We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glencoe - Sturgis Bike Week”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sturgis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glencoe Camp Resort
McCook, Nebraska
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Glencoe - Sturgis Bike Week”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Our group has been going to Sturgis for years. Stayed at Glencoe over 10 years and the different ownership changes. One thing is to never trust the entertainment schedule...lol. It's almost always screwed up. That's ok. There is enough other stuff going on to make up for this. Food, bike vendors, bike services, boobies...beer, ice, lots of friends. It's much cleaner than The Chip. No real reason to buy a hook up for RV, just dry camp save the money.

Room Tip: dry camp. run the generator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank flynh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    8
    3
    8
    11
See reviews for
1
10
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monument, Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

A place like Glencoe is a tough place to rate, it is only open 2 weeks a year, during the Rally. I believe whether you will like the place or not, is based largely on your expectations and where exactly you are at.

If you are there to get away from your life for a few days and let off some steam, meet some new people and want to have fun, then you will find it a fun time. If you are worried about noise, or people drinking too much, you are staying in the wrong place, there are many other places that cater to a more family atmosphere and insist on quiet times etc.

But if you are here for the party, then there is basically just a choice between here and the Chip. The chip is more expensive, but includes the shows at night. I have also heard they are much dustier, and there isn't any shade to set up your tent at. I believe they have similar problems with keeping things clean and running properly during the rally the same as Glencoe.

So I have stayed here for many years, and it had sort of died down when the economy went south and the price of gas went up, but I think the people and party are getting better again, but still no where near the 'good old days'.

On the plus side: I think that paving the main drag was nice, and they have tried to add more facilities over the years for places to eat, and the pavillion was a nice addition.

On the negative side: the beach idea was a fiasco, and I think they have it off the webpage now, but it was a bad idea the first year they did it, and it was closed last year.
They now have cleaning crews in the showers and the flush toilets that work for tips, which I think is very cheap considering how much we are paying to tent camp here.

The pit toliets can range from acceptable to don't go near them, depends on when they were cleaned or pumped out recently. But frankly, if I am worried about the pit toilets, I would just hop on the bike and ride over to the flush toilets.

The showers are a source of complaints, as they have problems with them off and on every year. But if I REALLY need a shower, I go to one of the other shower houses (there are three that I know of in the campground), or I wait and come back later.

Like everything in Strugis at Rally time, the price to stay here, and the food, tshirts, etc are overpriced, but that is just a fact of life during the rally.

I just made reservations for this year, and I see no charge for trucks or trailers as another reviewer mentioned, the only thing on the reservation site is individuals (every individual pays and you can tent camp with that wristband), 30 amp RV hookups, and 50 amp hookups. You can also dry camp in your RV or trailer for the same price if you don't want hookups

So while this place sometimes irritates me, and I really don't appreciate the guy at 3am that thinks now is a great time to do a burn out.... where else are you going to stay and have this much fun?

Room Tip: Depending on whats important to you, you can camp right next to the fence that runs next to the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Tigerman67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangeley, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We have stayed at Glencoe 5 different times now. It is a good place if you like to party. Food is available on the grounds and not bad. Prices aren't too bad either. I've never had trouble with the showers like some have. Out houses aren't cleaned as often as they once were but O K. Prices keep going up each year so not sure how much longer we'll be going.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Weaselblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

First to get this upfront, this is NOT a family campground. It is a campground primarialy for the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally, and is a success at meeting that goal.

The campground is a sprawling area with several bars, loud music, loud motorcycles, and people in various states of dress (or undress). We stayed in a motorhome for the rally and found it to be everything we wanted. We had a full hook up with plenty of access to water, sewer, and power. The power stayed on the whole time without the resetting of breakers like we find at many campgrounds. The food was typical rally food, but that is what you find almost anywhere during the rally. The Full Throttle Saloon is across the street, and a gas station at the entrance, so plenty of entertainment and ease of filling the bike for rides.

Bands play at the pavilion which were included in the price of admission. Several are big name bands. Laundry facilities and ice are also available on the property with a very basic camp store. The shower are what you would expect for a rally...average. Nothing special but I have seen a lot worse!

If you are looking for a party campground for the rally, this is one to consider. If you want a quiet campground or a family atmosphere, this is not the place. We have booked here three times now and will return again.

Room Tip: If in an RV, reserve EARLY
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank dadaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canyon, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

I was anticipating the worst. We were in the full hook ups. Close to the pavillion so the bands were loud up to 3 am. Food was ok but it's hard to cook for an unknown number of people. Unisex bathroom was SUPER clean thanks to the attendant. Waitresses and bartenders were very friendly. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank EllyB292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

My group and I have been staying in Glenco for the past 6 years, but I have to say this is going to be the last! 190 dollars a piece, the showers were ridiculously COLD!!!! Every time!! Decided to try one of the other shower houses, walk in and find a HUGE turd in one of the shower stalls! UNBELIEVEABLE! Seems like these people just give a crap about collecting the money, but not taking care of there facility! Seriously if your thinking about staying there, think again. Beaches was abandoned, and they advertised it on the web site!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Marty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sturgis hotels

Ipswich, South Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We have stayed at Glencoe for the last few years during the rally & wont be staying anywhere else! Yes this is a party campground so if you want a lot of peace & quiet find somewhere else. We don't have a problem sleeping as the campers are set off aways from the main "party road" which does go all night long! But that's why you come to sturgis! There are at least 3 places to eat & the pavillion has music every night,they are starting to get bigger named bands in every year & they are free when you camp here! Another bonus is the Campground is within walking distance of the Full Throttle and "da bus" stop. My best advise would be to bring a golf cart or other toy to drive around the campground as it is huge!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgis
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sturgis Inn
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
10.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
1.4 mi away
Days End Campground
Days End Campground
#5 of 13 in Sturgis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
6.9 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#1 of 3 in Whitewood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glencoe Camp Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencoe Camp Resort

Property: Glencoe Camp Resort
Address: P.O. Box 999, Sturgis, SD 57785-0999
Region: United States > South Dakota > Sturgis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Sturgis
Number of rooms: 1000
Also Known As:
Glencoe Camp Hotel Sturgis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing