We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apple Tree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apple Tree Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Keenthorne
Certificate of Excellence
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Was booked into this hotel for 1 night and was pleasantly surprised. After a busy day traveling, I was checked in and shown to my room. The room was spotless and very comfortable. As I had been traveling all day, I decided to go straight down for dinner. There was only 7 people in the restaurant, but it took nearly and hour to cook a steak and when it arrived it was over cooked and swimming in some insipid sauce! The veg was also well overdone! Someone on the next table did complain about there meal and was offered a drink to compensate!
I think the "chef" should try a catering college.
Other than the food, it was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nttm_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonbrice, Owner at Apple Tree Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Apple Tree Hotel we appreciate your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the hotel but were sorry you were disappointed with your meal, we would have been happy to replace it had you mentioned it when we asked if everything was okay. The French mustard, mushroom and brandy cream sauce can be quite strong and not to everyone's palette. We hope we may have the chance to re-assure you of our competence on a next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    32
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
13
34
7
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lostwithiel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stayed for a weekend with a group of friends. Breakfast excellent & well cooked (including haddock with poached egg). Similarly evening meal. Bar area & 'library' comfortable.
Bottled water in room, with tea coffee etc. Comfortable bed.
We were in the 'extra rooms' outside & my only complaint is that the walls/soundproofing could be better. Voices next door could be heard (especially in bathroom) & loo flushing.
The exit back on to the main road is a bit hairy - traffic bombs along the A39.
But overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornish_traveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonbrice, Owner at Apple Tree Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review the Apple Tree Hotel, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are a little disappointed that you heard noise from the room next door as these rooms do have solid walls, we only hope it won't detract from you visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanidloes
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We had been touring Cornwall and had booked one night in the Apple Tree Hotel near Bridgwater on our way home to Wales. What a pleasant surprise! The owners, Simon and Gill, were really friendly without being intrusive. The room we had was not big but was light and pleasantly decorated in blue and white, with a walk-in shower and flat screen TV. Toiletries were provided. There is a bar and pleasant sitting area with a small library. Dinner is served in the conservatory. Very comfortable upholstered chairs. Simon does the cooking and the meal was excellent with a good choice, and very reasonable prices, and large portions. Breakfast was equally good. We certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonbrice, Owner at Apple Tree Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
It was a delight to meet you both, thank you for taking the time to comment, hopefully we will see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

Great hosts who make you genuinely welcome the food is first class .The Hotel is spotlessly clean but needs some modernisation however the Hosts make up for the tired rooms with their personalities.They deserve more visitors to help invest in the business they are worthy of a first class Hotel please go there they will not dissapoint.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avidCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonbrice, Owner at Apple Tree Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay it was lovely to meet you, we wish you well back in Cornwall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Stayed at the Apple Tree hotel with 7 friends before setting off on the Coleridge Way. Lovely hotel in a beautiful area, very clean and comfortable with an excellent restaurant and a great bar. The owner was very helpful and the rooms provided were perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonbrice, Owner at Apple Tree Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Many thanks for your kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Apple Tree Hotel and hope we can offer our hospitality to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
140 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013 via mobile

My wife booked a meal in the restaurant as a surprise as we had not been for a few years and had discussed going back.

It's run by a lovely couple with great staff and it was fantastic to see the quality had not changed since the last time.

Beautifully cooked food served by friendly staff which is well worth a visit if you're in the area.

Will be going back shortly :-)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank keithowen99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonbrice, Owner at Apple Tree Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
So glad to see you return to the Apple Tree and that you once again enjoyed your visit. We pride ourselves on quality and consistency, thank you for your lovely comments and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

Spent one night here and from the outside the hotel doesn't look like much but that all changes from check-in. Simon is a wonderful host and makes you feel like close friends rather than paying guests. Our room and en-suite were very clean and the bed extremely comfortable. Dinner was absolutely sublime! My husband had the lasange with salad and he had problems finishing the portion served. My salmon with a white wine, cream and grape sauce was absolutely amazing! Breakfast was cooked to perfection. A lovely, quiet hotel which is perfect for couples wanting a peaceful weekend get away. Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the 4 poster bed as it is at the end of the block on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina8933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonbrice, Owner at Apple Tree Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments, we hope we can offer you our hospitality again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keenthorne
16.4 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bridgwater Hotel
3.2 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Admirals Table
Admirals Table
#4 of 6 in Bridgwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Walnut Tree Hotel
The Walnut Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Petherton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Bower Inn
The Bower Inn
#2 of 31 in Bridgwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Tree Hotel

Property: Apple Tree Hotel
Address: Keenthorne | Nr Nether Stowey, Keenthorne, Bridgwater TA5 1HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bridgwater > Keenthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Keenthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Apple Tree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Apple Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing