We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bybeck B&B...the place to B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bybeck Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grange-in-Borrowdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bybeck Bed and Breakfast
Sleaford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bybeck B&B...the place to B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Third visit to Bybeck B&B, everything perfect as usual!
David & Marilyn's attention to detail never surprises us, fantastic food & great advice on what to do and where to go.
You will not know what you are missing until you make your first visit...and you will return.
Make sure you book early as they are very busy.
Thanks again David & Marilyn for a wonderful few days.

Room Tip: All rooms great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
52
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights having travelled up from Devon, shame it could've been more! 

I can't rate this place and David's and Marilyn's hospitality high enough. The room was lovely, the place was lovely and the breakfast yummy. Also Davids suggestion with a alternate route to the summit of scafel pike and his directions in which he hand wrote for us were spot on. Further to this after our long walk we arrived back at our room where there were scones waiting for us.

On another note, thank you for the earl great tea in our room. I'd not tried it before but haven't stopped drinking it since my stay.

We will be heading back as soon as we can to try another of David's routes.

Thank you both so much for a lovely and memorable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrChips_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottingham,
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

How lucky we were to choose the Bybeck B&B for our recent stay in Borrowdale in the Lakes! From start to finish we had a fantastic experience.

This was due in the main to the wonderful hospitality shown towards us by David and Marilyn, who were the friendliest and most accommodating hosts we have ever met. Not only was it a privilege to stay in their comfortable and immaculate home, we were able to benefit from their extensive local knowledge of places to visit in the surrounding area, (of which there are many, acessible from their doorstep), coupled with the provision of laminated O/S maps to guide us on our way.

We thoroughly enjoyed the short walk on Grange Crags to 'Surprise View' with David on the evening of our arrival, where we were captivated with the breath taking views over Derwent Water, far superior to any in the guide books. We were so grateful that David had taken time out from what had previously been a very hectic day for him and Marilyn, helping to organise and attend an important community event in the village. Marilyn too gave us a warm welcome that afternoon and presented us with a tray of tea and delicious homemade scones, for which we were very grateful after our long drive. My special gluten free dietary requirements were admirably catered for, both at breakfast (even down to the 'yummy' and notorious dropped scones) and the lovely afternoon delights of cake etc in the room on return from our daily walks. David and Marilyn could not do enough for us; their dedication and commitment to ensuring our stay was superb was second to none.

To anyone looking for a place to stay in this part of the Lakes, we cannot recommend highly enough a visit to the Bybeck B&B, where you will see for yourselves what a delightful place it is, experience the charm of Grange with its surrounding views and meet the lovely David and Marilyn. We were sad to leave after our first visit but have fortunately been able to book again later in the year, which we are looking forward to very much.

Room Tip: Double room, although smaller than the Twin, was adequate for our needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Have just spent a weekend at Bybeck and feel like we have made new friends with David and Marilyn.They are the most excellent hosts,they are so lovely and besides being lovely people,they run their B&B in such a proffesional manner.Nothing is too much trouble.Marilyn makes the most wonderful cakes,which we, came Im going to put home to,because it felt like home,after our walk.Everything is spotless and good quality.We stayed in the twin room,it has two windows from which you can watch the world go by.The beds are lovely and comfortable.Top marks Davin and Marylin,you cant improve on perfection.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

We had a fabulous 3 nights with David and Marilyn. The room was comfortable and the freshly cooked food was superb. D&M shared their wealth of local knowledge which helped our visit go so well. We felt very welcome in their home spending time chatting to them on several occasions.
Sadly we were unable to book the dates we wanted for our return this year, but plan to pop in to see them when we are inearby.
We would thoroughly recommend ByBeck as the perfect base to explore the Lake District

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

An absolutely outstanding experience staying at The Bybeck. The room was exceptional, well equipped and the facilities second to none. Breakfast was superb with any requirements happily met. The drop scones are to die for. The location is fantastic and the views memorable. Last but not least, Marylin & David are very special people with a gift to make you feel comfortable sharing their magnificent home. Many thanks.

Room Tip: Rooms with teddy bears are more fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gpl5t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at the Bybeck b&b. I was staying alone and was made to feel extremely welcome by David and Marilyn ,they were the perfect hosts. My room was lovely ,spotlessly clean and the breakfast was wonderful.Really enjoyed my stay ,Marilyn makes great chocolate cake which was left in my room one evening . Would

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stu10100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grange-in-Borrowdale
1.1 mi away
The Leathes Head
The Leathes Head
#2 of 5 in Borrowdale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
1.7 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bybeck Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bybeck Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bybeck Bed and Breakfast
Address: Bybeck Bybeck Bybeck, Grange-in-Borrowdale, Borrowdale CA12 5UQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale > Grange-in-Borrowdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grange-in-Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bybeck is a refurbished lakeland stone house offering two beautiful en-suite bedrooms for B&B. There are wonderful views of the Borrowdale fells from both rooms. Warm hospitality, home cooking and delicious breakfasts add to the appeal. There is a good bus service to Keswick (5 miles) and Honister Pass. Many walks can be planned directly from the B&B's front door. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing