We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend with generous hosts”
Review of O'Grady Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
O'Grady Lodge
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Spent two nights at O'Grady's over a long weekend. Were looking for a quiet weekend with high quality accommodation. We stayed in an upstairs bedroom with a lovely view of the countryside. Our room was clean and had fantastic spa bath. Paddy and Judy are very generous, friendly and attentive hosts. Judy's food is amazing. Excellent value also - we researched a number of B&Bs just outside of the Auckland area and many offering similar things to O'Grady's were charging $100 more per night if not more. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bekpnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

I only have incredible things to say!! I cannot wait to come back with my wife. I was in town for work and found the O'Gradys. I was greeted by Paddy and Judy who open up their home for the most wonderful B&B experience ever. I have stayed at 20 or so in the US, and this was a dream visit. The property is a gardener's dream, over a decade of love and care on their 10 acre NZ country estate. The entire home and every room are all 5-Start++. I have stayed at 5-Star resorts, and this is to the top. The hot tubs in every room are so nice that I described them as the most expensive, comfortable jacuzzi tubs you can buy. Honestly, the best part of it is Paddy & Judy. I now consider them friends and I really hope to see them again. If you pass this place up, I promise you that you are making a big mistake. It is close to Auckland, and a little piece of heaven in North Island. P.S. - Paddy & Judy are great cooks!! The food was awesome!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Based off the glowing reviews here, I booked 2 nights in November at the O'Grady Lodge. Knowing that the drive from downtown Auckland would be about 35 minutes, I was a little hesitant. However, upon arrival at the lodge, I quickly realized it was one of the best booking decisions I had ever made!

Firstly, the surrounds: beautiful, rolling verdant countryside, an absolute dead ringer for Matamata's Hobbiton. Incredibly peaceful, the wind rustling through trees and the native bird song are pretty much the only noise you'll hear.

Then there's the lodge - a large beautiful Hawaiian style lodge with a magnificent main room and huge deck looking out over the surrounding farmland. The room we stayed in was on the top level (I believe there are 4 rooms that are off to the side of the main lodge). We were the only ones there for the 2 nights. The guest room was large, with its own balcony and a modern bathroom fit for a 5 star hotel. The bed, almost needless to say, was very comfortable.

The hosts - Paddy and Judy, 2 of the nicest, most low key, down-to-earth people I've ever met. One thing I dislike about B&Bs is the requirement to socialize, but Paddy and Judy know when to give you space and time to yourself. At the same time, Paddy's always around to offer snacks and a great conversation, or in the morning, a delicious and lavish breakfast.

In summary, the glowing reviews here are accurate, and don't worry about the distance from Auckland, it's not that bad unless you drive with the morning or evening commute. Do yourself a favor and stay here a few nights.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roamingmonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed at Ogrady Lodge on Jan/Feb 2014. I have to say, I travel a lot for work, and I mean, a lot, probably at least a week or two in average per month, and I've been in way too many places. Ogrady's is the absolute BEST place that I've ever stayed at. It's not just the magnificent beauty of the location and the modern and incredibly good taste decoration of the lodge and the accommodations. But the most important thing to us was the warmth of our hosts. Paddy and Judy are just amazing. They treated us like friends or even family. They make the absolute best breakfast !! I told them the first day that I'm from Mexico, and they were so kind that the next day they had a salt and pepper shakers from Mexico on the table, that was such a nice touch. Judy even left home made fresh baked cookies in our room when we arrived. I totally recommend it. You are only 20 or 30 minutes away from Auckland, but still you are out in the country to enjoy the beauty and quiet surroundings. Very close to the North Shore beaches and also close to the West Coast. I truly want to thank Paddy and Judy for one of the best times that we had in our lives.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Nikau room. Absolutely gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

The O'Gradys (Paddy and Judy) magically combine an experience which is all the professionalism of service associated with a top-notch luxury resort, and the warmth and hospitality that is as if you were friends visiting as house guests. Nothing is compromised in the setting, furniture and fixtures of a quality venue that is exquisite - but which nonetheless at the same time has a homely feel that makes relaxing and enjoying the facilities natural.
It was a delightful surprise that such wonderful lodgings were available and so easily accessible right on the doorstep of Auckland, and we will certainly be returning to enjoy this treat again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We were extremely surprised with this stunning lodge! The rooms are large, beautiful and tastefully decorated with a lot of attention to detail such as bathrobes, mini bar, coffee making facilities, flowers, fruit, biscuits, chocolates, etc. The breakfasts are exceptional and tasty, you definitely can't get better.

Paddy even drove our group to a restaurant and picked us up again for which we were really greatful and not to mention the welcome tea and wines and snacks they served!

The only regret was that we spent 1 night, if we had known about this luxury hideaway earlier we would have loved to stay 2 nights.

A precious place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cape-town-best
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

My husband and I have stayed here a couple of times now, and it's the BEST place ever to stay. Love the amazing, huge, comfy bed, so peaceful and quiet, all topped off by a huge spa bath and giant shower!

The breakfast was incredible - yummy and so much to go around! Along with great company, and a beautiful location.

Stay here - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikkig257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to O'Grady Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Grady Lodge

Address: 159 Windmill Drive, Wainui, Auckland 0992, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Wainui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Wainui
Price Range: £91 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O'Grady Lodge is a luxury B&B located in a peaceful country setting just minutes from the Northern Motorway and is a perfect stopover for travellers heading north from Auckland or departing New Zealand the following day. We offer four guest rooms, serviced daily, with top of the range Sealy beds, en-suite bathrooms with double spa baths and quality amenities, including Nespresso coffee and l'occitane products. All rooms have underfloor heating and/or air-conditioning. Pre-dinner drinks and canapes, a sumptuous breakfast and complimentary mini-bar are included in the tariff. French, German and Japanese spoken. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing