We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scafell Hotel(Rosthwaite)
US$303
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (533)
Filter reviews
533 results
Traveller rating
437
79
12
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
437
79
12
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsborrowdale gateslake districtdining roomhigh standardfirst classexcellent foodlovely hotelevening mealmany yearsnothing is too much troublered squirrelsstunning viewsbird feedersattention to detailsuperior roomreturn visitnew owners
Filter
Updating list...
350 - 355 of 533 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Having written a review on our disappointments it has not taken long for a very good answer from Sue at The Borrowdale Gates Hotel which I really appreciate. All the things that I mentioned have now been rectified and it puts a different perspective on the matters that I bought up. This is the kind of service that we expect from a 4* hotel,so thank you Sue for being so efficient and we will be returning. If you have anything that needs sorting don't do what I did and wait till you get home,do it on the spot and it can be sorted there and then. Once again,thank you Sue and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Many years since our last visit when dinner was a splendid experience and we lived locally. Took two friends for Sunday lunch recently and had another splendid experience. Stunning views down Borrowdale from our table and a lovely lunch with excellent food and service. Hard to find fault. All the Dad's were given a present on Father's Day. A nice touch which rounded off a great meal.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3HamiltonC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is a very comfortable hotel which includes dinner, bed and breakfast in its price. The charge is on the expensive side but the evening meals especially were terrific and we had excellent service. We understand that virtually all the rooms offer views - and though they are not lakeside, they are stunning.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3 which was on the ground floor - quiet and spacious. It had a lovely anteroom with comfortable armchairs facing the beautiful views, and French doors leading directly outside.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chicot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Located in a very pretty village, the hotel is exceptional in every respect. The rooms are large with beautiful views ( though each of the rooms has a different layout and view). Some of the best hikes are located just outside the hotel. The breakfast and dinner is included in the package and the quality of the food is superb. But the hotel stands out for its customer service. Our daughter fell sick on the last day, and the owner provided us with free pillows for the drive back, and even had the icebox couriered to us which we had left behind. Overall I would highly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Go for the 'Fairy Glen' room... Incredible views from the room...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelvista2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

In many ways, the hotel is excellent; fantastic setting and views, nice rooms, comfortable lounge and bar and first rate restaurant. Staff also friendly and helpful. The only thing that let's it down and stops me from giving an excellent rating overall is that service can be patchy. On too many occasions we had to repeat requests for things such as menus, drinks etc. Could also do with some redecorating in places.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hemmo1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews