We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Idyllic, relaxed country house charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Idyllic, relaxed country house charm”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Almost faultless and that star quality of being family run - low key service with a smile and lots of little touches, the food was superb. We (myself and my parents) had initially booked 3 nights but after the first evening we enquire if it might be possible to extend our stay. Fortunately for us 1 further night was possible. The views from the dining room and lounge are lovely - we were blessed with good weather but I could imagine curling up here with a book a spending a very pleasant afternoon. Many walks possible from the hotel which is also within easy reach of the Derwent water launch - maybe a 20/25 minute walk, a 1-circuit rover ticket can be brought from reception, there is also a regular bus service through Borrow dale which people were using to do linear walks. Note - there is a level all weather path around much of Derwent water providing good access for those less mobile or with families. There are too many places to explore and experience to make any recommendations - a walk to Watendlath offers variety and New lands valley offers a quieter destination than Buttermere. I am already contemplating when a return visit would be possible. Whilst the majority of guests were couples, there were also family groups with children from late primary to mid secondary school years. It is somewhere I would be comfortable staying in as a solo traveller or part of a small group. Also, when we discovered on arrival that there was full lift access to my parent's room on the second floor which was a bonus as my father had hurt his back: I believe there is partial lift access to first floor rooms. There are also sound ground floor garden rooms - some of which were suitable for guests travelling with dogs. If you are not looking for organised entertainment and piped music then this is a destination to consider.
The star rating and rates do not reflect the 4star ambience, quality and service. Having recently completed an extensive refurbishment programme I would not be surprised to see a warranted increase in both in a few years time!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pagleshamlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    59
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
60
231
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I stayed here for just one night while on a business trip on my own. The setting is stunning - at the opposite end of Derwent Water to Keswick - and the hotel has made the most of the view with panoramic windows in the lounge and dining room and a tranquil garden looking out on to the fields.

I booked a single room but it was very well equipped with tea and coffee, TV, toiletries etc and had a small double bed. Everything was very clean and the staff were very friendly and efficient.

It became clear in the evening that this is a popular spot with more elderly travellers. I'm 41 but I was by far the youngest of any of the residents. Everybody seemed to stay in the hotel for dinner and the atmosphere was very quiet and a bit serious, only because the guests were old and not talking much! I was glad I hadn't brought my kids with me because unless they had eaten in silence it would have felt awkward.

This may have been unusual, but I suspect not, and in that case I would say this a great hotel for older people with friendly, efficient staff and a great setting. But I wouldn't come back here with my young family.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeabus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed at the Borrowdale Gates for my boyfriend's birthday on 13th July. I rang up last minute and on arrival we had been given a free upgrade. The staff were fantastic - the receptionist couldn't have been nicer and the room itself (a deluxe double) had a balcony with an incredible view. We were also offered complimentary tea and coffee on arrival. Overall, the hotel was decorated and maintained to a very high standard and, coupled with the excellent level of service, should be rated as a four not three star.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stayed here three nights in May. Room very good, food exceptional. Staff very helpful.

Very well placed for walking and staff knowledgeable, able to make appropriate suggestions.

Lounge with fantastic view and entertainment from local birdlife.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ximera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Visit the lakes regularly stayed here many years ago. The hotel has been totally re-furbished since then to a very high standard. The location and scenery has to be one of the best in the Lake district, with walks straight from the door. Staff are first class, food excellent. Rooms are very comfortable we were given free upgrade which was a nice touch. I would highly recommend this hotel. Definitely will return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G_and_JM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

We booked this 2 night break for my husband, my father and myself. It is a lovely hotel in a beautiful area. The staff are all very friendly and welcoming. My Dad is not too well at the moment and they have a lovely lounge where you are free to sit as long as you want, this has beautiful views of the countryside. The food was wonderful the only criticism we would have is that the evening meal was a little expensive at £39 for three courses. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetD79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Fancy a treat in the Lake District? This hotel is quiet and comfortable. The food is excellent. The rooms, especially the newly built rooms with a balcony, are lovely and comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful. Don't expect nightlife or entertainment. This is a quiet break for rest and relaxation. Handy for hillwalking. We'd definitely go back for a third time.

Room Tip: Choose one of the bigger rooms with a balcony.these are more modern. A bit more expensive but worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grange-in-Borrowdale
0.7 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,024 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
15.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.3 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Borrowdale Gates Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Borrowdale Gates Hotel

Property: The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
Address: Grange-In-Borrowdale | Keswick, Grange-in-Borrowdale, Borrowdale CA12 5UQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale > Grange-in-Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grange-in-Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Borrowdale Gates Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel is set amidst the breathtaking scenery of the Borrowdale Valley, the "loveliest square mile in Lakeland", according to Alfred Wainwright (MBE). Close to the shores of Derwent Water in two acres of woodland in Grange near Keswick, this is an ideal situation for walking, climbing, and touring the Lake District direct from the doorstep. There are many places of literary and historical interest within the local area. This beautiful family owned and run hotel has undergone a real transformation since 2008 with a full refurbishment completed in September 2012 to earn its current four star AA rating. With elegant contemporary rooms, a rosette award winning dining room, cosy bar and lounge, guests are assured of a warm welcome to enjoy stunning panoramic views during their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Borrowdale Gates Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borrowdale Gates Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing