We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and helpful staff”
Review of Apple Tree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apple Tree Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Keenthorne
Certificate of Excellence
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very friendly and helpful staff”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed here with a group of 21 bellringers for 3 nights. It is difficult to criticise anything because the staff were so excellent, especially Simon. He showed a real interest in who we were and what we were doing - felt like a real home from home. The breakfast was excellent with the most wonderful crispy bacon, and the evening meals were also excellent. The room (we were in one of the garden rooms) was very comfortable and spacious, with everything you need. The only reason for not giving a 5 star review is the slight lack of attention to cleanliness in our room. Don't get me wrong, it was pretty clean, but there was a large (and old!) cobweb on the curtain pelmet, and the shelf where the kettle was needed a good wipe. My only other niggle was a smell of drains outside our room (we were the end one) but this wasn't a problem once inside the room, just a bit unpleasant when walking to the room. There were also loads of cobwebs and bits in the outside corridor bit leading to our room. I appreciate this is a county setting, but just needed a bit of enthusiasm with a broom every morning - wouldn't take a minute.
Having said that, I would definitely stay there again, and would recommend it, although it is a little on the expensive side.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonbrice, Owner at Apple Tree Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you so much for your comments and taking the time to review the Apple Tree, we're glad you enjoyed your stay. We have already addressed all the issues raised including the cobwebs both inside the hotel and along the outside corridor, we thank you for bringing them to our attention and are in the process of structuring an even better cleaning strategy for the hotel. The drain smell comes from a nearby stream, not our drains and thankfully doesn't occur very often but we will investigate with the environment agency to see if a solution can be found.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    33
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
13
38
7
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Recently stayed at the Apple Tree Hotel in Bridgewater whilst working from our companies office nearby.

It is a small hotel based in a rural location with close links to Exmoor National Park and I suppose Minehead for those who wish to visit the resort.

The room for which I was shown to was nothing to write home about however, it had all the essential elements required i.e. flat screen television, wifi, en-suite etc however, creaking floorboards were a little annoying with also the lack of space within the en-suite which is the basic reason for only awarding the hotel an average rating.

The staff were very accommodating and pleasant. I was greeted and booked in at reception by Simon who is also the chef and I believe owner he was a good chap as were the bar and restaurant staff.

Food was excellent with plenty of choice for the evening meal whilst the breakfast was equally as good. One old chap was taken ill one night in the restaurant and the staff all rallied around to ensure he was made comfortable and free from harm.

Would I stay there again? YES

Room Tip: Maybe to avoid creaking floorboard one of the annex rooms may be an option
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S1CEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonbrice, Owner at Apple Tree Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review the Apple Tree Hotel your comments are very important to us, and we were glad you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately on this occasion you were allocated the one room with creaky floorboards, we are sorry this disturbed you and hope to address this in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed 5 nights on business. Warm welcome and front of house staff really good.
Room was clean and well appointed, with a few nice touches, nothing lacking, free wi-fi was a good feature also.
For breakfast, i really enjoyed smoked haddock and poached eggs, a couple of times, sets you up for the day nicely, and makes a welcome change to the normal (and available here, of course) full works of bacon, sausage, etc.
Evening meal menu has enough variety to suit most, with a couple of specials each evening to ring the changes
Evening meal prices vary to suit budgets; The (large) fillet steak was at the top end of the pricing, but was cooked to perfection and remained "juicy" and succulent from start to finish. Nothing wrong with the house red either.
All in all, a great place to stay and eat.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilacwheaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonbrice, Owner at Apple Tree Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to review the Apple Tree. We hope we can offer you our hospitality again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Was booked into this hotel for 1 night and was pleasantly surprised. After a busy day traveling, I was checked in and shown to my room. The room was spotless and very comfortable. As I had been traveling all day, I decided to go straight down for dinner. There was only 7 people in the restaurant, but it took nearly and hour to cook a steak and when it arrived it was over cooked and swimming in some insipid sauce! The veg was also well overdone! Someone on the next table did complain about there meal and was offered a drink to compensate!
I think the "chef" should try a catering college.
Other than the food, it was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nttm_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonbrice, Owner at Apple Tree Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Apple Tree Hotel we appreciate your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the hotel but were sorry you were disappointed with your meal, we would have been happy to replace it had you mentioned it when we asked if everything was okay. The French mustard, mushroom and brandy cream sauce can be quite strong and not to everyone's palette. We hope we may have the chance to re-assure you of our competence on a next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lostwithiel, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stayed for a weekend with a group of friends. Breakfast excellent & well cooked (including haddock with poached egg). Similarly evening meal. Bar area & 'library' comfortable.
Bottled water in room, with tea coffee etc. Comfortable bed.
We were in the 'extra rooms' outside & my only complaint is that the walls/soundproofing could be better. Voices next door could be heard (especially in bathroom) & loo flushing.
The exit back on to the main road is a bit hairy - traffic bombs along the A39.
But overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornish_traveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonbrice, Owner at Apple Tree Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review the Apple Tree Hotel, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are a little disappointed that you heard noise from the room next door as these rooms do have solid walls, we only hope it won't detract from you visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanidloes
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We had been touring Cornwall and had booked one night in the Apple Tree Hotel near Bridgwater on our way home to Wales. What a pleasant surprise! The owners, Simon and Gill, were really friendly without being intrusive. The room we had was not big but was light and pleasantly decorated in blue and white, with a walk-in shower and flat screen TV. Toiletries were provided. There is a bar and pleasant sitting area with a small library. Dinner is served in the conservatory. Very comfortable upholstered chairs. Simon does the cooking and the meal was excellent with a good choice, and very reasonable prices, and large portions. Breakfast was equally good. We certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonbrice, Owner at Apple Tree Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
It was a delight to meet you both, thank you for taking the time to comment, hopefully we will see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

Great hosts who make you genuinely welcome the food is first class .The Hotel is spotlessly clean but needs some modernisation however the Hosts make up for the tired rooms with their personalities.They deserve more visitors to help invest in the business they are worthy of a first class Hotel please go there they will not dissapoint.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avidCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonbrice, Owner at Apple Tree Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay it was lovely to meet you, we wish you well back in Cornwall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keenthorne
3.2 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
5.6 mi away
The Walnut Tree Hotel
The Walnut Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Petherton
246 reviews
16.3 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#4 of 12 in Minehead
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Travelodge Bridgwater M5
Travelodge Bridgwater M5
#6 of 6 in Bridgwater
175 reviews
5.6 mi away
Admirals Table
Admirals Table
#4 of 6 in Bridgwater
249 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Tree Hotel

Property: Apple Tree Hotel
Address: Keenthorne | Nr Nether Stowey, Keenthorne, Bridgwater TA5 1HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bridgwater > Keenthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Keenthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Apple Tree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Apple Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing