We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Place to Spend New Year”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Place to Spend New Year”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We came across Borrowdale Gates after a recommendation from our friends who had booked in for the New Year. It's located about 4 miles past Keswick in a lovely little village. We were warmly greeted at reception and the check in was very pleasant and personal.
Our room looked like it had recently been renovated. I believe the new owners took over 4 years ago and have been investing in the property ever since. There was myself, my wife and 11 year old son and we had an excellently proportioned room with 2 bedrooms - perfect for a family.
The fires were roaring in the lounges so we spent plenty of time with our feet up sitting in what we called 'pole position' either reading or playing chess or cards.
Because of its location you can walk straight out of the hotel and pretty much on to an off road pathway that was ideal as we also have a dog (did I mention they have dog friendly rooms?). The Cumbria Way goes past the hotel so you can walk either towards Keswick - nice leisurely 4-5 mile relatively flat walk, or up the hills the other way. The hotel is on the bus route so if you find yourself a way away at the end of the day you always know you can get back.
We stayed on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis. Breakfasts were super - traditional Cumberland brekkie or what ever took your fancy with plenty of freshly made toast and pots of tea or coffee.
Our dinners were lovely, having a pre dinner drink you perused the limited but varied menu (there was something for everyone in our group) and then were invited to your table once ordered. The wine list has some lovely bottles on but again was limited - on the positive side, not expensive.
The highlight for the food was the superb soups they made, particularly the Parsnip which was to die for (and I am not usually a soup eater in restaurants). The chocolate fondant was also a real hit. All of the mains were cooked very nicely but didn't 'stand-out' however do not take this as a negative - this is great wholesome food.
Service was always with a smile and people seemed happy working there.
Overall I'd say it is a great place for families to stay (even though a lot of the residents were in the older age category), and makes a super base for exploring the northern Lakes area. My car didn't move for the three days we were there.
Highly recommendable - almost got a 5 out of 5.
It would have got 5 if they created a lounge with a fire for those with dogs - I know after a long walk my Greyhound would have loved to lounge in front of the fire.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 20 which was more than adequate for 4. Our friends stayed in room 6 on the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JonathanHirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    59
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
60
231
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Southport UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We have been fortunate to have visited this beautifully located hotel twice this year.
Our family has celebrated significant wedding anniversaries and New Year 2013 .
The hotel has some named rooms, and as a family we have been privileged to have resided in 'Rogue Herries', ''Watendlath', 'Mandarin', 'Millican Dalton', and room 3.
The whole family hope to return.
The hotel is an experience of measured professional catering.
Breakfasts are 5 star. Eggs Benedict is very pleasant.
A well stocked bar with Perroni on draft and high quality ale from local brewers in kegs
The evening meal is always the highlight of the day.
The menu is online and the wine list is well researched.

Room Tip: Rogue Herries is my favourite room but Mandarin is exciting ! All rooms have individuality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilterns
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

My wife and I spent Christmas at the Borrowdale Gates and had a lovely time. Of course we expected it to be special with 90% of reviewers on Tripadvisor awarding five stars and we were not disappointed. When you see the staff wearing white cotton gloves to lay the tables, you know this is a place with impeccable standards.

We visit the Lakes every year and have tried several hotels, some of which we have reviewed on this website.The Borrowdale Gates is the only one we have given five stars because it is simply the best. Best for location, nestling close to Derwentwater and in the shadow of Catbells; best for service; best for comfort and space; best for friendly efficient staff; and among the best for food. We cannot wait to go back in the Summer.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilasMarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We recently spent a most pleasure able weekend here. The rooms are 5* as is everything about the place. I tried to think of a weakness to balance what I felt would be an outstanding review but failed... other than they didn't publish the fact that there is free wifi everywhere :-)

Would visit again tomorrow if free. A great base for walking and shopping in Keswick. Why visit Europe?

Room Tip: They are all new and fitted out in light oak to a high standards. Beds are incredibly comfortable wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelU1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Having just returned from our third visit to this hotel since I last wrote a review, I am pleased to report that the excellent standards have been maintained. My friends and I have felt for some time that the Borrowdale Gates must be one of the best hotels in the Lake District. The loyal staff continue to be very welcoming to both new and returning guests; nothing is too much trouble for them. The restaurant continues to serve a variety of excellent food: always the highlight of the day after spending time in the beautiful outdoors of this area ( even if the weather could have been better!)
The hotel is furnished to the highest standards and the housekeeping staff are vigilant in their daily routine of servicing guests' rooms.
Another excellent 4 night break - we shall be back again (and again!)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My wife and I booked this break for earlier in September, but due to a number of factors, were unable to take the opportunity to visit the Lakes until 22nd October. I actually had to postpone the break twice, calling the hotel direct and the receptionist could not have been more helpful, even re booking our previously booked room, which was a ground floor garden suite.

Our stay was very relaxing, with a lovely warm room, king size bed, very modern shower / wet room and tea, coffee making facilities all topped up adequately each day. I needed an extra pillow and one was provided with the utmost speed!
The autumn view down towards Keswick and Derwentwater from our patio door was breathtaking, particularly because the weather was so kind for the 3 nights we spent at the Borrowdale Gates.

Some of the rooms are pet friendly and we had taken advantage of this, however, you would not think that of the room as it was spotless and due to being on the ground floor, we could take our little dog around to the car park without taking her through the hotel corridors.

The meals in the resaturant were beautifully presented, varied and of a very high standard. Served in a very professional manner.

All in all, a very enjoyable break with extremely friendly staff and a visibly proactive manager who was cheery, approachable and informative.

Would go here again.

Room Tip: The new wing has beautiful rooms next to the field so views are lovely, very good if you have a pet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkieman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

If you're looking for a hotel with convivial guests, first-class service, excellent food and beautiful views, the Borrowdale Gates is for you.

We stayed for four nights and will definitely come back in the spring.

Our room was on the first floor in the refurbished area and was modern and comfortable. There were nice touches for winter walkers, such as the ability to override the hotel's timer settings, if you wanted instant heat, and a contemporary fire as well as radiators.

After a hard day on the fells, dinner was a real treat and began with drinks and nibbles in the bar while perusing the menu and wine list. The food was excellent. If the specials menu includes slow cooked beef in Black Sheep ale, I highly recommend it. Breakfast was excellent too, with a good selection and hot dishes cooked to order.

The restaurant has lovely views and several bird feeders so there is plenty to look at.

The staff offer service of the old-fashioned, refined sort where nothing is too much trouble.

The only area for improvement is a bigger bed: the bed was a standard double, which seems a bit small these days compared to the queen beds found in most luxe hotels. I would also get rid of the ghastly plastic and dried flower arrangements and have real flowers.

Some of the public areas are a little tired but I'm sure they are part of the refurbishment programme. And besides, it must be quite comforting to come back as a repeat guest and find some of the "home from home" touches still there.

The guests were mostly couples age 55 plus, so the hotel experience was as peaceful as the beautiful hills surrounding it.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms are modernised and a very high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hyacinth_bucket2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grange-in-Borrowdale
0.7 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
15.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.3 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
5.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Borrowdale Gates Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Borrowdale Gates Hotel

Property: The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
Address: Grange-In-Borrowdale | Keswick, Grange-in-Borrowdale, Borrowdale CA12 5UQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale > Grange-in-Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grange-in-Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Borrowdale Gates Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel is set amidst the breathtaking scenery of the Borrowdale Valley, the "loveliest square mile in Lakeland", according to Alfred Wainwright (MBE). Close to the shores of Derwent Water in two acres of woodland in Grange near Keswick, this is an ideal situation for walking, climbing, and touring the Lake District direct from the doorstep. There are many places of literary and historical interest within the local area. This beautiful family owned and run hotel has undergone a real transformation since 2008 with a full refurbishment completed in September 2012 to earn its current four star AA rating. With elegant contemporary rooms, a rosette award winning dining room, cosy bar and lounge, guests are assured of a warm welcome to enjoy stunning panoramic views during their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Borrowdale Gates Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borrowdale Gates Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing