We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful weekend!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bybeck Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grange-in-Borrowdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bybeck Bed and Breakfast
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

My husband and I were in the Lake District for a wedding - we are not walkers!!!! David and Marilyn were fantastic hosts, friendly and very informative. Our room was immaculate and extremely comfortable: there was a great selection for breakfast and I would recommend David's dropscones, bacon and maple syrup, delicious! We had such a relaxing break, thoroughly enjoyable.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jan191255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
52
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Bybeck is perfectly situated with excellent walks in all directions right from the doorstep. The house is beautiful and David and Marilyn's hospitality was fantastic. They gave us sound advise on fell walking and even supplied us with maps. An excellent and varied menu for breakfast to set you up for the day. Our holiday has only just finished and we are missing them already. Looking forward to our next stay with them.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neil g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Bybeck B&B is a perfect choice for a stay in the Lake District. The friendly and witty hosts, David & Marilyn really went out of their way to make our stay memorable. The rooms are spotlessly clean with excellent power showers and the fantastic breakfast is more than enough for even strenuous walkers (which we are not). Would recommend this little home from home to anyone and we will surely be back in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydstep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

David and Marilyn were brilliant hosts, nothing was too much trouble and they made our stay in the Lake District truly memorable and enjoyable. Their attention to detail and wonderful hospitality really made our trip. The house was quiet and of very high quality and we departed with sadness, but now with some new friends in Borrowdale!! We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, Ca
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Like most all of the reviews of Bybeck B&B we thought it was a fantastic find. David and Marilyn were great hosts providing us with a comfortable and enjoyable place to stay on our visit to the Lake District. You can tell that they take great pride not only in their home, but in the community in which they take an active part. They provided us with maps of the local walking trails and we fully enjoyed our explorations. One afternoon they went out of their way and invited us on a driving tour of the area.

We stayed in the twin room. The beds were comfortable and our room had adequate space with two chairs. Breakfast was great and the eggs were cooked to order. We spent a month in England and the Lake District was our favorite. If we ever get to go back we will be staying with David and Marilyn at Bybeck.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dgassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Third visit to Bybeck B&B, everything perfect as usual!
David & Marilyn's attention to detail never surprises us, fantastic food & great advice on what to do and where to go.
You will not know what you are missing until you make your first visit...and you will return.
Make sure you book early as they are very busy.
Thanks again David & Marilyn for a wonderful few days.

Room Tip: All rooms great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights having travelled up from Devon, shame it could've been more! 

I can't rate this place and David's and Marilyn's hospitality high enough. The room was lovely, the place was lovely and the breakfast yummy. Also Davids suggestion with a alternate route to the summit of scafel pike and his directions in which he hand wrote for us were spot on. Further to this after our long walk we arrived back at our room where there were scones waiting for us.

On another note, thank you for the earl great tea in our room. I'd not tried it before but haven't stopped drinking it since my stay.

We will be heading back as soon as we can to try another of David's routes.

Thank you both so much for a lovely and memorable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrChips_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grange-in-Borrowdale
1.1 mi away
The Leathes Head
The Leathes Head
#2 of 5 in Borrowdale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
1.7 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bybeck Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bybeck Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bybeck Bed and Breakfast
Address: Bybeck Bybeck Bybeck, Grange-in-Borrowdale, Borrowdale CA12 5UQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale > Grange-in-Borrowdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grange-in-Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bybeck is a refurbished lakeland stone house offering two beautiful en-suite bedrooms for B&B. There are wonderful views of the Borrowdale fells from both rooms. Warm hospitality, home cooking and delicious breakfasts add to the appeal. There is a good bus service to Keswick (5 miles) and Honister Pass. Many walks can be planned directly from the B&B's front door. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing