We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for lunch.”
Review of Side Hack

Side Hack
Ranked #24 of 36 Restaurants in Sturgis
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Clinton, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Okay for lunch.”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Great service! Food was fine.
Atmosphere was fun.
I had a grill chicken salad and my husband has a hamburger, with great seasoned fries.
Enjoyed the experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darrel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    3
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shakopee, MN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not that great”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stopped by for lunch. Nice garage-bar feel with a lot of artifacts around.

We were greeted by a young server who took our order. My wife ordered the walleye which they are out of, she then ordered the catfish. We also ordered a order of the loaded nachos.

Me and the kids ordered a large pepperoni pizza.

When our order came out, the waitress brought out the pizza and the nachos and at that point notified my wife that they were also out of catfish and offered her another look at the menu. My wife declined at that point because we didn't want to wait several more minutes for the food.

The nachos were typical nacho-cheese style nachos you can get at large wild-wing chain outlets. The pizza was loaded with cheese. (Absolutely loaded with cheese). The pizza was good with good sauce, but the crust was lacking any crisp. The crust was done, but it wasn't browned on the bottom of the slice in any manner.

The pizza could be great if they cooked it at a higher temp to get more crisp on the bottom of the crust. They could also do a better job of service by letting us know before the food comes out that they are out of fish.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanFromMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stopped at Side Hack for lunch after hiking in Spearfish canyon. It wasn't very busy, seemed like mostly local people watching NASCAR on the big screen TVs. We choose a table in the bar area. My husband had the special, an open faced prime rib sandwich served with mushrooms & sauteed onions, I had a walleye tip basket, the breading was well-seasoned & crisp and the coleslaw was tasty. Both of our meals were really good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturgis, South Dakota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood bar!!”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

They have the BEST Pizza!!! Hand made and fresh toppings almost any kind you want!! Great burgers!! Wide screen TVs to watch all the games on Sundays! Doesnt matter who your team is they are on and friends are there to watch party and have a good time!! Awesome service!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank lakeangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Awesome Breakfast!”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We spent 4 days in Sturgis which served as our base for fishing for trout in different lakes around the area. Our first morning we went to the Side Hack and continued to go there for breakfast each morning thereafter. Their pancakes are huge, fluffy and crispy on the edges - just perfect. We asked for blueberries in the pancakes and they were loaded with them! Their bacon was crispy, sausage patties were very good and eggs were done perfectly.
We were with friends who are from the area and have been all over for breakfast and this is their go-to place for breakfast. Be sure to ask for Dee - she is an awesome, funny server!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mwcspitfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Side Hack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing