We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Borrowdale Gates”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Going back to the Borrowdale Gates a week today for a long weekend - cannot wait - it is in the best spot in the Borrowdale Valley - the food after a hard days walking is superb and the staff quietly wonderful

Room Tip: all the rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel for our honeymoon in late August 2013. Sadly we only had a few nights here. The location is breathtaking. The hotel is pristine. The room we had was really nice and very warm. The staff were superfriendly and even though we hadn't told them we were there for our honeymoon, they must have overheard us and made us an extra special breakfast and meal with a beautifully made up table with the best view. The food was fantastic. No mobile signal which is actually very liberating. They have wifi which just about extended to our room but we were probably as far away as you could get from it.

Plus points: Where do I start? They have got it dead on the nail. Everything genuinely was brilliant and I cannot wait to go back there.

Minus points: This is a tough one... I actually don't have anything negative to say other than once I waited for about 10 minutes at the bar for a drink but to be fair the staff were taking guests through for their evening meal at the time so probably bad timing on my part.

Room Tip: If you want wifi in your room get a room nearer the reception area as this appears to be where the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLardmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We spent our 22nd Wedding anniversary here, Colin and Joy made us feel very welcome and the food was "delicious". We will be recommending the hotel to all our friends , thank you for looking after us so well , we will definitely be back !

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaylenMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I stayed here for 6 days with my husband and our border collie for our first wedding anniversary. It is in a quiet little hamlet, off the main road and is very peaceful. A very relaxing lounge overlooks the gardens and fields - if you sit still long enough, the red squirrels will come and feed from the windowsills. The service was very impressive - we really were spoilt rotten - even the much younger members of staff were attentive and incredibly polite.
The evening meals were BEAUTIFUL, although I did feel that the menu lacked variation, especially if you are staying for a few days, and the restaurant could do with some subtle background music to break the ice a little.
It IS very expensive, so it'll be a one-off treat for us. But if money is no object, then I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonya l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

After an energetic walk up cat bells catching site of this hotel on the way down was welcome relief. We only stopped for a drink or two but the staff were very helpful and didn't object when we trouped through with boots on. Bar area was very nice. Looked like somewhere to go for a good Sunday lunch!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank TourismProfessional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We have just returned from spending 4nights at this lovely hotel, we originally booked in for 3 nights but decided to stay for another, I wish we could have stayed much longer!!
We only discovered this lovely hotel last year and have already stayed 3 times, the staff and the service they provide are superb, especially Sue in reception and Chris in the restaurant, nothing is too much trouble.
Congratulations to Colin and Joy in receiving another Rosette, well deserved, oh and I forgot, the views from the Dining Room and Lounge windows of Castle Cragg are beautiful!!
Dont forget to keep those beautiful red squirrels well fed with the hazlenuts!

Room Tip: Possibly a room overlooking Castle Cragg but all the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed in one of the ground floor rooms with outdoor balcony and seating for 2 nights. The room was furnished to a very high standard, was spacious and very clean. The staff, particularly Chris in the restaurant, demonstrate a pride in their work and in the service they provide which is rarely seen nowadays. All of the staff are very friendly. The food was excellent - both the dinners and the breakfasts. The location is superb - the Borrowdale valley is so picturesque. The hotel gardens attract a wide range of birds as well as a red squirrel which comes right up onto the restaurant window sill. We had high expectations and the experience exceeded them. Simply outstanding.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DawnandSteveinLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grange-in-Borrowdale
1.1 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,202 reviews
15.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#3 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,028 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#4 of 17 in Keswick
567 reviews
13.7 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Borrowdale Gates Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Borrowdale Gates Hotel

Address: Grange-In-Borrowdale | Keswick, Grange-in-Borrowdale, Keswick CA12 5UQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Borrowdale > Grange-in-Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grange-in-Borrowdale
Price Range: £143 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Borrowdale Gates Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel is set amidst the breathtaking scenery of the Borrowdale Valley, the "loveliest square mile in Lakeland", according to Alfred Wainwright (MBE). Close to the shores of Derwent Water in two acres of woodland in Grange near Keswick, this is an ideal situation for walking, climbing, and touring the Lake District direct from the doorstep. There are many places of literary and historical interest within the local area. This beautiful family owned and run hotel has undergone a real transformation since 2008 with a full refurbishment completed in September 2012 to earn its current four star AA rating. With elegant contemporary rooms, a rosette award winning dining room, cosy bar and lounge, guests are assured of a warm welcome to enjoy stunning panoramic views during their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Borrowdale Gates Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borrowdale Gates Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing