We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (613)
Filter reviews
613 results
Traveller rating
505
90
13
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
505
90
13
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews borrowdale gates lake district dining room high standard first class excellent food lovely hotel beautiful location evening meal nothing is too much trouble many years bird feeders lovely view attention to detail red squirrels new owners superior room
Filter
Updating list...
429 - 434 of 613 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Having written a review on our disappointments it has not taken long for a very good answer from Sue at The Borrowdale Gates Hotel which I really appreciate. All the things that I mentioned have now been rectified and it puts a different perspective on the matters that I bought up. This is the kind of service that we expect from a 4* hotel,so thank you Sue for being so efficient and we will be returning. If you have anything that needs sorting don't do what I did and wait till you get home,do it on the spot and it can be sorted there and then. Once again,thank you Sue and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Date of stay: June 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Many years since our last visit when dinner was a splendid experience and we lived locally. Took two friends for Sunday lunch recently and had another splendid experience. Stunning views down Borrowdale from our table and a lovely lunch with excellent food and service. Hard to find fault. All the Dad's were given a present on Father's Day. A nice touch which rounded off a great meal.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3HamiltonC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is a very comfortable hotel which includes dinner, bed and breakfast in its price. The charge is on the expensive side but the evening meals especially were terrific and we had excellent service. We understand that virtually all the rooms offer views - and though they are not lakeside, they are stunning.

Room tip: We stayed in Room 3 which was on the ground floor - quiet and spacious. It had a lovely anteroom with comfortable armchairs facing the beautiful views, and French doors leading directly outside.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chicot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Located in a very pretty village, the hotel is exceptional in every respect. The rooms are large with beautiful views ( though each of the rooms has a different layout and view). Some of the best hikes are located just outside the hotel. The breakfast and dinner is included in the package and the quality of the food is superb. But the hotel stands out for its customer service. Our daughter fell sick on the last day, and the owner provided us with free pillows for the drive back, and even had the icebox couriered to us which we had left behind. Overall I would highly recommend it to others.

Room tip: Go for the 'Fairy Glen' room... Incredible views from the room...
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelvista2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

In many ways, the hotel is excellent; fantastic setting and views, nice rooms, comfortable lounge and bar and first rate restaurant. Staff also friendly and helpful. The only thing that let's it down and stops me from giving an excellent rating overall is that service can be patchy. On too many occasions we had to repeat requests for things such as menus, drinks etc. Could also do with some redecorating in places.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hemmo1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews