheLane. As you have pointed out, we are located right between Devils Tower and Mount Rushmore (both being less than 90 minutes away), so we provide a convenient base to visit both.

We are putting in extra effort to ensure our guests find our hotel spacious, clean, and quiet. Our breakfast hours are currently 7-10 AM, which was the hours of the Travelodge's breakfast. This may be late for some of our early bird guests (while other guests appreciate sleeping in). We understand many guests want to get an early start; therefore we are evaluating changing those hours to 6-9 AM instead. We do provide in-room coffee makers and are happy to provide extra in-room coffee packets for guests the evening before if requested.

We do apologize for the morning person's grumpy attitude; we understand that the morning person should provide a positive reflection on our hotel. We hope to see you next time you are in Spearfish (and we will put the coffee on early for you!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

After a long drive from Cody, Wyoming, we wanted a place to relax near downtown. Another hotel right off the interstate (that was full) recommended this independent little motel to us. Its an older place that has been kept up to date. We were given a big room with two queen beds and even a sofabed. The rooms were clean, the beds were very comfortable and our room had brand new carpeting. It was walking distance from Spearfish's charming downtown and the Spearfish Creek. The front desk staff took time to point us to some great restaurants and answer questions on how to get to Mt. Rushmore, Deadwood, and Spearfish Canyon, even giving us several options and recommendations that tourists wouldn't find in a guest book. Breakfast was okay, offering the standard continental offerings of waffles, toast, muffins, cereal, etc. I think we got a good deal for $89 and will stay here next time I'm in SD.

Room Tip: Our room (room 124) was huge with new carpeting and a nice deck outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RalphHHastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

RalphHHastings, we appreciate you stopping by to stay with us on your way from Wyoming. Yes, after a long drive, it is nice to find a quiet, relaxing hotel where restaurants, bars, parks and churches are within walking distance. As you have pointed out, we are in the process of making many of our rooms more comfortable, with new carpeting, new bedding tops, fresh paint, new LED TVs, and other improvements. We are improving our breakfast offerings, and believe that you would be impressed with the offerings we provide to our summer guests. We know the best places in the area to visit, and are happy to share this information with our guests. We hope next time you are in South Dakota, you choose to stay with us once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spearfish hotels
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Spearfish
Travelodge Spearfish
#7 of 14 in Spearfish
152 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Black Hills Lodge
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 14 in Spearfish
149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bell's Motor Lodge Motel
Bell's Motor Lodge Motel
#5 of 14 in Spearfish
126 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Spearfish
Days Inn Spearfish
#2 of 14 in Spearfish
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crow Peak Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crow Peak Lodge

Address: 346 W Kansas St, Spearfish, SD 57783 (Formerly Travelodge of Spearfish)
Region: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Spearfish
Price Range: £32 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Crow Peak Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crow Peak Lodge is located in the heart of Spearfish seconds form the Spearfish Recreation Trail system. Placing us within walking distance of downtown, Black Hills State University, the DC Booth Fish Hatchery, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Crow Peak Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Spearfish
Travel Lodge Spearfish
Spearfish Travelodge
Spearfish Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing