We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in a perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Stayed on my own (getting a great single rate deal on a double room) for a few days to "get away from it all". Great service and lovely breakfasts. Location is perfect - you can while away several days just setting out on day walks from the hotel and never use the car. Perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scout71F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights over the Christmas period, our first ever Christmas break away from home. We could not have chosen a better hotel.

The hotel itself is set in lovely Borrowdale about 4.5 miles south of Keswick across a double humped back bridge (built in 1675), drive through the small hamlet of Gates with the pretty hotel on your right. The grounds are tidy and full of mature trees. Great views all around. The entrance to the hotel is very welcomming and the impression is instantly of a well maintained building. The hotel is in a good decorative state throughout.

The staff, all of them, were very cheery and helpful throughout our stay and tried hard to make the festive break something special. The food was top class, tasty and very well presented. We had never been so stuffed for ages.

To make the festive trip enjoyable there were many little extras. Chocolates, wine and fruit in the room as well as chocolates, dates, nuts, sweets etc etc left all over the public areas.

We will return in 2014. Can't wait.

Room Tip: Go the extra mile and book a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheena59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Never stayed here but went in for a drink. The man on the desk was very nice. We sat by the open fire reading the papers. We seen lots of people checking in and he was nice and helpful offering to carry their luggage. Views from the hotel are wonderful

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank sue259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

A very comfortable stay in a modernised, refurbished Hotel that still has a traditional feel. The fixtures and fittings are of a high quality and they serve fine food and wines that were most welcome after a wet and windy day in the hills. Considering the time of year and the fact that they had just re-opened, this was an impressive stay.

The Drying room would benefit from more heating.

Room Tip: All three rooms that we used were equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesRMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We were intending to stop in Grange for coffee about 12 noon (having had a late breakfast and not wanting lunch). Grange was so busy and we couldn't get parked. I'd always wanted to visit this hotel so we called unannounced. Staff couldn't have been more helpful. Delicious coffee served in the lounge accompanied by biscuits and a delightful Lakeland view. What a special interlude in our day exploring Borrowdale.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sheila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Going back to the Borrowdale Gates a week today for a long weekend - cannot wait - it is in the best spot in the Borrowdale Valley - the food after a hard days walking is superb and the staff quietly wonderful

Room Tip: all the rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel for our honeymoon in late August 2013. Sadly we only had a few nights here. The location is breathtaking. The hotel is pristine. The room we had was really nice and very warm. The staff were superfriendly and even though we hadn't told them we were there for our honeymoon, they must have overheard us and made us an extra special breakfast and meal with a beautifully made up table with the best view. The food was fantastic. No mobile signal which is actually very liberating. They have wifi which just about extended to our room but we were probably as far away as you could get from it.

Plus points: Where do I start? They have got it dead on the nail. Everything genuinely was brilliant and I cannot wait to go back there.

Minus points: This is a tough one... I actually don't have anything negative to say other than once I waited for about 10 minutes at the bar for a drink but to be fair the staff were taking guests through for their evening meal at the time so probably bad timing on my part.

Room Tip: If you want wifi in your room get a room nearer the reception area as this appears to be where the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLardmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grange-in-Borrowdale
1.1 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,164 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,011 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.9 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
843 reviews
10.5 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Borrowdale Gates Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Borrowdale Gates Hotel

Address: Grange-In-Borrowdale | Keswick, Grange-in-Borrowdale, Keswick CA12 5UQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Borrowdale > Grange-in-Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grange-in-Borrowdale
Price Range: £110 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Borrowdale Gates Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel is set amidst the breathtaking scenery of the Borrowdale Valley, the "loveliest square mile in Lakeland", according to Alfred Wainwright (MBE). Close to the shores of Derwent Water in two acres of woodland in Grange near Keswick, this is an ideal situation for walking, climbing, and touring the Lake District direct from the doorstep. There are many places of literary and historical interest within the local area. This beautiful family owned and run hotel has undergone a real transformation since 2008 with a full refurbishment completed in September 2012 to earn its current four star AA rating. With elegant contemporary rooms, a rosette award winning dining room, cosy bar and lounge, guests are assured of a warm welcome to enjoy stunning panoramic views during their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Borrowdale Gates Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borrowdale Gates Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing