We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent with a little bit of extra on top.”
Review of O'Grady Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
O'Grady Lodge
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We have stayed in the O’Grady Lodge over weekend with our friends. It was 6 of us altogether (3 couples) and we had absolutely fantastic time.
Paddy and Judy – your hosts - make you feel welcome from the moment you met them. They are attentive, generous and genuinely friendly couple.
We stayed in three different bedrooms and each one of them had its character. Every bedroom has private balcony. Furnishing, bedding and all amenities and supplies –are top notch. Everything you can think of luxury and comfort is there: filtered water, Nespresso coffee machine (with the vast variety of coffee), little sweet treats, fresh flowers, fridge full of drinks and non-alcoholic beverages, very comfortable bed and luscious bedding, SKY TV, heatpump, even docking station for your Iphone/Ipod. Generous size bathroom has a spa, shower, under floor heating and spotless clean.
At night Judy and Paddy has dropped us off and picked us up from the local restaurant where we had a good steak for a dinner.
Breakfast in the morning was delicious. Variety, freshness and presentation were absolutely great. We didn’t want to leave. Such a great place where you feel like home, treated gracefully by your hosts.
We definitely recommend this place as a luxury retreat with a little bit of extra on top.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TetaTet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for O'Grady Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2011

We had a great time at the O'grady lodge. It is situated in a green and relaxing area about 30-40 min from Auckland. The house and our room was exceptional, spacious with luxury features such as personal spa, balcony with a beautiful view. Paddy and Judy are great hosts, they are friendly and really helpful. The breakfast was delicious and we had a great choice of food. Our portions were so generous that we could only eat again at night that day.

Room Tip: I have not seen other rooms, but our was spacious with a spa, not far from the common room where the...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Beautifully presented bed and breakfast. Hosts are friendly and welcoming. Really appreciated the excellent food - what a cook! Rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

O'Grady Lodge sits on a hillside surrounded by tropical gardens 25 minutes north of Auckland. It has been designed and constucted by two of the most hospitable people one could ever meet, Paddy and Judy, and everything about O'Gradys is pure class.It begins at the front door with the welcome , continues into the bedrooms and bathrooms, immaculately and tastefully furnished, full of " little extras ", flowers, homemade biscuits and chocolates, expresso coffee machine with coffe pods, all sorts of treats in the fridge, and many more.Breakfasts were wonderful, full of fresh exotic fruits and breads, with of course the full cooked option to follow.
All the bedrooms have outside balconies as does the beautiful lounge ,which also features a large fireplace burning brightly during the cool evenings of our three night stay. Paddy and Judy love to chat and share a bottle of wine or two in the evenings and we(4) were happy to oblige especially as we just completed a Wine Tour in the South Island. They take the running of the Lodge completely in their stride despite both having full-time jobs. We all loved staying here and were sorry to leave.Its far enough away from the hassle and sprawl of Auckland but near enough if one wants to visit with a Park and Ride nearby. We had a memorable few days at the O'Gradys and highly recommend the Lodge to all.

Room Tip: They're all very good, exact replicas of each other, two upstairs and two underneath on the grou...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

O'Grady Lodge was a great experience. Paddy and Judy made us feel so welcome and at home immediately upon arrival. The rooms were comfortably furnished and the bathrooms clean and roomy. Breakfast was a treat each day to start our adventures, then happy hour to share our adventures later on was fun. There was no way any other of the other places we stayed on our 2 week vacay could compare to the hospitality and comfort O'Grady Lodge offered to us.

Room Tip: Email the lodge and work with them on your dates.....2 rooms upstairs, 2 down - all very comfortable
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Konacowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

O'Gradys was a wow. No expectations as our very first B&B experience. Met personally on driveway by Paddy, take up to the room. Entrance was warm & welcoming - the "library" reading room was stacked with shelves of books & DVDs too. Our room was beautiful - fresh flowers (!!! don't usually receive fresh flowers in a 5 star hotel room), chocolates & homemade cookies, expresso machine & mini bar with bottled water, variety of non-alcoholic beverages & some champagne/NZ sav blanc to enjoy in the massive jet spa. Impressed by the QUALITY of finishes, great lighting, robes, slippers, warm towels... Welcome by Judy & Paddy again exceeded expectations - warm, gracious & made us feel so comfortable - perfect hosts. As we arrived late at night, they invited us to join for dinner - was a gourmet treat, as was the fine NZ pinot. Bed was super comfortable, heated floor was lovely as we are from warmer climates of Australia. Breakfast was 5 star - we couldn't fit in the cooked breakfast as the fresh fruit, juices, condiments, variety of breads was so filling! It was a shame we had really only a night & early morning to experience as we had work - however, look forward to staying with them again. I have no hesitation in recommending O'Grady's Lodges to anyone who wishes to be personally & warmly pampered! It is with pleasure that I write this recommendation. Thank you Paddy & Judy.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebonytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

The O'Grady lodge was easily the best place we stayed on our recent trip to New Zealand. The building is beautifully placed in a rural location about half an hour out of Auckland, with lovely views of the NZ countryside falling gently away from the sitting room and elevated deck where you can relax with a fine cup of tea or coffee- only birdsong and the odd distant moo to distract you here. It’s an impressive building; the public rooms are enormous, airy, high-ceilinged spaces designed in natural wood and the bedrooms are large and comfortable with en-suite jacuzzis, a large TV and fridge as well as thoughtful touches like a high quality coffee maker and some well-chosen books and magazines.
Despite these good things, what you’ll probably enjoy most about the O’Grady lodge are the food and the company. Paddy and Judy are the kindest of hosts, attentive without being overly fussy, very friendly and easy going. Judy is a really an outstanding cook who seems to love taking care of people and Paddy himself is a grand and genial host. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CuttingBracken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to O'Grady Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Grady Lodge

Address: 159 Windmill Drive, Wainui, Auckland 0992, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Wainui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Wainui
Price Range: £94 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O'Grady Lodge is a luxury B&B located in a peaceful country setting just minutes from the Northern Motorway and is a perfect stopover for travellers heading north from Auckland or departing New Zealand the following day. We offer four guest rooms, serviced daily, with top of the range Sealy beds, en-suite bathrooms with double spa baths and quality amenities, including Nespresso coffee and l'occitane products. All rooms have underfloor heating and/or air-conditioning. Pre-dinner drinks and canapes, a sumptuous breakfast and complimentary mini-bar are included in the tariff. French, German and Japanese spoken. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing